Quantcast
DIY Home Automation with Apple Homekit - Page 9 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 8 9
Results 161 to 176 of 176

Thread: DIY Home Automation with Apple Homekit

  1. #161
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    The SHBARUS
    Posts
    2,274
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sabad66 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    actually, after a little bit of googling, this device looks like it does what i'm looking for.

    https://bondhome.io/
    100USD and it doesn't ship outside of US? It shouldn't be that difficult or costly to make such device. I have an older ceiling light/fan and the wiring looks the same as the simpleconnect, black/white/blue/yellow. I'm guessing that it will work. I have bought two hunter fans with homekit since and they work fine. 100USD is almost half the price I paid for the hunter fan.

  2. #162
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Technically the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    4,375
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  3. #163
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    CAL
    My Ride
    '19 Ridgeline
    Posts
    537
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Bump. This gong show of an install is really just a preview of how poorly designed this product is. At this point, if you have this device, it's decreasing the security of your home, especially if you have any automation involved. The problem is that myQ reports the state of the garage door incorrectly, so it shows it as Open when it's physically closed. Tie in automation to ensure your home is locked for the night, it'll see the door as incorrectly open, send a command to "close" an already closed door which would open the door. Looking at video footage, this has happened to me several times without me knowing, leaving the door open for hours and at times overnight depending on how the scenes are triggered. Of course, someone went into my open garage and jacked a bunch of bikes and jackets. Here's a youtube demo I did capturing the problem last night:



    This isn't just a me problem, there are a huge number of posts on phantom open on the myQ community, reddit, everywhere. Search for chamberlain myq phantom open on google and there are a shit ton of hits. Chamberlain support is zero help. They're asking me to delete the settings and reinstall it. Textbook customer support handbook. I'm troubleshooting this on my own now that I can sporadically duplicate it. For now I've killed off any door closing automation, I suggest anyone using myQ do the same.

    Note that this isn't the first product to have this problem. Yale and August both suffered from incorrect state issues at some point in their lives. Garage door open is much more visible than an unlocked door though.

    Once I get through and able to figure out exactly where the failure is, I'll post a new thread on the problem.
    Interesting. I had the same setup except through a Vera Controller.

    One late night after hockey, I woke up to the garage open and assumed I left the garage door open. I wonder if it opened in error.

    $8,000 of stuff stolen in the garage that night, wife lost her shit on me.

  4. #164
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    21,086
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Thanks Google.

    https://www.engadget.com/2019/05/07/...rks-with-nest/

    This may affect some of you tied to the Google Nest platform.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  5. #165
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Technically the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    4,375
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    I think it will be short term pain for long term gain tbh.

    Nest has been run like the ugly step cousin for a while now, google doubling down is only a good thing.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  6. #166
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    21,086
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I think it will be short term pain for long term gain tbh.

    Nest has been run like the ugly step cousin for a while now, google doubling down is only a good thing.
    Till they discontinue on the next great thing.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  7. #167
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cochrane, AB
    My Ride
    '14 Dodge Crew Cab, '08 WRX
    Posts
    1,414
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    I have a Nest tied through Vivint, so I’m getting emails from both sides telling me not to panic until this summer.

  8. #168
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Calgary,AB
    My Ride
    2013 Toyota Highlander Sport
    Posts
    775
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Regarding your MyQ problem I bought one before winter thinking it would be great to make sure that the garage door is always monitored but it wont even pair the garage door despite looking like it does (syncs etc everything seems to be synced then myq fails) so I have it in monitor only mode and it always thinks its open. I dont have it connected to any automatic system though. There used to be a different manufacturer that did garage door monitoring but they stopped selling their sensors.

  9. #169
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2013 Q5
    Posts
    1,715
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nzwasp View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Regarding your MyQ problem I bought one before winter thinking it would be great to make sure that the garage door is always monitored but it wont even pair the garage door despite looking like it does (syncs etc everything seems to be synced then myq fails) so I have it in monitor only mode and it always thinks its open. I dont have it connected to any automatic system though. There used to be a different manufacturer that did garage door monitoring but they stopped selling their sensors.
    Interesting, missed this discussion on MyQ. Personally haven't had any problems on mine, but mine is a newer one i bought in December 2018 with built in MyQ, not the add-on kit to add myQ to your existing opener.

    Will definitely monitor it a bit closely now after reading this.

  10. #170
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    FB6
    Posts
    690
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    I have a myQ enabled opener that needed me to buy the HomeBridge to make it work with Homekit. Everything works so far, I've had it for a few months now.

  11. #171
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    The SHBARUS
    Posts
    2,274
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nzwasp View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Regarding your MyQ problem I bought one before winter thinking it would be great to make sure that the garage door is always monitored but it wont even pair the garage door despite looking like it does (syncs etc everything seems to be synced then myq fails) so I have it in monitor only mode and it always thinks its open. I dont have it connected to any automatic system though. There used to be a different manufacturer that did garage door monitoring but they stopped selling their sensors.
    When I installed mine, I had problem pairing it to my opener. I had the myq so and so away from the opener as per the instruction but it was still too close apparently. It finally worked after I moved the myq another foot away.

  12. #172
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Calgmonton/AB
    Posts
    375
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I'm new so I've never really seen this thread but regarding all the myQ issues - I have a Lift Master (same as ChamberPot) and they sometimes fail open. I don't have myQ at all. My wall controller died (because hey, it's 5 years old-as-fuck) and the fuckin door responded to that failure by:
    A.) Opening for no reason.
    B.) Not responding to ANY other controller or Home Link that had been previously programmed. (I assume the wall unit trips to "lock out other remotes" with its dying breath.)
    C.) Staying open unless you bypass the faulty wall unit or perform the load/limit test with the button on the actual motor.

    In short, I have little doubt that myQ is complete shit but these openers themselves are also pretty poorly programmed even without the new issues introduced by myQ.

  13. #173
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    21,086
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    MyQ works well, it’s just that the sensor implementation is brutal and doesn’t account for poor power conditions and can miss communicating a change in state which leads to a huge lapse in security if you have any sort of automation to close the door.

    From my research, I don't think this is a problem with the newer openers that have MyQ built in as it uses internal position sensors and not a wireless battery powered tilt sensor to determine open/close states.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  14. #174
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Calgary,AB
    My Ride
    2013 Toyota Highlander Sport
    Posts
    775
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lilmira View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    When I installed mine, I had problem pairing it to my opener. I had the myq so and so away from the opener as per the instruction but it was still too close apparently. It finally worked after I moved the myq another foot away.
    Which part needs to be located far away from the opener? the thing that has the power cord attached to the roof or the thing attached to the garage door?

  15. #175
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    The SHBARUS
    Posts
    2,274
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nzwasp View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Which part needs to be located far away from the opener? the thing that has the power cord attached to the roof or the thing attached to the garage door?
    The thing with the power cord. It communicates with your opener. I didn't have problem with the door sensor. My opener just wouldn't do anything when pairing. I was about to give up. Took the myq down from the ceiling and decided to try it one more time. Then it worked! Who knows it can actually be too close for wireless signal.

  16. #176
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Calgary,AB
    My Ride
    2013 Toyota Highlander Sport
    Posts
    775
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    hmm alright I'll try that out tonight. I think that paired with a wyze camera in the garage would be a better solution than now.

    Also as an aside I walk around my community at night to complete my exercise circle (apple watch) and I count like 4 different houses that leave their garage doors open every single night. I always think hmm should I close that for them, but decide not to because I dont want to walk up their driveway.

Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 8 9

Similar Threads

  1. Home Automation?

    By Scat E46 in forum Home and Garden
    Replies: 20
    Latest Threads: 08-23-2010, 04:00 PM
  2. Home Automation

    By black_radiation in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 03-10-2008, 06:40 PM
  3. Home Automation

    By jav_ in forum Careers
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 02-20-2008, 03:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •