Quantcast
Auto Insurance Question - Buying Used Vehicle - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: Auto Insurance Question - Buying Used Vehicle

My Ride
    E46 M3

Default Auto Insurance Question - Buying Used Vehicle

Hey all,

I have a question regarding buying a used vehicle, specifically some insurance type questions.

This is my first time buying a used car that will be under my name. I plan on getting my own insurance policy, my current insurance is currently under my parent's.

If the bill of sale has my name on it for the vehicle, is it legal for me to use one of the license plates from one of our family vehicles (that is under my parent's name) to drive it around under the 14 day grace period?
    Or would I have to wait until I get my own insurance/license plate to legally drive it around since the vehicle would be under my name?

Thank you in advance, I hope I am clear?
    Any clarifications that are needed, please ask.

The grace period is for the registration only, you will still need insurance first before you can drive it. I don't think you are supposed to drive with a plate on in the grace period, just drive it without a plate but carry the bill of sale along in case you get pulled over.

My Ride
    Sentra spec5-T

Pay for the car get the signed bill of sale then get insurance then get it registered, then drive it home. Save yourself a lot of hassle this way and you have nothing to worry about on the drive home in your new to you car.

My Ride
    Natural Gas.

I usually get the insurance BEFORE I deliver final payment for the car. I like to have my pink card with me and then drive the car away instantly after I pay for it.

If you don't end up buying the car for some reason, most insurance companies will not charge you for that few days of coverage.
    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote