Quantcast
Can a Telus Galaxy Note 2 be used on Wind? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Can a Telus Galaxy Note 2 be used on Wind?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    A big red Taco, '99 4Runner
    Posts
    1,288
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Can a Telus Galaxy Note 2 be used on Wind?

    I tried calling Wind, and he said I need to go to a Wind store to find out. I don't feel like driving in this crap tonight to find out. Does anyone know for sure? He said they use 1700 and 2100 frequencies, but I don't know how or where to tell if it's possible.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    2020 Subaru Forester Sport
    Posts
    2,638
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Not without doing some hacking. I used a note 2 from Telus on wind for about a year. The hack is pretty easy but need a computer and some free software. You can find all the info on x da developers. When I get home and have a computer I can look it up.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    2020 Subaru Forester Sport
    Posts
    2,638
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Quickly found a pictorial for you. It does work with Telus version and will make it work with wind
    http://galaxynote2root.com/galaxy-no...te-2-sgh-i317/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    A big red Taco, '99 4Runner
    Posts
    1,288
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Thanks eblend. I'll give that a try. I know that its for 4.1.2 and im on 4.3, do you think that'll make a difference?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    2020 Subaru Forester Sport
    Posts
    2,638
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Originally posted by ZMan2k2
    Thanks eblend. I'll give that a try. I know that its for 4.1.2 and im on 4.3, do you think that'll make a difference?
    Look at the xda developers link in that article at the bottom and just ask there. Someone may have asked already there. You are flashing the modem firmware which should have no effect on which is version you are on but definitely double check.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    A big red Taco, '99 4Runner
    Posts
    1,288
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Can't find QPST anywhere. The download on the site you linked, my antivirus warns me of a trojan, and I can't find the installer anywhere else. Guess I'll just trade in my phone, upgrade to the note 3, and be done with it. Thanks anyways.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    2020 Subaru Forester Sport
    Posts
    2,638
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    I may have QPST on a USB key at work that I used when I did all my work, I can check tomorrow and post it up online for you to download if you are interested still. I have upgraded to a Note 3 myself and there isn't that much of a difference really, just a bit faster,but i didn't find anything that noticeable. I am using a rogers note 3 on wind right now, just used cellunlockers.net to unlock it for $15

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    A big red Taco, '99 4Runner
    Posts
    1,288
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    I am still interested. Please, if you can post it up, or even email it to me. That would be fantastic.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    2020 Subaru Forester Sport
    Posts
    2,638
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Check PM, sent you the links for Odin and QPST

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    A big red Taco, '99 4Runner
    Posts
    1,288
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Thanks, they worked perfectly.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    A big red Taco, '99 4Runner
    Posts
    1,288
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Okay, so the Note 2 has been great on Wind, but I have a technical question.

    I bought a new Nexus 5, and no longer need the Note 2. I'll have my new phone middle of next week. When I do a factory reset on the Note, will it remove the modem hack I did so it would work on Wind?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Stampede Central
    My Ride
    is pretty sharp lookin'
    Posts
    2,044
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    System reset only takes off your personal info i.e. texts, contacts... The new modem will stay.

    Question: how much you selling for? Kinda interested.
    Last edited by jwslam; 04-17-2014 at 07:04 AM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    3,699
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Modems need to be put on with Odin

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    A big red Taco, '99 4Runner
    Posts
    1,288
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Originally posted by GQBalla
    Modems need to be put on with Odin
    That's how I put the modem on to begin with. So I'm not sure what you mean by your statement?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    3,699
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    the Wind Modem will stay after the factory reset, so the next buyer or you will need to put on a new modem if they don't use wind/chatr

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    A big red Taco, '99 4Runner
    Posts
    1,288
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    I just unlocked the bands for Wind. It still worked on Telus too, after the modem unlock. I'll check again, as I still have my Telus SIM card, but I think it's useable on both.

    *edit*Just tried the Telus SIM, and it says "Unregistered SIM" but it shows full bars. So I think the modem will work with any SIM, because it's unlocked, but I don't have a SIM right now that works. I'll wait till the wife gets home later, and try her Telus PAYG SIM in the phone. That should let me know for sure.
    Last edited by ZMan2k2; 04-17-2014 at 08:54 AM.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    2020 Subaru Forester Sport
    Posts
    2,638
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Originally posted by ZMan2k2
    I just unlocked the bands for Wind. It still worked on Telus too, after the modem unlock. I'll check again, as I still have my Telus SIM card, but I think it's useable on both.

    *edit*Just tried the Telus SIM, and it says "Unregistered SIM" but it shows full bars. So I think the modem will work with any SIM, because it's unlocked, but I don't have a SIM right now that works. I'll wait till the wife gets home later, and try her Telus PAYG SIM in the phone. That should let me know for sure.
    It will work. When you flashed the modem you just unlocked EXTRA bands, the original bands are still there and phone will still work with Telus and whoever you want.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    A big red Taco, '99 4Runner
    Posts
    1,288
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Thanks for the reply eblend. You've helped me out so much with this phone. Appreciate all the help.

Similar Threads

  1. I flashed the modem on my Telus Note 2 to use on WIND, and now I'm having problems.

    By ZMan2k2 in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 01-08-2014, 02:20 PM
  2. WTT: Galaxy Note 2 - Rogers for WIND

    By xkon in forum Cellular Products
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 01-27-2013, 11:54 AM
  3. WTT: Galaxy Nexus plus cash for galaxy note 2 or iphone 5

    By alpha in forum Cellular Products
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 01-08-2013, 10:41 PM
  4. FT: Galaxy Note LTE for Galaxy S3

    By shakalaka in forum Cellular Products
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 07-23-2012, 02:30 PM
  5. FS: Rogers Samsung Galaxy Note and Galaxy S II

    By b0rab0ra in forum Cellular Products
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 05-13-2012, 10:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •