Quantcast
Stereo Question - it's a yes or no - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Stereo Question - it's a yes or no

  1. #1
    JJLuke Guest

    Default Stereo Question - it's a yes or no

    OK guys,

    Setting up a JL 500/1 with 2 12w3 subs, 4 awg wiring into a 1990 Honda Accord EX-R (American EX) coupe which will be powered by either a Sony M series or Panasonic graphical deck...

    Should I get a cap for it?

    Let me know your thoughts!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cowtown
    My Ride
    2000 DC4
    Posts
    587
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    No you would not need one .
    JDM goodness + boost = 1 phat integra

    www.abtegs.net

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    4cyl turbo diesel with a max speed of 10.9kmh
    Posts
    1,583
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    no


    CONCRETE PATIO SPECIAL, PM ME FOR DETAILS!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The White Ghetto
    My Ride
    Altima Se-R
    Posts
    2,295
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    what does a cap do?? feroz keeps trying to sell me one saying i need one, but i don't even know what it does and if i really need it
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Back in Calgary! WOOT
    My Ride
    GD + GR WRB
    Posts
    2,656
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    You don't NEED it , but it will make your alternator last longer. I got a .5 ferad cap and I don't notice my headlights dimming when the bass hits now, so it seems a little nicer to the electrical system now.
    Bought not built!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    '08 Mitsubishi Lancer, '97 GMC Jimmy
    Posts
    1,629
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Originally posted by kevie88
    You don't NEED it , but it will make your alternator last longer. I got a .5 ferad cap and I don't notice my headlights dimming when the bass hits now, so it seems a little nicer to the electrical system now.
    Exactly, i Had one in My MR2,( 10' Pioneer IMPP sub, and Rockford 100.a2 amp) didnt really NEED it at all, but i had such bad luck with my Stereo draining my Electrical system in my Passat, that i just wanted to be safe.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    (maah raahde)
    Posts
    5,740
    Rep Power
    37

    Default

    Originally posted by sexualbanana
    what does a cap do?? feroz keeps trying to sell me one saying i need one, but i don't even know what it does and if i really need it
    You're buying your stuff rom Feroz?? Does he call you "brother" a lot? Hahaha! I bought my deck from him and he gave me a very good deal. I dunno if I'd buy from him again though.

    Anyways, to answer your question, a cap holds a small charge, so whenever your sub hits a low note, it quickly draws power from the cap, which then gets recharged for the next draw.
    Last edited by D'z Nutz; 09-26-2002 at 08:42 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    (maah raahde)
    Posts
    5,740
    Rep Power
    37

    Default

    Originally posted by kevie88
    You don't NEED it , but it will make your alternator last longer. I got a .5 ferad cap and I don't notice my headlights dimming when the bass hits now, so it seems a little nicer to the electrical system now.
    No, actually it doesn't make your alternator last longer. A cap is just a short term substitution for a long term problem. Adding a cap is just another load for your alternator to handle.

    One solution might actually to get a larger gauge of wiring for your car (ie: power and ground from your alternator), although this can be very costly if you're getting someone else to do it since you basically have to rerun new wiring throughout parts of your car. Another solution is to get your alternator rebushed to handle more amps.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The White Ghetto
    My Ride
    Altima Se-R
    Posts
    2,295
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    Originally posted by D'z Nutz


    You're buying your stuff rom Feroz?? Does he call you "brother" a lot? Hahaha! I bought my deck from him and he gave me a very good deal. I dunno if I'd buy from him again though.

    Anyways, to answer your question, a cap holds a small charge, so whenever your sub hits a low note, it quickly draws power from the cap, which then gets recharged for the next draw.
    he does, but at the same time he still remembers my name. which is what's so great about the guy. he see like hundreds of guys looking for stereo shit every week, and he still manages to know everyone's name
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Alta
    Posts
    1,188
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    where does this guy work?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The White Ghetto
    My Ride
    Altima Se-R
    Posts
    2,295
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    soundsaround macleod
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cowtown
    My Ride
    2000 DC4
    Posts
    587
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Yeah ,hes a cool guy ,But he gets me the greatest deal then every one else.
    JDM goodness + boost = 1 phat integra

    www.abtegs.net

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    '07 Ranger FX4 Level II
    Posts
    1,557
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Hey hey brother.. what u looking for today? how you doing brother? stupid drunk driver.. he almost wrote off his car drinking and driving.. sorry i will not deal with any person who is stupid to call me a brother cuas i am white (other than my sister)..and drives under the influence

    ps ill sell you a 1.0 farad rockford cap for 100$ (includes new ground wire and wire from cap to amp)
    Originally posted by rage2

    Just because you're older... doesn't mean you need older women. Nothing wrong with an 18 year old here and there!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    830
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    and what are u basing this on?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    335xi 70 c10 84 c10 Indian chief
    Posts
    2,663
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Caps are a very good idea, they don't really drain from your alternator because they are basically a batery with a 12 v current which keeps your amp happy. And with a JL 500/1 you will need a cap because the amp requires constant power which is why it it called constant power amplifier, go to soundsaround and get one of them to turn the board on with the 500/1 and it will shut down the board. I have a 500/1 and a w7 and a cap, which i need, and so will you

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    9.872604, -85.498802
    My Ride
    Turbos n Stuff™
    Posts
    5,960
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    is this guy you guys talk about a bit of an older guy, maybe 5"9, 160lbs. dark hair with grey streaks?

    He tried to sell me the store when I was in there friday...
    Travel

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    1,720
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    imo caps are pretty useless. if you are playing constant bass the cap drains out with a few seconds and puts more of a strain on your alternator because it needs power to charge up.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Saskatoon SK.
    My Ride
    00 GSX-R 600
    Posts
    30
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by theken
    Caps are a very good idea, they don't really drain from your alternator because they are basically a batery with a 12 v current which keeps your amp happy. And with a JL 500/1 you will need a cap because the amp requires constant power which is why it it called constant power amplifier, go to soundsaround and get one of them to turn the board on with the 500/1 and it will shut down the board. I have a 500/1 and a w7 and a cap, which i need, and so will you



    dude... it's a constant power amplifier because it is able to maintain 500 watts of continuous power output anywhere from a 4 to 1.5 ohm load

    all a cap is is a small battery with a very very quick discharge rate. once it is drained it needs to be recharged just like a battery so it is just putting ANOTHER strain on your alternator

    I will say this and stand by it for my life... if you have voltage issues, yes caps work. Are they a solution? NO!!! They are a band-aid to cover a bigger problem. If you have a voltage issue, you upgrade your wiring... ALL OF IT... from alt to battery, battery to ground, battery to amp, and amp to ground.
    Then, you upgrade your alternator and battery... most stock alts are only able to do maybe 60-100 amps. if you are running a system of large proportion, it just ain't enough.
    I had a 100 amp alt in my old car and a Zapco AG 350 on it and I had dimming problems, mind you I was running it bridged to two ohms so I had quite a bit of current draw.

    Oh, and if Soundsaround's board shuts off when they turn on the 500/1, they too have some serious issues... not even the board at A&B sound here in S'toon does that!!!

    and as Nitz once said... "Ranting makes me sleepy"
    00 GSX-R 600
    It ain't stock.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    9.872604, -85.498802
    My Ride
    Turbos n Stuff™
    Posts
    5,960
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    Originally posted by sexualbanana
    what does a cap do?? feroz keeps trying to sell me one saying i need one, but i don't even know what it does and if i really need it
    I bought my Amp off him, gave me a Smokin deal!
    Travel

  20. #20
    JJLuke Guest

    Default

    At Soundsaround, you can get a killer deal IFF you know how to talk to them...

    When I say killer I dont mean cost, but I mean ebay prices (but you get warranty)

    before I got my setup used, talked a guy at the Sunridge location - made me a deal for jl 500/1, 2 10 w3v2's and a ported box for $1250... when I calculate everything if I got it from ebay, it would have saved me at most $100-150..

    $350US amp shipped
    $250US subs shipped
    $100US box shipped
    $70-80CN GST
    $20-30CN duty
    = ~$1200 CDN landed

    As far as the cap goes, I'd only be pulling the 60amps needed for the jl 500/1... wont spend my left nut on one, but I'm gonna get a 1/2 farad and do a personal test and post you guys on it

    theken... props to you on your decision to get a w7... my friend had 2 10w3's in his car before he upgraded to a 10w7... the w3's would crap out and he replaced them like twice, he got a w7 and it literally sounds like he has 3 10's in there... dynamically, it did not hit harder, but cleaner and was comparable to 2 18w6's

    -J

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. yes I need a deck just a cheap one.....

    By surferbaby13 in forum In Car Entertainment / Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Latest Threads: 12-02-2002, 02:49 AM
  2. Smoked tails? with pic, yes or no??

    By GT2NV in forum Performance Modifications
    Replies: 25
    Latest Threads: 11-03-2002, 12:29 PM
  3. Cheezie?? Yes

    By Ferio_vti in forum General
    Replies: 43
    Latest Threads: 08-25-2002, 11:05 PM
  4. Turbo NSX........yes please

    By Ekliptix in forum Cars, Bikes, Machines
    Replies: 20
    Latest Threads: 07-15-2002, 01:47 AM
  5. FS: Lots of Stereo Equipment

    By roopi in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 06-17-2002, 01:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •