Quantcast
$1000 budget, suggest a bike - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: $1000 budget, suggest a bike

My Ride
    VAG

Default $1000 budget, suggest a bike

I'm a complete newb when it comes to bikes, I briefly had one from Toys-R-Us when I was a lot younger. I haven't actually ridden a bike in the last decade or so but since work is relocating me closer to my shop I was thinking about getting one. My route is all paved and literally consists of just 2 medium grade hills. What do you guys suggest as a good all around bike that'll last a long time and doesn't require much maintenance ? My budget is $500-$1000.

My Ride
    '19 GTI

Check out bowcycle, and Id buy something along the lines of a cross bike if i were you, because then it will still be enough bike to hit Nose Hill hard, and not make your commute balls (like a MTB would).

Also, im a die-hard for Eurotech Cycle (the owners are gone on holidays until Feb 14th though, so the shop is closed until then unfortunately).

EDIT: How tall are you? and whats your inseam? (whats the length of your jeans?) I may have a good bike for you myself (not bike in pic)... PM me if you're interested.

EDIT #2: I built up my commuter from scratch, bought frame, bars, wheels, etc.... Now my bike after that came to quite a bit over $1000 even though its not the prettiest thing, but its built like a beast... But its another option for you to consider. (also PM me if you want to go this route, and i'll give you some pointers)

Good Luck!
    Ride Fast!!
    Last edited by swak; 02-01-2012 at 10:02 PM.

My Ride
    10' 4Runner SR5

Maybe look into a cyclo-sport since they're a bit more rugged than a conventional road bike and come with more suitable tires.

Pinkbike if you're looking at used, Bow Cycle or Pedalhead for new.
    Ultracrepidarian

My Ride
    VAG