Quantcast
DIY Home Automation with Apple Homekit - Page 11 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 11 of 11 FirstFirst ... 10 11
Results 201 to 218 of 218

Thread: DIY Home Automation with Apple Homekit

  1. #201
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,267
    Rep Power
    46

    Default

    @rage2 where did you end up getting your Serena shades from?

    I went to that serenashades.ca site looking into some blackout coverings for my media room. Were yours that expensive? ($500+ea for 24x24 yikes is a bit yikes for the 4 windows I need done).
    Last edited by killramos; 09-15-2020 at 04:20 PM.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  2. #202
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,144
    Rep Power
    48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    @rage2 where did you end up getting your Serena shades from?

    I went to that serenashades.ca site looking into some blackout coverings for my media room. Were yours that expensive? ($500+ea for 24x24 yikes is a bit yikes for the 4 windows I need done).
    Got them directly from Serena Shades. Talked to a rep that put the discounts in place as at the time the website was USD only. The big cost is the width. Not much different in length in terms of price. My order was back in 2016. 38x70 was $540. 46x46 was $595. The hilarious ones were my basement windows. 53x19 was $635 lol. Prices in CAD.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  3. #203
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,267
    Rep Power
    46

    Default

    That doesn’t sound nearly as bad. I need to go through my selections again I think...
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  4. #204
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    calgary/AB
    My Ride
    On the look :)
    Posts
    711
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Any one here using HOOBS? Or any other Homebridge platform?

    Saw this was reviewed on 9 to 5 mac (https://9to5mac.com/2020/09/18/hoops/) and looks like a very solid platform.
    Last edited by ganesh; 09-19-2020 at 08:51 AM.

  5. #205
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,267
    Rep Power
    46

    Default

    Me and a couple others have the starling. This is cool, essentially the same thing with way more compatibility?
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  6. #206
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    calgary/AB
    My Ride
    On the look :)
    Posts
    711
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Me and a couple others have the starling. This is cool, essentially the same thing with way more compatibility?
    Are you happy with Starling? I understand the plugins may be limited compared to HOOBS?
    Do they constantly update the plugins?

  7. #207
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    FB6
    Posts
    714
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Seems like the HOOBS is a variation of the original open source homebridge. You can buy HOOBS for your own raspberry pi for $7. I might give that a try.

  8. #208
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,267
    Rep Power
    46

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ganesh View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Are you happy with Starling? I understand the plugins may be limited compared to HOOBS?
    Do they constantly update the plugins?
    Starling only works for nest products
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  9. #209
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Looking to do some automation for exterior lights so I don’t have to rely on the wife to remember to turn them on.

    What is a good simple solution? Looked at the the Lutron Caseta but they seem to be more for dimmers/etc and don’t need that for outdoor. Will eventually want to do more so want something I can add to but not sure what the best options are these days

    Thanks

  10. #210
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,267
    Rep Power
    46

    Default

    I believe there are on off switches on Lutron as well.

    The key is just picking an ecosystem you like and sticking with it.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  11. #211
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,144
    Rep Power
    48

    Default

    On off switch is way more expensive than the dimmer.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  12. #212
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,144
    Rep Power
    48

    Default

    Not sure if anyone remembers my troubles with the chamberlain homebridge for garage door, which led to someone stealing all the shit in my garage. Anyways finally switched to a much better setup. And only $60!

    https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B08GG1H7TV/

    No more failed door open/close status because it’s cold out and cooling the battery on the sensor to fail it. Magnetic sensor switch is bulletproof. Only complaint, the sensor wiring was barely long enough for me. Door sensor reports are instant now, should be able to rely on it for automation.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  13. #213
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Egg Sammich
    Posts
    1,444
    Rep Power
    44

    Default

    ^Hey, that's great! MyQ is loose, wet turds.

  14. #214
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,891
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    I use MyQ, but only because it's built into my garage door opener, so the opener itself is reporting open/closed.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  15. #215
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,267
    Rep Power
    46

    Default

    I have a MyQ opener built in, but I don’t care enough about tying it into HomeKit to buy the add on puck that can talk to HomeKit.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  16. #216
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    807
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Anyone know where I can still pickup a Samsung Smartthings Hub V3? lol TIA

    https://www.samsung.com/ca/smartthin...p-u999sjvlgdb/

  17. #217
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2013 Q5
    Posts
    1,876
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Lutron Caseta switches are on sale for 20% off at Home Depot and i think Amazon as well. Apparently they rarely ever go on sale so good time to buy one if you're looking.

    This starter kit with hub, 2 switches, 2 remotes for $190ish looks like a great deal. No idea what the difference is between these two skus... only difference that i can see is one says "lamp dimmer" and the other one is "dimmer switch"
    https://www.homedepot.ca/product/lut...tes/1001060274
    https://www.homedepot.ca/product/lut...tes/1000843450

  18. #218
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Calgary,AB
    My Ride
    2015 Kia Forte5 SX
    Posts
    940
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Linus Tech Tips frustration with MyQ and other ways to close his garage door.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x7pSkVarixU

Page 11 of 11 FirstFirst ... 10 11

Similar Threads

  1. Home Automation?

    By Scat E46 in forum Home and Garden
    Replies: 20
    Latest Threads: 08-23-2010, 04:00 PM
  2. Home Automation

    By black_radiation in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 03-10-2008, 06:40 PM
  3. Home Automation

    By jav_ in forum Careers
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 02-20-2008, 03:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •