Quantcast
Looking to write off work clothing.. - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Looking to write off work clothing..

My Ride
    G37X

Default Looking to write off work clothing..

So this is my first year in business as a contractor. As a contractor, I have spent probably 2 grand or so on clothing (reciepts all saved) for dress shirts, ties etc for work. I am required to wear business attire as per the buildings standards.

How do I write this off come tax time? It seems the CRA website says that you cannot write off clothing which I'm sure is bs

Thanks for any tips, prefer to hear from other contractors who have dealt with this and haven't gotten burned by the CRA

you can't.
    heloc that shit

My Ride
    Grimace

lol, no you cannot write it off.
    See this court case for example:
    http://decision.tcc-cci.gc.ca/en/200...003tcc482.html

Default Re: Looking to write off work clothing..

Originally posted by Hallowed_point
    So this is my first year in business as a contractor. As a contractor, I have spent probably 2 grand or so on clothing (reciepts all saved) for dress shirts, ties etc for work. I am required to wear business attire as per the buildings standards.

How do I write this off come tax time? It seems the CRA website says that you cannot write off clothing which I'm sure is bs

Thanks for any tips, prefer to hear from other contractors who have dealt with this and haven't gotten burned by the CRA
    isn't is so unfair that the government makes you pay for your own clothing???

My Ride
    G37X

Haha ok I'm not retarded, I don't expect to be able to write off skate shoes and t shirts ...

This is strictly for work clothing ie dress pants, dress shirts stuff that I do not wear outside from work! There must be a way

My Ride
    Grimace

Originally posted by Hallowed_point
    Haha ok I'm not retarded, I don't expect to be able to write off skate shoes and t shirts ...