Quantcast
What should be paying telus for fibre (at existing location) - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: What should be paying telus for fibre (at existing location)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    389
    Rep Power
    0

    Default What should be paying telus for fibre (at existing location)

    So we are trying to bring business fibre internet (SLA) to a building (downtown) (there is already their telus fibre at the premises)


    for 100mb service telus is qouting me 4200/month (unlimited) or 6.0Mbps bi-directional 1400.00/month

    Shaw:
    3000/month, same level of service, but there is not fibre at the building (they are investing 13,000 to bring it to install)


    Are there any beyonders who can assist? Thank you in advance.
    westnet speedtest ping me


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    4,863
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    $1400 for 6Mb seems a little high but I'm comparing that to a place that isn't Calgary, so maybe it's average here :P

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Axis powers
    Posts
    2,423
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    1400 sounds about right if it's unlimited
    Sig nuked by mod.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    389
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by adam c
    1400 sounds about right if it's unlimited

    at 6mb?
    westnet speedtest ping me


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Axis powers
    Posts
    2,423
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    you pay for upload speed not download as well you are going business with a managed circuit, so prices will always be higher than a home connection
    Sig nuked by mod.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    EVO X
    Posts
    35
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    We are using Enmax Envision 10M fiber for our office at around 950 per month, unlimited bandwidth.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    389
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by tocqueville
    We are using Enmax Envision 10M fiber for our office at around 950 per month, unlimited bandwidth.

    Hi, is that billed just to one company? thanks


    Enmax said I can get that service at 2000/month.. I wonder why. They said the fibre install would hardly change anything since its slow close..
    westnet speedtest ping me


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Axis powers
    Posts
    2,423
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    if you were some of the early adopters of Enmax they give you a discount, it also depends on where in the core you are and how far away from their substations as they lease off of Shaw depending on where you're located
    Sig nuked by mod.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    389
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by adam c
    if you were some of the early adopters of Enmax they give you a discount, it also depends on where in the core you are and how far away from their substations as they lease off of Shaw depending on where you're located
    Got you..

    the strange thing Enmax wanted 1000 install. Shaw 13,000.......

    Ill try MTS allstream they said fibre is only 55 metres away.

    The ironic part is TELUS has fibre here and they are charging the most.
    westnet speedtest ping me


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    EVO X
    Posts
    35
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by thetransporter



    Hi, is that billed just to one company? thanks


    Enmax said I can get that service at 2000/month.. I wonder why. They said the fibre install would hardly change anything since its slow close..

    Yes just one company

    Khanna, Ajay [[email protected]]

    See if he can help you, he is my account manager

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    389
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by tocqueville



    Yes just one company

    Khanna, Ajay [[email protected]]

    See if he can help you, he is my account manager
    Thank you.
    westnet speedtest ping me


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    389
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    i think we are heading towards Allstream.

    TELUS surprised me way too much. When i think of TELUS internet (managed and unmanaged) i think of a nosey bunch who watch your torrents and your usage and cut you off.
    westnet speedtest ping me


  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Axis powers
    Posts
    2,423
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    I dunno I use fibre at home and don't have a single complaint, never throttled or watched that I know of

    Btw allstream leases off telus
    Sig nuked by mod.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    389
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by adam c
    I dunno I use fibre at home and don't have a single complaint, never throttled or watched that I know of

    Btw allstream leases off telus
    Thank you. that works out great.


    Maybe lower costs. But telus way too high.
    westnet speedtest ping me


  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    389
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    strange.. I have fibre from telus right in my office and cant even activate it.................. 1500/ 10/mb non metered..

    the saga continues.. .
    westnet speedtest ping me


Similar Threads

  1. Paying CRA or paying off CC/LOC

    By Hallowed_point in forum Real Estate / Finance
    Replies: 35
    Latest Threads: 01-16-2014, 03:13 PM
  2. How much should I be paying for springs?

    By cycosis in forum Mechanical
    Replies: 6
    Latest Threads: 05-22-2012, 10:53 PM
  3. How much should I be paying for my trunk to be painted?

    By cycosis in forum Cosmetic and Styling Modifications
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 05-31-2009, 08:19 PM
  4. Determining size of existing helmet (arai)

    By Ripper in forum Bike Talk
    Replies: 8
    Latest Threads: 11-19-2004, 10:57 PM
  5. GTA location? location! location?!

    By kazzxtrismus in forum General
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 04-29-2004, 12:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •