Quantcast
Shaw Wide Open Internet 150 launch. - Page 24 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 24 of 32 FirstFirst ... 14 23 24 25 ... LastLast
Results 461 to 480 of 623

Thread: Shaw Wide Open Internet 150 launch.

  1. #461
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Civic Hatch ST
    Posts
    9,631
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Originally posted by BensonTT
    Are you guys getting a steady 150mb all the time? Am usually maxed out at 100mb (wifi) sitting right next to the router
    I get 178-180 Mbps at all times of day that I have checked, either WiFi or wired, through several walls & doors.

    If speedtest confirms you're getting ~180 to the house through the wire, it's very likely a hardware issue if you aren't getting that on your devices as well. A good router makes the biggest difference assuming your wireless devices can handle the speed.

  2. #462
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Airdrie
    My Ride
    '05 Cororra, '16 Rex
    Posts
    99
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by BensonTT
    Are you guys getting a steady 150mb all the time? Am usually maxed out at 100mb (wifi) sitting right next to the router
    Like others, I get ~175mbps consistently. Usually I can hit ~150mbps on AC WiFi if I'm close to the router. Sounds like you're using a separate router, are you sure the line going from the modem to the router is Cat5e or Cat6?

    In other news, my network issues have been resolved by the introduction of the Cisco 3848V, from what the tech told me when he brought it by, Shaw is re-introducing the unit to deal with issues caused by the Hitron.

  3. #463
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    1,547
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    If the hardware your using does not support gigabit networks you won't get anything faster than 100.

    I have a motherboard only capable of 10/100 and will never see full speeds on it.

  4. #464
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    20,890
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Originally posted by killramos
    Yea I have been able to get the 150 consistently. Got 75 on an Xbox live download the other day which was a nice boost from the previous 50 it seemed to be capped at. Just be a new bump.

    Again, ai use wired for everything.

    My iPhone seems to max out at ~50 on 2.4Ghz wifi. Stinks of a hardware limit.

    To be fair I doubt I would notice the difference practically between 100 and 150 unless I was starting at the download times on multiple devices.
    Ya it's nice that XB Live upped their single connection speed limit to 75. Wish they went unrestricted though.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  5. #465
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    2018 Subaru Crosstrek Limited
    Posts
    2,545
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by rage2

    Ya it's nice that XB Live upped their single connection speed limit to 75. Wish they went unrestricted though.
    Am I missing something? When I got my brand new xbox one slim, it was just days after I got 150mbps from Telus FTTH and went to download a game, and it was going at 125mbps grabbing it, 2 floors up from the router on AC. Snapped a pic to share with a friend at that time

    click for larger version
    » Click image for larger version

  6. #466
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    NE
    Posts
    440
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Hey guys, I am getting around 170mb on my computer (wired connection) but on my iPhone it always max out at around 80mb and I am sitting right next to the router. I have the Hitron modem bridged to a Linksys WRT1900ac wireless router. Is there a fix or thats the normal iPhone speed?

  7. #467
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,762
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Which iPhone? How old is it?

    Of note, my modem at home just dropped again. Goddamnit shaw.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  8. #468
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Civic Hatch ST
    Posts
    9,631
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Originally posted by BensonTT
    Hey guys, I am getting around 170mb on my computer (wired connection) but on my iPhone it always max out at around 80mb and I am sitting right next to the router. I have the Hitron modem bridged to a Linksys WRT1900ac wireless router. Is there a fix or thats the normal iPhone speed?
    What iPhone model is it, and are you connecting to the 5GHz band?

  9. #469
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Airdrie
    My Ride
    '05 Cororra, '16 Rex
    Posts
    99
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by LilDrunkenSmurf
    Which iPhone? How old is it?

    Of note, my modem at home just dropped again. Goddamnit shaw.
    Bitch and moan at them for a discount and for the Cisco. I've gone through four Hitron units.

  10. #470
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,762
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Yeah, I think it's time to call them. I just assumed that it was the issue a few others have reported in here, but it's very frustrating, and seems to happen at odd times (3am, 5am, 8am, 3pm).

    If it was consistent with a certain window, that'd be fine. I could accommodate something that way.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  11. #471
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    20,890
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Originally posted by eblend
    Am I missing something? When I got my brand new xbox one slim, it was just days after I got 150mbps from Telus FTTH and went to download a game, and it was going at 125mbps grabbing it, 2 floors up from the router on AC. Snapped a pic to share with a friend at that time

    click for larger version
    » Click image for larger version
    Maybe I'm missing something haha. Generally, my downloads via XB1 are capped on a single connection to 75mbps, although at times random downloads hit much faster rates. I should check the XB1 speed reading, I'm pulling my metrics from my network scanner.

    I do have 2 XB1's, so when they are both downloading, they're both doing 75 each.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  12. #472
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    NE
    Posts
    440
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Its an iPhone 6 connected to 5ghz

  13. #473
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Technically the NE
    My Ride
    C63S + AT4
    Posts
    4,130
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Originally posted by rage2

    Maybe I'm missing something haha. Generally, my downloads via XB1 are capped on a single connection to 75mbps, although at times random downloads hit much faster rates. I should check the XB1 speed reading, I'm pulling my metrics from my network scanner.

    I do have 2 XB1's, so when they are both downloading, they're both doing 75 each.
    When I was doing this download it was consistently somewhere between 75 and 80 on the Xbox, when i checked the WAN on my router it was sitting at around 80.

    Maybe the original XB1's are 10/100 and the slims are gigabit
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  14. #474
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,762
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Originally posted by BensonTT
    Its an iPhone 6 connected to 5ghz
    Odd. You're 100% sure you're connected to the 5GHz N network?
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  15. #475
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    NE
    Posts
    440
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by LilDrunkenSmurf


    Odd. You're 100% sure you're connected to the 5GHz N network?
    Ye! 100% sure lol

  16. #476
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Technically the NE
    My Ride
    C63S + AT4
    Posts
    4,130
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    This is reminding me of a conversation I had in a bar with a buddy of mine a couple weeks ago.

    He was bragging to me about how his new place in Evanston has a new "5G Wifi" that is only available in certain parts of the city and was convinced it would let him download things from his 15 mbps shaw connection faster. The shaw guy told him to connect the one "5G" SSID and it would increase his download speeds. He was just connecting to 5Ghz instead of 2.4Ghz.



    He was convinced this would let him download things faster than my 150mbps wired connection

    No matter how much I tried to explain to him the difference between LAN and Internet he didn't get it
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  17. #477
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Civic Hatch ST
    Posts
    9,631
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Originally posted by BensonTT


    Ye! 100% sure lol
    Then it's most likely either your router not performing to spec (interference or defective somehow) or something isn't working as it should in the iPhone. If you are on a 5G channel though there should be virtually no interference as they aren't crowded.

  18. #478
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    NE
    Posts
    440
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by Mitsu3000gt


    Then it's most likely either your router not performing to spec (interference or defective somehow) or something isn't working as it should in the iPhone. If you are on a 5G channel though there should be virtually no interference as they aren't crowded.
    I just went and bought a new wireless router and everything seems to be running very well now.. Thanks for your input guys

  19. #479
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    403
    My Ride
    4Runner Trail Edition
    Posts
    1,385
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Originally posted by BensonTT


    I just went and bought a new wireless router and everything seems to be running very well now.. Thanks for your input guys
    Just out of curiosity, what router did you end up getting?

  20. #480
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    NE
    Posts
    440
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by Kaos
    Just out of curiosity, what router did you end up getting?
    http://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX59865

Page 24 of 32 FirstFirst ... 14 23 24 25 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Corvette ZR1 Launch Control vs Porsche 911 Turbo S Launch Control

    By trev0006 in forum Cars, Bikes, Machines
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 06-16-2011, 06:00 PM
  2. any SHAW internet experts here? HORRIBLE SHAW INTERNET

    By thetransporter in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 13
    Latest Threads: 10-23-2009, 01:18 PM
  3. Shaw internet usage? ALSO: SHAW bumps download speed.

    By old&slow in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 211
    Latest Threads: 03-30-2009, 07:46 PM
  4. Shaw Internet or Telus Internet?!?!

    By phubu in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 61
    Latest Threads: 06-15-2008, 07:54 PM
  5. WTB: Shaw HD cablebox or PVR and Shaw internet Modem

    By Hanzo in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 04-07-2008, 08:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •