Quantcast
Galaxy S3 - Page 35 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 35 of 38 FirstFirst ... 25 34 35 36 ... LastLast
Results 681 to 700 of 753

Thread: Galaxy S3

  1. #681
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    1992 Nissan 240sx
    Posts
    510
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Originally posted by JRSC00LUDE


    Could you provide a bit better detail on how you made it work please? I used Custom Locale and I believe I applied a custom "en-US" locale, where can I verify this in the phone settings? Also, as mentioned, how do i change Google Now search to .com in lieu of .ca?
    you can only confirm the Custom Locale in the application, no where else on the phone.

    To change google settings, hold down the home button and go into the google app. From there you're going to want to go into the menu and hit "Voice" Change the voice setting there to "English (US)" then hit back and then go into "privacy and accounts" you'll see an option that says "search Google.com" check that, and everything should work.

    If you're still not getting the voice...ask it something that you'll expect a long response for, such as the defenition of something, and hit the volume button up. My Google Voice was working correctly but for some reason the volume in the application was turned all the way down.

  2. #682
    Join Date
    Jun 1987
    Location
    SK
    My Ride
    Fit Dugan Signature (2016)
    Posts
    2,935
    Rep Power
    43

    Default

    ^

    Edit - I got it. Thanks!
    Last edited by JRSC00LUDE; 12-06-2012 at 04:02 PM.
    Originally posted by SJW
    Once again another useless post by JRSCOOLDUDE.
    Originally posted by snowcat
    Don't let the e-thugs and faggots get to you when they quote your posts and write stupid shit.

  3. #683
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    1992 Nissan 240sx
    Posts
    510
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Edit: hahah woop! Was it the volume thing also?

  4. #684
    Join Date
    Jun 1987
    Location
    SK
    My Ride
    Fit Dugan Signature (2016)
    Posts
    2,935
    Rep Power
    43

    Default

    Originally posted by Bukka
    Edit: hahah woop! Was it the volume thing also?
    No, it didn't seem to be. I just went into the locale app and re-did it, even though in said that en-US was active, and then I tried again and it worked! Google didn't know why my co-worker is a prick.
    Originally posted by SJW
    Once again another useless post by JRSCOOLDUDE.
    Originally posted by snowcat
    Don't let the e-thugs and faggots get to you when they quote your posts and write stupid shit.

  5. #685
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Beyond Fit 2017 Golf R, 2011 Silverado beater.
    Posts
    1,160
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    So for some reason my phone is not turning off my mobile LTE data when I got the phone on stand by. This causes my battery to go from 99% to 30% in just 7 hours of it sitting there. I use Easy Battery saver for my app but I just uninstalled it and im trying Juice defender now to see if that works.

  6. #686
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    1992 Nissan 240sx
    Posts
    510
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    I guess Jellybean introduced a little unlock loophole on the Note 2 and S3.

    You can unlock them for free if your timing is right!
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2014982

    I'm about to give it a try.

  7. #687
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    28
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    i did mine this morning just for the hell of it. but i haven't tested it to see if it works.

  8. #688
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    1992 Nissan 240sx
    Posts
    510
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    worked flawlessly, I just used an online timer on the internet for the timing, and it worked nicely.

    not sure if the unlock will retain after an update though. It appears that the S3 doesn't show the sim card menu when you go *#7465625# so I can't see if it actually deactivated the locks, or if we just bugged the system out.

  9. #689
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    WRX, Audi A4 Avant
    Posts
    831
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Originally posted by Redlined_8000
    So for some reason my phone is not turning off my mobile LTE data when I got the phone on stand by. This causes my battery to go from 99% to 30% in just 7 hours of it sitting there. I use Easy Battery saver for my app but I just uninstalled it and im trying Juice defender now to see if that works.
    you probably have an app that constantly needs data to work. Juice defender is awesome, it turns off your data, and periodically turns it back on for emails

  10. #690
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    a red bullet shaped rocket
    Posts
    218
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by Bukka
    worked flawlessly, I just used an online timer on the internet for the timing, and it worked nicely.

    not sure if the unlock will retain after an update though. It appears that the S3 doesn't show the sim card menu when you go *#7465625# so I can't see if it actually deactivated the locks, or if we just bugged the system out.
    It was tested on xda and seems to be a permanent unlock.
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  11. #691
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    768
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Did the unlock and it worked perfectly. I'm surprised it was that easy.
    2016 Tesla Model X
    2018 Lincoln Navigator
    2016 Porsche GT3 RS

  12. #692
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Calgary Ab
    My Ride
    Subaru wagon
    Posts
    1,188
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    What does everyone use to back up texts, apps, and other data on their phone when switching roms?

    I havent been using anything but i did the first couple rom swaps i didnt have anything on my phone. i want to be able to keep everything.

    I know about syncing your google account to your contacts so it does it automatically.

    Also anyone recommend any roms? currently running liquid smooth, but facebook and texting always crashes. I also ran AOKP jellybean (4.1.2) w/ gapps. Ive noticed with both my home button doesnt always work to wake it up. Is this a common thing w/ people running roms (haven't had time to do a lot of research since finals week)

  13. #693
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Airdrie Alberta
    My Ride
    3.0L Of pure turbocharged testosterone
    Posts
    5,288
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Alot of people use titanium.

    I found that performing a nandroid backup from clockworkmod works pretty good

  14. #694
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    STi
    Posts
    1,458
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    After the update in navigation, the voice no longer says the street names that you're supposed to turn on. I'm pretty sure it would specifically tell you which road to turn on before the update. Anyone know how to fix this?

  15. #695
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Airdrie Alberta
    My Ride
    3.0L Of pure turbocharged testosterone
    Posts
    5,288
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Thats a wierd one, im updated to the official JB and i have no issues with mine doing that.

  16. #696
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    STi
    Posts
    1,458
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Mine just says turn right or turn left now. Directions are extremely vague as there may be more than one "right" or "left" coming up.

    EDIT: Apparently alot of people are having problems with this.
    http://forums.androidcentral.com/ver...eet-names.html
    Last edited by jsn; 12-12-2012 at 10:22 PM.

  17. #697
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Calgary Ab
    My Ride
    Subaru wagon
    Posts
    1,188
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Just tried going back to stock firmware, Phone is stuck on samsung screen. Has this happened to anyone?

  18. #698
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Stampede Central
    My Ride
    is pretty sharp lookin'
    Posts
    1,823
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Originally posted by CivicTunr
    Just tried going back to stock firmware, Phone is stuck on samsung screen. Has this happened to anyone?
    Sounds like a bad flash.

  19. #699
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Airdrie Alberta
    My Ride
    3.0L Of pure turbocharged testosterone
    Posts
    5,288
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    You need to get into the factory restore screen and do a wipe/factory reset.

  20. #700
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Calgary Ab
    My Ride
    Subaru wagon
    Posts
    1,188
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Yeah just a bad flash, 3rd time was the charm apparently.

Page 35 of 38 FirstFirst ... 25 34 35 36 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. WTT: Galaxy Nexus plus cash for galaxy note 2 or iphone 5

    By alpha in forum Cellular Products
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 01-08-2013, 10:41 PM
  2. WTB: Samsung galaxy s3 or galaxy nexus (telus)

    By nagooro in forum Cellular Products
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 12-01-2012, 05:12 PM
  3. FT: Galaxy Note LTE for Galaxy S3

    By shakalaka in forum Cellular Products
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 07-23-2012, 02:30 PM
  4. FS: Rogers Samsung Galaxy Note and Galaxy S II

    By b0rab0ra in forum Cellular Products
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 05-13-2012, 10:42 AM
  5. FT: Like New Galaxy Nexus -> Galaxy S2X

    By Davex in forum Cellular Products
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 04-19-2012, 08:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •