Quantcast
TN Work Visas - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: TN Work Visas

My Ride
    Altima Se-R

Default TN Work Visas

Just curious to see if anyone here has worked on, or applied for, a TN work visa in the US?

I'm wondering what your experiences were like and what field you're in.
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

My Ride
    01 330i

I work in the oil and gas industry and I am currently on a TN working out of Houston.

TN stands for Trade NAFTA (North American Free Trade Association). It is a very straight forward visa that you apply for at the POE (Port of Entry) and it is valid for 3 years. You will need your company to provide documentation (ie Offer letter, company annual report etc) and you must be a professional. They have a list on their website as to what is considered a professional.

Since I am in Houston, the immigration officers at IAH get confused because for a Canadian working in the US, we just need this I-94 card with a TN stamp and that gives us the status. We do not physically have a visa giving us entry. It is an I-94 card. However, a mexican working in the US will need a visa along with the I-94 card. So the immigration officers here often are confused and send me for secondary screening. I have been sent for secondary screening every time but that may not be the only reason because my passport also got stolen so they needed to run additional checks.
    Now, if I come into the US through Canada's airports, land border etc, I do not have any issues. My issues arise because I am flying from outside of North America into Houston. The immigration officers at Houston do not see a lot of TN status. This is because you pass through immigration in Calgary or Edmonton before arriving in the US.