Quantcast
Anyone work in Occupational Health & Safety? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Anyone work in Occupational Health & Safety?

My Ride
    E92, ZX6R, MK4 GLI

Default Anyone work in Occupational Health & Safety?

Curious to know if any Beyonders work in this field, as I am thinking of going back to school for a diploma in OH&S. I've been working in the O&G industry for a few years mostly in finance/accounting and would like some change.

If you work in the field, or know someone that does would you mind sharing some insight? Quality/Type of work, your educational background, what one can expect to make on average and your opinion on the current job market.

TIA!

Last edited by 01RedDX; 10-13-2020 at 06:04 AM.

My Ride
    The SHBARUS

You'll be the most hated guy lol.

the safety guy on our site told me a little bit about the certifications you need. It's something called a NCSO. you take a bunch of courses that's offered near balzac, and you get some work experience in the field working as a safety rep. They make pretty good money from what I've heard.
    The guy at my last company was making around $45/hr being a salaried employee (benefits,etc), but I've heard of contractors making $60+/hr straight time, 1.5x after 8 hours, and 2x on weekends.

If you start up your own safety company, you can charge out your truck, computer, cell phone, etc too.

Seems like a pretty easy job. All you do is hold daily tailgate meetings, weekly safety meetings, investigate environmental spills and injuries/near misses/incident reports. You also walk around site, looking for unsafe conditions and potential hazards.

My Ride
    Cars, trucks, bikes

I am a Registered Nurse and am two courses away from acquiring my COHN(C) certification in Occupational Health. I work on the "Occupational Health" side of OH&S for a large oil company in town.