Quantcast
Interested in MWD - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Interested in MWD

Default Interested in MWD

I know, "not another one!", but the forums I've read before haven't quite fit my situation so I was hoping to benefit from all the experience out there. I have no field or rig experience, but am very interested in getting into MWD and am wondering about how possible that is? I know a guy who also had no experience and was able to get in and is doing well, but he knew someone who knew someone. Is he the exception rather than the rule? Do I have to know somebody in charge of hiring? I grew up on a farm so am no stranger to crappy (and long hours) and even working with machinery, but my resume is mostly sales and service roles. I am totally willing to bust my hump to succeed at it, just not sure how to get the foot in the door. And I am well aware of the shift work and other downsides that as a newbie I'd be dealing with, I am also aware of it being fairly lucrative, and part of an industry that has some major potential to grow in.

Oh, and I am aware of the necessity of H2S, PST, and WHIMIS. Going to take those courses in the next couple of weeks as I was told it is mandatory to even get looked at.
    Last edited by jvyyc; 03-15-2012 at 04:21 PM.

good luck at this time of year. spring break up.

i'm just trying to get in as well, but i have roughneck experience. they were happy to see that

Yeah I have heard this time of year isn't great, but was speaking to someone at Precision Drilling and they said they thought it would be a relatively short break up this year, like 3 to 4 weeks before they'd start taking guys on again. How long were you a roughneck? How's the money doing that? I did think about maybe doing a stint as a leasehand or something just to get my foot in the door and make myself a bit more marketable, maybe I should consider that some more.