Quantcast
Need help, Gas fireplace pilot light won't stay on. - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Need help, Gas fireplace pilot light won't stay on.

My Ride
    ralli///art, 09 zx6r

Cool Need help, Gas fireplace pilot light won't stay on.

Got home today and the wife told me that our fireplace stop working. I tried to turn it on but noticed that the pilot light will light up for a minute and shuts off after 2-3 minutes. Tried to google some ways to fix it but not really sure on what to do since I've never done it before and I'm scared that I will burn the house down. LOL

Need help ASAP because it's in the lower level of the house where my kids play. Willing to buy you beer or pay $.

Pm me if you can help me out. I'm free anytime of the day and live in the country hills area.

TIA beyond!

If fireplaces are anything like furnaces (which I assume they are) you likely have a bad/dirty thermocouple. It's a little metal probe that sits where the pilot flame is an 'detects' the flame. If you can get in there you can try to clean it up with some fine grit sandpaper/steel wool and if that fails you can just buy a new one for $10 or so. Google 'cleaning fireplace thermocouple' and you should find some guides/pictures that will help you find where your thermocouple is.
    Last edited by jonsey737; 12-04-2013 at 01:59 AM.

My Ride
    Natural Gas.

Probably thermocouple as mentioned. Hopefully just cleaning it will do the trick.
    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    You realize you are talking to the guy who made his own furniture out of salad bowls right?

You won't burn the house down cleaning the thermocouple.
    Depending where it is, you won't even need to remove it, just rub it down with the steel wool or fine grit sandpaper that jonsey mentioned.