Quantcast
Another oil field ??? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Another oil field ???

My Ride
    Acura 2000 el 1.6

Default Another oil field ???

Sorry guys I know theres a lot of oil field threads and I have looked through them all. Heres my problem I'm a student studying Chemistry what kind of work is there available in the oil and gas industry ? I have WHMIS, First aid needed it for lab work, I will be getting my H2S. It seems like oil and gas are only hiring engineering students. Thanks and again sorry for another repetitive thread.

My Ride
    CAEB, 6G72

It depends on what your looking for, or where you are looking for work. Lots of places are hiring for various field positions if thats ehat your.looking for.

Your studying chem for high school/college/university? Are you looking for something lab related?

My Ride
    Acura 2000 el 1.6

I'm in university, my field of study is organic chemistry. I want to work in the field something like MWD, but I'm not sure if they hire chemist for that position. I would take anything in the oil field. I do have back ground in physical and general chemistry

My Ride
    Hatred

Just an FYI WHMIS is something you'll get everywhere you go regardless if you already have it. It's company specific.
    -U

My Ride
    Acura 2000 el 1.6

Oh, thank you didn't know that a little searching around and they all just said WHMIS, H2S, and first aid were a must have. Heh

YYC & a huge farm in the (deep) south, central Sask
    My Ride
    12 cars trucks & bikes. From 1938 till new.

^ They'll show you're serious and put your foot in the door more so then anybody that doesn't have it (That shows you have initiative and you're serious) but most companies will put you through their programs just the same. Its a waste of money & time on your behalf, but it does help. Thats what I did.