Quantcast
Finally upgraded my home wifi to something that works - managed wifi review - Page 35 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 35 of 35 FirstFirst ... 25 34 35
Results 681 to 697 of 697

Thread: Finally upgraded my home wifi to something that works - managed wifi review

  1. #681
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Airdrie
    My Ride
    '05 Cororra, '16 Rex
    Posts
    127
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by revelations View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Has anyone had luck with a multi-WAN setup with the Ubiquity routers?

    I did one a while ago on an Edge router and the auto fail over was, failing to fail over.

    Reading online, it turned out to be a firmware/software issue - wonder if they have solved it by now?
    Crosstalk solutions shows it working when demoing the Unifi LTE.


  2. #682
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    21,477
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I do not personally have 2 ISP’s lol
    What kind of peasant are you?
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  3. #683
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    5,004
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    What kind of peasant are you?
    Hey, you know I don’t live in Aspen
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  4. #684
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    21,477
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Hey, you know I don’t live in Aspen
    Please, you live beside 2 doctors, one being a neurosurgeon. Aspen is beneath you.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  5. #685
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,830
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    I've been tempted to use the second WAN port on my shaw modem into my USG, but I really don't see a benefit. Not like it'll give me extra speed or bandwidth.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  6. #686
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Not Aspen
    My Ride
    Two from Freemont
    Posts
    9,168
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alterac View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Not to tip my hat, butttt.... $20 bid right now, Local in calgary from the ERA (allows local pickup, so no shipping cost)

    https://www.ebay.ca/itm/Ubiquiti-UAP...t/293624636824
    $5 pickup fee. So this thing works? Just light is defective?
    My Tesla referral link: https://ts.la/moon14483

  7. #687
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    520
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by benyl View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    $5 pickup fee. So this thing works? Just light is defective?
    Not my listing, but they say "Used, Working. newest firmware installed" in the ad, and they are good guys, ive purchased from them multiple times before.

  8. #688
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    1,694
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alterac View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Not to tip my hat, butttt.... $20 bid right now, Local in calgary from the ERA (allows local pickup, so no shipping cost)

    https://www.ebay.ca/itm/Ubiquiti-UAP...t/293624636824
    Assholes had it as a buy now or offer and got swamped.

    They pulled the ad and now it's an auction with it at $30 and 5 days left.

  9. #689
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    5,004
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Please, you live beside 2 doctors, one being a neurosurgeon. Aspen is beneath you.
    I’ll have to borrow a couple bucks from them to get a hookup from Shaw for my 0.1% downtime on Telus FTTH
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  10. #690
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    21,477
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    If you’re having DHCP issues with the Unifi APs, the latest stable 4.3.20 firmware finally fixed the problem. Everyone is reporting it’s fixed on the forums. @benyl had the issue and confirmed it’s fixed. No need to do the stupid upgrade path that I had to go through.

    The bug on the unifi switch side is still present, but can be bypassed by disabling DHCP snooping until a fix is released.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  11. #691
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Not Aspen
    My Ride
    Two from Freemont
    Posts
    9,168
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    So my DHCP failure count has been zero for two weeks.

    I am however running beta 1.80 rc7 because my UDMP starting shitting the bed last weekend. Everything was disconnecting. Seems to be stable now.

    2020-07-15_20-30-21.png
    My Tesla referral link: https://ts.la/moon14483

  12. #692
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    My Ride
    F150, Tiguan R, Kawi Bobber
    Posts
    915
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Going to go to a setup based around this right away, and just doing research. I was going to go with the USG-PoE switch w/cloud key-AP's, but now just thinking the UDM is the way to go with the integration of those components. While looking at the Ubiquiti site they don't have AP Lite listed anywhere, just the nanoHD which is quite a bit more $$, considering the Lite's are on Amazon at the moment. Is the nano the most current and reasonably powerful?
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  13. #693
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    5,004
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    Worth nothing that the Switch ports on the UDM are not POE, so if you get a UDM /Pro thinking it’s all in you still need a second switch for POE. Or you can use injectors, potato potatoe.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  14. #694
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    My Ride
    2019 F-150
    Posts
    1,280
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    UDM pro is the way to go. The nanoHD and flexHDbuse the new software which matches the UDM, they also come with injectors in the box. I have 3 FlexHDs because they can be mounted outside and are about the size of a small red bull.
    E .· ` ' / ·. F
    Your tears fuel me

  15. #695
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    My Ride
    F150, Tiguan R, Kawi Bobber
    Posts
    915
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Worth nothing that the Switch ports on the UDM are not POE, so if you get a UDM /Pro thinking it’s all in you still need a second switch for POE. Or you can use injectors, potato potatoe.
    I had considered that, where my extra AP's would go are hidden and close to outlets, I don't have no fancy ceiling access..... EDIT: I'm an idiot and can just put the injectors in the smarthome box by the dumb switch

    Quote Originally Posted by Kavy View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    UDM pro is the way to go. The nanoHD and flexHDbuse the new software which matches the UDM, they also come with injectors in the box. I have 3 FlexHDs because they can be mounted outside and are about the size of a small red bull.
    I don't have a rack, and don't have any other need to get a rack so the pro was out. I wasn't sure about if the nanoHD had less or more capability than the older AP's, and the AP built into the UDM is apparently a nanoHD so I can see what I get for coverage. I actually thought about an LR for my main floor because I have a real issue with coverage across my house, for the small price over the lite. Anyone still have an LR they wanted to jettison? I grabbed a UDM tonight and its leaps and bounds better on its floor than my Orbi was, and decent one floor below but I really need another AP for the real business

    EDIT: those FlexHD's have really good radio coverage maps.....worth the extra $$ maybe
    Last edited by TurboMedic; 08-08-2020 at 11:31 PM.
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  16. #696
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    5,004
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    Even if you don’t have a rack, take the mounting ears and turn them 90 degrees and you can walk mount the unifis stuff which is still. Very clean setup.

    I had my 16 port Poe switch mounted that way for 3 years.

    Not having a rack isn’t a good reason to go with the non pro versus pro UDM. The pro is a way better device by a long way for most uses IMO. And price not that different.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  17. #697
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    My Ride
    F150, Tiguan R, Kawi Bobber
    Posts
    915
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Even if you don’t have a rack, take the mounting ears and turn them 90 degrees and you can walk mount the unifis stuff which is still. Very clean setup.

    I had my 16 port Poe switch mounted that way for 3 years.

    Not having a rack isn’t a good reason to go with the non pro versus pro UDM. The pro is a way better device by a long way for most uses IMO. And price not that different.
    Except I got a lightly used UDM for cheap ��. That swayed it a bit
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

Page 35 of 35 FirstFirst ... 25 34 35

Similar Threads

  1. Finally upgraded to a dual band DD-WRT router

    By WhippWhapp in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 10
    Latest Threads: 04-04-2017, 10:49 AM
  2. FS: HP Procurve 1800-24G managed network switch

    By Smokem in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 03-14-2012, 06:09 PM
  3. Managed Funds

    By cidley69 in forum Real Estate / Finance
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 02-23-2012, 08:44 AM
  4. Something, something, something, Dark side

    By Tik-Tok in forum Entertainment
    Replies: 7
    Latest Threads: 12-27-2009, 08:15 PM
  5. FS: Netgear FSM726S L2 managed Switch

    By 02WhiteWs6 in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 11-16-2007, 05:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •