Quantcast
Engineering Pay - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 7 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Engineering Pay

Default Engineering Pay

As a new grad, I need advice:

Graduating and gotten couple of offers, but the salary is just damn disappointing.

Before graduating, I heard stories of people pulling north of 90K straight out of school.

Who are the guys who make these large coins? Heck, I heard of someone who cleared 330K in a year working in Fort Mac 2 years after graduating from U of C engineering. It's tempting to want to have the chance to make such an amount, but I don't know how.

Even if I'm not making much now, what are my career options?

I was thinking of working for 3 years, then going for an MBA in top MBA programs in the likes of Harvard, Wharton, Queens, etc. But I'm not sure how useful such a degree will be in the Alberta oil industry.

Should I stick to my EPC job or keep searching for something on the producer side? Had an offer from SLB as a Field Engineer which I am going to turn down. Will go the EPC route hoping to someday join the business development/management side of things on the producer side after an MBA.

But if any other suggestions on how to proceed, things to make one have an interesting/adventurous career, I will much appreciate it.

I am single, willing to travel anywhere...I just don't know much about oil and gas considering I'm the first in my family going this route. They are into finance.

Thanks.

PS: I'm currently with a top 3 EPC firm according to Fortune 500.
    Last edited by opcomm; 02-16-2013 at 11:48 AM.

My Ride
    992 T-hawk Golf R

It's too bad there wasn't a public website which held statistics on engineering salaries.
    I like neat cars.

My Ride
    '15 Grand Cherokee Summit, '18 Golf R

Default Re: Engineering Pay

Originally posted by opcomm
    Before graduating, I heard stories...