Quantcast
Floating down bow river south of 22, to Carseland - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Floating down bow river south of 22, to Carseland

YYC & a huge farm in the (deep) south, central Sask
    My Ride
    12 cars trucks & bikes. From 1938 till new.

Question Floating down bow river south of 22, to Carseland

First off, don't kill me, I'm posting this from my phone, but alas with searching I didn't find any relevant threads about this in particular.

(To avoid a long back story, no we don't want to do any rafting within the Calgary city limits).

So with a pile of friends from out of town, that I wanted to go rafting with, I was hoping to start at the edge of the city limits (such as 22X) and continue on south possibly down to Carseland, or start even in (let's say) Canmore and end up by COP.

Anybody with experience doing this? Not too sure where to park or what the route is like, as I've never done this before. All my unguided rafting comes from Princess Island park to where we live by the east end of Canyon meadows drive SE.

Just hoping to spend two to three hours in the water, without much if any rapids as it'll be a 6 person raft with limited maneuverability. Nice scenery would be much appreciated, so would starting beyond ghost lake be the best bet? Entirely new at this. I'm sorry for the n00b like questions.
    "The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side"

My Ride
    CLK 55 / 2g Eclipse / EP3

For paddlers but floaters apply as well ... ghost to Cochrane apparently is a full day.

http://www.paddlingabc.com/riverwiki...am_to_cochrane

My Ride
    E90M3 510 Wagon

22x to carseland took us about 5hrs in canoes... was super boring water.

dont think you can do canmore to COP... that would be insanely long and i think there is a dam in the way.