Quantcast
New Home - Negotiating? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: New Home - Negotiating?

My Ride
    TDi

Default New Home - Negotiating?

Looking at Symons Gate right now and they have 3 main builders. Found a style I like and put it on hold (Henderson w/ Morrison Homes)

My question to you:

- Has anyone bought a house recently and have been able to negotiate on the price because of how the economy is
    - if so, how did you do it and how much were they willing to take off?
    - I am willing to walk away if I don't get a price I am expecting..
    - What strategies do I need to employ? obviously the lot can't get cheaper, but what can I ask for?
    - this is my first house built new so I am a beginner
    - wish I hired/spoke with a realtor beforehand, but now I am SOL I read

TIA
    Last edited by 403ep3; 02-04-2016 at 11:27 AM.
    GO FLAMES GO!

wasn't a new home build but i was able to knock off 50 k off their listing.

quick possession, it was simply i signed an offer and they declined - kept meeting somewhere in the middle.

walking away is key IMO - buyers market, tons of new houses

My Ride
    TDi

Originally posted by GQBalla
    wasn't a new home build but i was able to knock off 50 k off their listing.

quick possession, it was simply i signed an offer and they declined - kept meeting somewhere in the middle.

walking away is key IMO - buyers market, tons of new houses
    Thanks. Yeah, they key is walking away. So we write the offer with whatever price and then it goes back and forth, similar to a car purchase?

Starting price for the house is around 605k so I should go for 20-30k lower?
    GO FLAMES GO!

See if they can throw in upgrades - try to get the fully developed basement.

My Ride
    This and that.

The fact that you don't have a realtor is good in this situation because they don't have to worry about commission. So you should use that to get something off right off the bat.

My Ride
    TDi