Quantcast
Telus Raising Plan Prices... Mobile & Interenets - Page 2 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 21 to 34 of 34

Thread: Telus Raising Plan Prices... Mobile & Interenets

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Fiesta ST
    Posts
    782
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Originally posted by 403ep3
    I have Telus Optik and Internet 15..

    Any idea if I am able to cancel my internet and still have optik work? I have to keep the stupid cable because I signed a contract w/ the tv.

    I've read online that you can, but has anyone done this? Looking at going with shaw for internet.
    If you don't want the cable you can always cancel and just paid the remainder of the 'gift'

    I.E. if it was a 400$ TV on a 3 year term, you would have to pay a cancellation fee of 11$ per month remaining.

    It may seem like a waste but if you're cable bill is 100$ a month it's probably cheaper in the long run than keeping something you don't want.
    Nolan

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    TDi
    Posts
    1,342
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Thanks for the info. If I wasn't paying $133 for the shit I get then I wouldn't care so much lol
    GO FLAMES GO!

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Civic Hatch ST
    Posts
    9,686
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Originally posted by Canmorite
    Just cut Shaw cable today, but somehow their internet 60 plan is $93/month
    I pay $106/mo after tax with no discounts or promotions for Internet 120 from Shaw. I have no other services with them.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    2016 MB C450
    Posts
    8,127
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    People are cutting cable. CRTC is enforcing basic price and unbundling in March.

    I'm surprised we are not paying double for internet access just to offset the lost on the TV side of the biz.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Unemployment Line
    My Ride
    Sierra, RDX
    Posts
    2,668
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Originally posted by Xtrema
    People are cutting cable. CRTC is enforcing basic price and unbundling in March.

    I'm surprised we are not paying double for internet access just to offset the lost on the TV side of the biz.
    People though that the CRTC forcing 2 year plans onto providers would make things better. This will be exactly the same, the providers aren't going to take a hit with this.
    See Crank. See Crank Walk. Walk Crank Walk.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Have you chaps considered going with one of the resellers. I saw that Lightspeed has a good price and unlimited bandwidth on the cable Internet. I've found football and hockey streams on Reddit so maybe Internet is all you need if it's reliable.

    http://www.lightspeed.ca/personaladsl/

    I called Telus to cancel, but then Telus offered a bump in speed at a lower price for six months so I kept it.
    Has an IQ of 138, but can't figure out basic algebra.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Stampede Central
    My Ride
    is pretty sharp lookin'
    Posts
    1,773
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Hmm.. lightspeed is cheaper than teksavvy by like $3/month if I go with 30mbps cable. Interesting.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Fiesta ST
    Posts
    782
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Half debating switching to lightspeed but the upfront costs make it not worth it.

    Anyone have a modem kicking around they'd sell
    Nolan

  9. #29
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Sentra
    Posts
    1,474
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Is anyone using the 50Mbps+ adsl from lightspeed? Cheaper than I'm paying telus right now but telus is fiber. Telus also tells me I can't get 100Mbps on my fiber oddly enough. $5 unlimited add on for light speed seems like a good deal too. A $200 modem is not a good deal and there doesn't seem to be used ones around.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Fiesta ST
    Posts
    782
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Originally posted by GoChris
    Is anyone using the 50Mbps+ adsl from lightspeed? Cheaper than I'm paying telus right now but telus is fiber. Telus also tells me I can't get 100Mbps on my fiber oddly enough. $5 unlimited add on for light speed seems like a good deal too. A $200 modem is not a good deal and there doesn't seem to be used ones around.
    If you have Telus fiber you may not be able to get adsl. My house doesn't actually have phone lines run to it so I can't go adsl route.

    If you're in a older home that had fiber added you'd be fine, but newer houses in the last couple years might not be able to get it.
    Nolan

  11. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    N/A
    My Ride
    100% Bow tie
    Posts
    2,628
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Originally posted by GoChris
    Is anyone using the 50Mbps+ adsl from lightspeed? Cheaper than I'm paying telus right now but telus is fiber. Telus also tells me I can't get 100Mbps on my fiber oddly enough. $5 unlimited add on for light speed seems like a good deal too. A $200 modem is not a good deal and there doesn't seem to be used ones around.
    The inability to offer 100Mbs is probably due to TELUS' inside or outside plant equipment in your central office serving area or a combination thereof.

  12. #32
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Ford, Acura, Harley
    Posts
    1,763
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    I just got an email from Telus with a "free choice of a gift with no strings attached". You could pick a $20 donation to a charity, a $20 gift card, or a pair of movie tickets. Sneaky bastards.
    Originally posted by rage2
    ...Last thing I want is someone reading my posts and losing their cock over it...
    Originally posted by Sugarphreak
    Meh, they all look like Jackie Chan to me
    Originally posted by ExtraSlow
    You dudes have some squeaky clean assholes. I commend you.

  13. #33
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Sentra
    Posts
    1,474
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Originally posted by pheoxs


    If you have Telus fiber you may not be able to get adsl. My house doesn't actually have phone lines run to it so I can't go adsl route.

    If you're in a older home that had fiber added you'd be fine, but newer houses in the last couple years might not be able to get it.
    I had DSL for a couple months before I was able to get fiber. So I think I have the lines coming in for it.

  14. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by pheoxs


    If you have Telus fiber you may not be able to get adsl. My house doesn't actually have phone lines run to it so I can't go adsl route.

    Yeah this is what Lightspeed told me when I called about ADSL. So we talked about getting cable Internet instead. I wanted the unlimited bandwidth so I didn't care about not having access to ADSL.
    Last edited by PeterGTiR; 02-03-2016 at 03:54 PM.
    Has an IQ of 138, but can't figure out basic algebra.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Can I port my Virgin Mobile 35 / minute plan Phone Number to WIND Mobile?

    By Quickstrike in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Latest Threads: 12-23-2014, 01:13 PM
  2. Telus retentions - data plan prices?

    By Guillermo in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 09-26-2011, 09:16 AM
  3. Canon Raising Prices May 5th

    By sl888 in forum Photographer's Corner
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 04-29-2008, 08:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •