Quantcast
Nest Thread - Page 6 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 101 to 120 of 133

Thread: Nest Thread

  1. #101
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Civic Hatch ST
    Posts
    9,684
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Logitech Circle has a window mode where it doesn't fire the IR as bright. Nothing for Nest AFAIK.
    Interesting, the wirecutter did like that one - I will take a closer look, thanks.

  2. #102
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Grimace
    Posts
    6,513
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    If you have a front drive garage it is easy to snake the cable I found for the outdoor cam. Otherwise doorbell one could work.
    Nest only has this advice

    While it’s possible to point an indoor camera out a window to see what’s happening outside, this might not give you the best experience. For example, the window glass can create reflections, and your view is limited by the size and location of the window. Instead, you can install one of Nest’s outdoor cameras that’s designed to withstand the elements.

    If you prefer to use an indoor camera, here are some tips for pointing it out a window:

    If the window glass is creating reflections and glare, it’ll be harder for you to see what’s happening outside. When Night Vision is turned on, the infrared lights will create further reflections. To reduce glare, try mounting the camera so that the lens is flush against the glass.

    A mesh screen on the window can affect motion detection. Avoid windows with mesh screens if possible.

  3. #103
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    YYC
    Posts
    3,021
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    I'd think there's window film that would reduce the glare and allow it to work.

  4. #104
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Civic Hatch ST
    Posts
    9,684
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schocker View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    If you have a front drive garage it is easy to snake the cable I found for the outdoor cam. Otherwise doorbell one could work.
    Nest only has this advice
    It's a townhome and our front door faces the front yards and front doors of other townhomes. I was hoping to just put something in the front window that would easily keep watch of the entire area. Because it's a managed complex, I don't think we can go about drilling through walls, and there are no exterior power outlets. The doorbell might be the best way to go, as long as it can still see most of the area. I would prefer to get a Nest cam though, it's only $5/mo for storage and seems to be the best for quality and integration if I can solve the window issue - plus I can move it around to different areas if needed.

  5. #105
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Cougar Town!
    Posts
    3,821
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mitsu3000gt View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Are there any kits to make the indoor Nest cameras see through glass more easily? From what I know about IR, chances are these things glare like crazy through a window especially at night.
    Disable night vision and the status light, and light up the scene you want to monitor with lights outside.

    If there is still glare from inside reflecting you could build some sort of shroud over the cam.

    Best bet is a doorbell cam though based on your setup.
    ---

  6. #106
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Grimace
    Posts
    6,513
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenny View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Disable night vision and the status light, and light up the scene you want to monitor with lights outside.

    If there is still glare from inside reflecting you could build some sort of shroud over the cam.

    Best bet is a doorbell cam though based on your setup.
    The more over the top way would be to get some LIFX + bulbs where they have a infrared setting and are also usable outdoors and put some of those outside.

  7. #107
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    403
    My Ride
    Bunch of Honda's
    Posts
    5,881
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Hook up the humidifier to your smart thermostat and leave the HRV. How does your HRV controls look? My HRV control is a simple light switch at light switch level so it doesn't look out of place whatsoever.
    Bump. In the new house... have a couple odd questions:

    - We got an EcoBee4 (which has an adjustment for setting humidity levels)
    - Right below the EcoBee is the HRV switch which has hi/low fan and 5 levels of humidity adjustment.
    - I have not idea which is actually controlling the humidity.
    - The HRV switch has no timer so we can't actually run it for 30 minutes/hour or anything. You have to manually turn it on/off via the switch.
    - I set the EcoBee to run the furnace fan for 30 minutes/hour and nothing.... my googling tells me the furnace fan might be triggered by the HRV only?

    Running the HRV seems to cool the house down pretty good so it would be nice to run it for XX minutes/hour but right now we need to manually flip the switch.

    Can we hook the HRV up the furnace? How do we switch the furnace fan on remotely for XX minutes/hour? Why can't EcoBee support humidity and the HRV?

    EDIT:

    Might have just found the solution while looking for a photo of the HRV control we have.

    We have this one
    click for larger version
    » Click image for larger version

    Might need on like this with the 20/40 setting?
    click for larger version
    » Click image for larger version

    Someone set me straight please haha

  8. #108
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    403
    My Ride
    Bunch of Honda's
    Posts
    5,881
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    bump!

    how the hell can i remotely control this HRV (which actually does a pretty good job in lowering the interior temperature).

  9. #109
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Technically the NE
    My Ride
    C63S + AT4
    Posts
    4,180
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Some kind of compatible Smart switch combined with IFTTT?

    I don’t know anything specific, but would be interested in something similar for a fireplace switch. Ideally controllable from Harmony.

    Has pretty well nothing to do with nest though.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  10. #110
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    19 G70, 07 S2000
    Posts
    30
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 88CRX View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    bump!

    how the hell can i remotely control this HRV (which actually does a pretty good job in lowering the interior temperature).
    Certain thermostats control the HRV remotely, Ecobee does. It actually combines the operation of both HRV and your furnace and AC to set temperature in the house because the feel of the temperature is dependent on the humidity levels.

  11. #111
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Cougar Town!
    Posts
    3,821
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 88CRX View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    bump!

    how the hell can i remotely control this HRV (which actually does a pretty good job in lowering the interior temperature).
    Confirm what is controlling your humidity. If your HRV is, you should be able to use the accessory connections to manually turn on the HRV (no fan speed control though) with the ecobee.
    ---

  12. #112
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Technically the NE
    My Ride
    C63S + AT4
    Posts
    4,180
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    So I picked up a Nest Home Hub to try it out, I’m not sure it really does anything.

    Doesn’t even integrate properly with nest products... though they changed the font on the nest cam watermarks. You know, the important stuff.

    2219251B-CFE5-4A29-B4BB-16B68260911A.jpg

    It’s just a glorified google home puck with visual confirmation and YouTube.

    I would give this product a hard pass, especially the bigger more expensive one. A simple tablet would be way more functional.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  13. #113
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Grimace
    Posts
    6,513
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    That is all I expected from it anyways, google home with a screen. I really just want it to glance when someone rings the doorbell and to show me commute/weather when I am getting ready. I pre-ordered one from bestbuy but it never shipped due to something with my credit card not processing........even though my hue bulbs in the same order shipped and billed no problem

  14. #114
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Technically the NE
    My Ride
    C63S + AT4
    Posts
    4,180
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Yea my preorder just came this afternoon.

    I’m not going to return it or anything, just feels a little half baked.

    I was expecting more of a control centre for my smart home I guess. It’s nicr to be able to ask it to show me the front door, and it does let me arm my security system with voice which is convenient. Hopefully they flesh it out with time.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  15. #115
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Grimace
    Posts
    6,513
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Yea my preorder just came this afternoon.

    I’m not going to return it or anything, just feels a little half baked.

    I was expecting more of a control centre for my smart home I guess. It’s nicr to be able to ask it to show me the front door, and it does let me arm my security system with voice which is convenient. Hopefully they flesh it out with time.
    Yeah, I think they probably will when they roll nest into google further. The google home app is pretty crappy currently. Would make sense once the bigger screen is available as well. I'll probably just pick one up whenever they go on sale now.

  16. #116
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Cougar Town!
    Posts
    3,821
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Yea my preorder just came this afternoon.

    I’m not going to return it or anything, just feels a little half baked.

    I was expecting more of a control centre for my smart home I guess. It’s nicr to be able to ask it to show me the front door, and it does let me arm my security system with voice which is convenient. Hopefully they flesh it out with time.
    I have mine linked to my SmartThings system and now it can be used to control all my lights, thermostats (Ecobee), cameras and sprinklers but it's typically just a photo frame.

    I'm surprised (actually not really, it's Google lol) that it doesn't integrate with Nest Secure a bit more.
    ---

  17. #117
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,773
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenny View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I have mine linked to my SmartThings system and now it can be used to control all my lights, thermostats (Ecobee), cameras and sprinklers but it's typically just a photo frame.

    I'm surprised (actually not really, it's Google lol) that it doesn't integrate with Nest Secure a bit more.
    Well, this makes me feel a little better about having a Ring camera. That being said, my lenovo smart screen has some minor integration with my nest thermostats.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  18. #118
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    GX470
    Posts
    2,335
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    I bought one from the US when they came out.. considering the price Ive been happy. Works with nest doorbell (video and sound) plays music, videos, links to my google pictures account and displays the weather. Not sure what else I would have wanted it to do. (Not sure if the US one is different)

  19. #119
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Cougar Town!
    Posts
    3,821
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LilDrunkenSmurf View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Well, this makes me feel a little better about having a Ring camera. That being said, my lenovo smart screen has some minor integration with my nest thermostats.
    I don't think Ring live streams are supported. Google just added support for Wyze cameras though.
    ---

  20. #120
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    X5-35i, Cayenne S, 335i Cab
    Posts
    582
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    I've been using the Lenovo version for several months and very happy with it, but I already knew it's just a Google Home with a screen. It's very useful for controlling all my lights, cooking timer, visual traffic information, video calling, 7 days weather forecast, etc.. and when it's not in used it's a nice digital photo frame. However I only find it useful in the kitchen and have no plans to replace any of my other Google Homes w/ a Hub/Screen.

    Only disappointment I have is when I try to live-stream my Arlo baby monitor to either the Hub or Chromecast, I'm seeing a whopping 22sec delay!

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. ahaha construction/destruction of a wasps nest

    By sh0ko in forum Misc. Gallery
    Replies: 6
    Latest Threads: 08-05-2008, 08:37 AM
  2. Wasps nest on my house

    By Subwoofah in forum General
    Replies: 24
    Latest Threads: 08-07-2007, 05:26 PM
  3. Wasp Nest

    By Z_Fan in forum General
    Replies: 35
    Latest Threads: 07-20-2007, 09:47 AM
  4. Anyone been to the Owl's Nest lately?

    By dino_martini in forum Food and Dining
    Replies: 7
    Latest Threads: 03-16-2007, 10:03 PM
  5. Peregrine Nest Cam

    By D'z Nutz in forum General
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 05-05-2005, 12:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •