Quantcast
Shaw Wide Open Internet 150 launch. - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 32 1 2 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 623

Thread: Shaw Wide Open Internet 150 launch.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pallet Town
    Posts
    485
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Shaw Wide Open Internet 150 launch.

    Greta the destroyer.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Grimace
    Posts
    6,513
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Switching already lol. Seems to keep my bundle at the same price and I go from BB60 to 150.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pallet Town
    Posts
    485
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I like how they put a fridge in the Internet of Things.

    Never thought I'd ever see the day with an internet connected refridgerator.
    Greta the destroyer.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    My Ride
    Douche canoe
    Posts
    1,246
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    My internet has gone from awesome to terrible the last 4 days so I called for a tech visit. Earliest visit is Wednesday after they said I had a terrible signal.

    Called to book this upgrade and they are sending a tech Monday. Pretty ridiculous lol, maybe he will decide to fix the "terrible" signal I am seeing on Monday.
    E .· ` ' / ·. F
    Your tears fuel me

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cowtown
    My Ride
    10' 4Runner SR5
    Posts
    5,985
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Thanks! My Telus 50 deal runs out at the end of August, got notification it's going up $5/month so this looks promising!
    Follow me on Instagram and Facebook!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    4,863
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Originally posted by schocker
    Switching already lol. Seems to keep my bundle at the same price and I go from BB60 to 150.
    Seriously? Mine goes up by $40 after the 2 years are up. Not worth it to me.

  7. #7
    Thaco's Avatar
    Thaco is offline sucks off little boys (ya, don't fuck with rage2 bitch!!!)
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Rage2
    Posts
    3,615
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    still 1tb limit, limits are geh
    User title molested by Rage2.

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    It's not the size that matters, it's the taste it leaves in your mouth.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Civic Hatch ST
    Posts
    9,686
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    So currently I'm getting broadband 120 (120 Mbps down / 50 Mbps up) for $107/mo.

    Obviously this is a good deal for the next two years, but after that it's a pretty terrible deal at $140/mo for an extra ~3MB/s down and much slower upload.

    Or maybe they will do like they did with Broadband 100 where they upgraded everyone to BB120 for free, maybe they will bump the BB120 customers up to 150 for free.
    Last edited by Mitsu3000gt; 07-15-2016 at 10:44 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    20,955
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    The fine print says new customers only. Are you guys able to switch as an existing customer?
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Civic Hatch ST
    Posts
    9,686
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Originally posted by rage2
    The fine print says new customers only. Are you guys able to switch as an existing customer?
    Hmm, didn't see that - either we won't be able to do it at all, or you will have to completely forego any grandfathered plan.

    Looks like it's just 90 days though and for bundles?

    " New customers must not have subscribed to the selected Shaw service (Internet, Video or Phone) or bundle in the past 90 days."

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Grimace
    Posts
    6,513
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Originally posted by Mibz
    Seriously? Mine goes up by $40 after the 2 years are up. Not worth it to me.
    Yeah, but just switch your plan after the 2 years, probably some faster plans out by then.

    Originally posted by Thaco
    still 1tb limit, limits are geh
    It is a soft limit, it even says you won't be charged for overages and there is no faster plan they can try to get you to switch to.

    Originally posted by Mitsu3000gt
    So currently I'm getting broadband 120 (120 Mbps down / 50 Mbps up) for $107/mo.

    Obviously this is a good deal for the next two years, but after that it's a pretty terrible deal at $140/mo for an extra ~3MB/s down and much slower upload.

    Or maybe they will do like they did with Broadband 100 where they upgraded everyone to BB120 for free, maybe they will bump the BB120 customers up to 150 for free.
    Just switch when it ends.

    Originally posted by rage2
    The fine print says new customers only. Are you guys able to switch as an existing customer?
    That is to do with pricing, $50 1 yr $80 2 yr for new, $80 for both years on existing. I switched via the logged in to account chat. I think they messed up my pricing my pricing though and gave me the new customer plan

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Civic Hatch ST
    Posts
    9,686
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Originally posted by schocker


    Just switch when it ends.

    How can I switch back to a cheaper, superior plan that no longer exists when the promo ends?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,090
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Originally posted by rage2
    The fine print says new customers only. Are you guys able to switch as an existing customer?
    Originally posted by Mitsu3000gt
    Hmm, didn't see that - either we won't be able to do it at all, or you will have to completely forego any grandfathered plan.

    Looks like it's just 90 days though and for bundles?

    " New customers must not have subscribed to the selected Shaw service (Internet, Video or Phone) or bundle in the past 90 days."
    $49.90 Year 1, $79.90 Year 2 for new customers
    $79.90 Year 1 & 2 for existing customers

    2 year contract, $15/mo cancellation fee for early termination
    Originally posted by max_boost
    Hey baller, any problem money can solve is no problem at all. Don't sweat it.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Civic Hatch ST
    Posts
    9,686
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Interesting they are doing contracts with cancellation fees - Shaw had made a big deal about no contracts for as long as I can remember.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Technically the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    4,188
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Originally posted by rage2
    The fine print says new customers only. Are you guys able to switch as an existing customer?
    Already a Shaw customer? Get on board today.
    Sign up for Internet 150 on a 2-year ValuePlan^ and you'll get a price guarantee of $79.90*/MO. Regular rate $135.00/MO.

    ^The 2-year ValuePlan is available as an Internet only agreement or Internet and TV agreement. Internet and TV agreements require a minimum entry service level of Personal TV combined with Internet 30 or higher. Shaw Phone services may be added or removed at any time outside of the 2-year ValuePlan. Under the Internet and TV 2-year ValuePlan, customers receive a complimentary Gateway HDPVR rental with up to two free portal rentals. Free installation for new customers or when adding new services as part of a 2-year ValuePlan. Early cancellation fees apply and will be calculated based on the number of months remaining in the 2-year ValuePlan multiplied by the early cancellation fee ($15 per month for the Internet only agreement or $20 per month for the Internet and TV agreement). Details on 2-year ValuePlans can be found at shaw.ca/valueplandetails.
    Seems like the catch is you need to sign a 2 year service plan agreement.

    Who cares though if you are on BB50 or 60, as you are going from 93/95 dollars a month to 80 for 2 years and getting 2-3 times the speed and double bandwidth. As shocker says downgrade to something else in 2 years if you don't like the full price. The cancellation fee is exactly the same as the savings at that price point.

    I'm going to call a Shaw account rep over my lunch to confirm details.

    edit: just checked by bill, my BB50 is currently 88 so not as big of a savings but definitely significant enough.
    Last edited by killramos; 07-15-2016 at 11:00 AM.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cowtown
    My Ride
    10' 4Runner SR5
    Posts
    5,985
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    This makes a lot of sense. Even if I cancel after Year 1 is up, the penalty is $15/month * 12 for cancelling a year early. The savings of getting a promo going back to Telus would likely outweigh the $30/monthly increase for Year 2 here.
    Follow me on Instagram and Facebook!

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Grimace
    Posts
    6,513
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Originally posted by Mitsu3000gt

    How can I switch back to a cheaper, superior plan that no longer exists when the promo ends?
    You can't but I suppose, didn't read too well, you could switch to a lesser plan in two years money wise assume speeds will only go up from here.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    My Ride
    2015 CLS63 AMG S-Model Coupe
    Posts
    680
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    On the phone right now, got a quote for Business 150 coming from a grandfathered Business 100 Plus account.

    Coming from:
    6 Statics
    6 Dynamics (were free)
    Secondary Cable Modem
    Basic Cable (was free)
    I have 2 Digital Cable terminals, and tiers 1,2,3

    Going to:
    6 Statics
    2 Dynamics (now charged for these bad boys)
    Secondary cable modem
    Basic Cable (now paying for this)
    Keeping all Tiers

    On a one year term it's only increasing my plan 23 bucks a month (I'm going the one year agreement route, I could get it to match by going 3 years)... Mwhahaha

    Now just on the phone with tech support to confirm some technical stuff, and make sure some technical exceptions they have setup for me will stick on the new modems. If so, I'm switching
    Sig was pwned by Moderator!

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    09 Impreza 2.5
    Posts
    207
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Time to hit up their online chat services, I would gladly pay those prices for the first two years before swapping back to my hobo 30 plan.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Technically the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    4,188
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Originally posted by Mitsu3000gt
    Interesting they are doing contracts with cancellation fees - Shaw had made a big deal about no contracts for as long as I can remember.
    There is always another sale, for everything else there is retentions lol
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

Page 1 of 32 1 2 11 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Corvette ZR1 Launch Control vs Porsche 911 Turbo S Launch Control

    By trev0006 in forum Cars, Bikes, Machines
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 06-16-2011, 06:00 PM
  2. any SHAW internet experts here? HORRIBLE SHAW INTERNET

    By thetransporter in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 13
    Latest Threads: 10-23-2009, 01:18 PM
  3. Shaw internet usage? ALSO: SHAW bumps download speed.

    By old&slow in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 211
    Latest Threads: 03-30-2009, 07:46 PM
  4. Shaw Internet or Telus Internet?!?!

    By phubu in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 61
    Latest Threads: 06-15-2008, 07:54 PM
  5. WTB: Shaw HD cablebox or PVR and Shaw internet Modem

    By Hanzo in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 04-07-2008, 08:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •