Quantcast
2008 Jeep Patriot - need advice about noise in engine / good shop in Calgary - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: 2008 Jeep Patriot - need advice about noise in engine / good shop in Calgary

My Ride
    08 Jeep Patriot

Exclamation 2008 Jeep Patriot - need advice about noise in engine / good shop in Calgary

Hi all!

First problem with my 101K+ 2008 Jeep Patriot, manual transmission... I'll start by mentioning I'm a noob in cars mechanical

So, on Friday, I had that unusual noise...would compare it to a rasping...not very noticeable. It was happening only when I was releasing the gas pedal. The higher rpm were, the more frequent the noise was. Say every 2 seconds at 1500rpm - and probably every half second at 3000rpm. Went back home and forgot about it. This morning, started the car, and yes, the noise is still here. I drove about 10km, and then, a new noise happened... sounded deeper than the other one, I would call it a "clac" kinda noise. Like if someone was gently hitting the engine with a stick...hard to define that noise... So basically, for the next 20km, I had both noises when I was releasing the gas pedal.

So - have you guys any idea of what the hell this could be? I'm looking for either (or both) a great advise, and/or the address of a shop you would recommend in Calgary/Airdrie. I used to go to my dealership as long as my car was under warranty - but it's not any more. So do you guys have a shop to recommend, somewhere between Memorial Tr and Airdrie? I'd like to go today...

Thanks in advance for your input - will try to answer the best to any questions you might have!

My Ride
    Blue boy

Try Minute Muffler & Brake on 32nd Ave NE just east of the deerfoot

My Ride
    08 Jeep Patriot

Thanks G-ZUS.