Quantcast
Electrical issue. 81 ford f150 step side. - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: Electrical issue. 81 ford f150 step side.

My Ride
    mazdaspeed6/mkIII supra

Default Electrical issue. 81 ford f150 step side.

My friend has owned this truck for 5 or so years. He dropped in a crate 302 about 5000 km ago. truck has worked well the whole time. He only drives the truck maybe 1000 km a year. takes very good care of it for the most part. he is a smart guy (millwright by trade, as am I) so he very good at keeping up with the general maintenance of a vehicle. He ended up getting laid off and I took the truck off his hands. When we started it up (been 3 months since he last drove it) I noticed the tail lights were not working as well as the brake lights. I still took it off him because they have always worked and i didnt think anything of it.

now that I have it home I have found a few more problems that i need to get worked out. Ill try and explain the best I can.

Tail lights and break lights do not work at all. Front head lights work fine as do the lights on the dash. Front signals work fine but the rear signals are not working properly. When i signal either left or right the rear signals both come on as if the 4 ways are on. fronts work right but not the rears. I also noticed that the blink way way slower if my head lights are one. Probly 3 times slower. they blink normal if my head lights are off but flash very very slow if they are on. The last thing I noticed was the clock in the truck dims every time i hit the break.