Quantcast
frankenstein swap for 92 prelude si? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: frankenstein swap for 92 prelude si?

My Ride
    1992 Honda Prelude Si

Default frankenstein swap for 92 prelude si?

as far as engine work goes im still learning and i was wondering if anyone out there could tell me about a frankenstein swap on my 2.3 Liter DOHC non-vtec (H22a). I'm working on a very tight budget (student in college) and can't really go the whole "buy a B16c" route. I just wanna get a vtec head from another prelude or something like that and put it on top of my block that is already in the car. if anyone could help me out with general prices for this kind of project as well as any other things i need to buy (i.e. ECU, etc.) it'd be greatly appreciated. thanks a lot.

My Ride
    95 trooper, 04 avy, 00 tahoe

first of all throwing a b16a into a prelude would be stupid... your h23a (not h22a which is the vtec model) has more torque than a b16 and around the same horsepower. the only upgrade that is worthwhile on a prelude is a h22a. B16 and 18 series are good upgrades for integras and civics not preludes.. the engines are completely different going from an h23 to h22 head.. better off just waiting for the cash to come in for a full swap

My Ride
    GD + GR WRB

Turbo your H23a. Way more power in the end, and you could do it fairly cheaply if you play your cards right. You can get a custom exhaust manifold made up, and the stock motor should be good for 4 or 5 lbs of boost before you start breaking ring lands.

The nice part about the H23A is the steel cylinder liners, you can run forged pistons no problem, unlike the H22a which had carbon reinforced sleeves.. they hate the forged pistonies.

I swapped an h22a into my 4th gen Prelude (man I miss that car) and in the end I was kicking myself for not going turbo H23a.
    Bought not built!

My Ride
    1990 300ZX GS body w/ 1993 JDM VG30DETT front clip