Quantcast
Best dual channel dashcam? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 63

Thread: Best dual channel dashcam?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    A slow bike & an even slower car.
    Posts
    6,234
    Rep Power
    24

    Default Best dual channel dashcam?

    What are people using for front/rear recording? Want both.

    Last two dashcams I had were "okay" at best. Hoping for something that will last more than one winter.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Calgarian Living in Edmonton
    My Ride
    93 240sx SE, 17 Q50S
    Posts
    6,152
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Blackvue DR650GW-2CH
    Originally posted by GTS Jeff
    You know those bored stay at home moms who's entire lives revolve around driving their kids to soccer, various cleaning accessories, and worrying about neighbourhood rapists? The kind of people that watch the View and go "uh huh..." Those unfulfilled people who try to fill the void in their empty lives by writing whiny letters to the editor complaining about shit that no one really cares about?

    Well imagine if instead of writing that letter to the editor, she just posts on a car forum for car enthusiasts. That's Kritafo.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    CLK 55 / 2g Eclipse / EP3
    Posts
    3,956
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    What resolution are you hoping for? I have a unit in my convertible that seems to work OK, but it wasnt HD .... enough to record plates though.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    A slow bike & an even slower car.
    Posts
    6,234
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    Originally posted by revelations
    What resolution are you hoping for? I have a unit in my convertible that seems to work OK, but it wasnt HD .... enough to record plates though.
    I'm just looking for the least expensive option that will show me plate numbers

    Not cheap, inexpensive.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    calgary
    Posts
    1,145
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Sorry to piggyback on this A790, hope you don't mind.

    Is there also anywhere you guys would recommend having it installed (hardwired) for a reasonable price?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The Gutter
    My Ride
    UCF20/R35
    Posts
    3,177
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    I have the compustardash 2 way installed in my car, got it for $260 plus taxes from autotech. $80 to install in the Porsche


    Originally posted by rage2
    Can someone who speaks brown please translate this for me please?


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Wannabe Skyline x2, Wannabe 911 GT3, Wannabe FD3S
    Posts
    3,225
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    I have the Blackvue DR650GW-2CH as well.

    Installed at Auto Tech. Will be installing the Compustar camera shadowz has once my other car arrives.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    Posts
    1,226
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Out of curiosity how much was the 650 with install roughly skyline?

    And shadowz have any footage of the compustar to see what quality is like? I know the blackvue quality is pretty good

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary, AB.
    My Ride
    210000 km oldie
    Posts
    1,089
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Would the rear still be good if one has dark tint in the back. I assume it would be hard wired and then you just take the unit with your like you would with a detector?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The Gutter
    My Ride
    UCF20/R35
    Posts
    3,177
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Originally posted by colinxx235
    Out of curiosity how much was the 650 with install roughly skyline?

    And shadowz have any footage of the compustar to see what quality is like? I know the blackvue quality is pretty good
    Honestly never taken any footage off the card but here's a vid I found



    Originally posted by rage2
    Can someone who speaks brown please translate this for me please?


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    MooooooO
    My Ride
    AWD grandpa wagon
    Posts
    2,136
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Originally posted by bigbadboss101
    Would the rear still be good if one has dark tint in the back.
    The footage from my 650 rear cam can get pretty dim if there are no ambient lighting around. I am hoping we will soon see dashcams with auto exposure.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    CLK 55 / 2g Eclipse / EP3
    Posts
    3,956
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Originally posted by bigbadboss101
    Would the rear still be good if one has dark tint in the back. I assume it would be hard wired and then you just take the unit with your like you would with a detector?
    I have one in my car suctioned to the rear hatch. Its wired to the rear driving (red) lights so that the camera comes on with the lights on (which I do at all times).

    No issues with black limo tint during the day, but I suspect at night in the pitch black it wouldn't be as effective.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    MooooooO
    My Ride
    AWD grandpa wagon
    Posts
    2,136
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Originally posted by shadowz
    I have the compustardash 2 way installed in my car, got it for $260 plus taxes from autotech. $80 to install in the Porsche
    Does $260 include the external GPS unit?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The Gutter
    My Ride
    UCF20/R35
    Posts
    3,177
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Originally posted by HiSpec


    Does $260 include the external GPS unit?
    No it is additional for it, I did not opt for it


    Originally posted by rage2
    Can someone who speaks brown please translate this for me please?


  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Canuckistan
    My Ride
    Exploded.
    Posts
    6,745
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Originally posted by Skyline_Addict
    I have the Blackvue DR650GW-2CH as well.

    Installed at Auto Tech. Will be installing the Compustar camera shadowz has once my other car arrives.
    Might get that. I noticed my BlackVue is overheating a lot and just dies.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Wannabe Skyline x2, Wannabe 911 GT3, Wannabe FD3S
    Posts
    3,225
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Originally posted by colinxx235
    Out of curiosity how much was the 650 with install roughly skyline?

    And shadowz have any footage of the compustar to see what quality is like? I know the blackvue quality is pretty good
    I bought the 650 from Amazon IIRC for around $550 with power magic pro.
    Was about $150 to install . I think it's normally $80 for just front facing and an extra $70 to wire it to the rear facing.

    So expect $700-$800 all in depending on where you buy the camera. It was definitely worth it to me.
    Last edited by Skyline_Addict; 05-30-2016 at 08:29 PM.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    A slow bike & an even slower car.
    Posts
    6,234
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    Thanks for the recommendations!

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    The SHBARUS
    Posts
    2,260
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    group buy/install?

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    calgary ab
    My Ride
    4x4
    Posts
    2,077
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    http://www.dx.com/p/a-05-concealed-h...4#.V02vEnNMGv0

    I keep trying this one... really what I want is two of the tiny cameras going to a real dvr type base... but all of them seem to be the big monster screen on the dash and tiny remote camera for the rear.

    Wait, http://www.dx.com/p/zea-md228-3-5-du...5#.V02v8XNMGv0 - but sold out and... potatoe cameras...

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    My Ride
    2016 Hyundai Tucson
    Posts
    21
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I had a mini 0803 with GPS installed in the front for a couple of years and decided to upgrade to a front/rear set up, tried the K1S first, was ok but no sound so I sent it back, then tried the Thinkware dual cam, good quality but the only memory cards that will work are their own brand and they are very expensive.

    In the end, I moved my 0803 to the rear, I have tint but you can up the E/V to compensate and I bought the newer mini 0806 for the front.

    Both are excellent quality and very discreet, the base stays on the glass and the camera just slides in and out if you want to take them off when parked.

    Hardwiring is easy, buy the hardwire kit from Amazon for $15 and then just use a fuse tap, the cameras now switch on and off with my ignition.

    Google "Techmoan" he gives great reviews on dashcams :-)

    In the end, very happy I stuck with the Mini series.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 11-04-2016, 04:11 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 04-06-2008, 02:05 AM
  3. What is the big difference between a 2 channel or 4 channel?

    By peanut in forum In Car Entertainment / Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Latest Threads: 03-10-2004, 07:51 PM
  4. I NEED: 4 channel amp or two 2 channel amps

    By ACS-e36 in forum Automotive Parts [Audio/Video/Radar Systems]
    Replies: 14
    Latest Threads: 09-18-2003, 11:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •