Quantcast
Apple Thread - Page 149 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 149 of 156 FirstFirst ... 139 148 149 150 ... LastLast
Results 2,961 to 2,980 of 3114

Thread: Apple Thread

  1. #2961
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,084
    Rep Power
    48

    Default

    For LR Classic, I just drag the photos I need in a "Import" folder in iCloud Drive and import. It's duplicated, but I can easily delete and recopy the originals in there if I need the space. The only bad thing about this is that it uses the "edited" photos and not the originals if you've edited them.

    The other way, is to download the entire library in Photos, then import the whole shebang from the folder where Photos stores the files. It's a little excessive if you have a massive 800gb library like me haha. But I believe those pick up the original images without any edits in Photos.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  2. #2962
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    rally pig
    Posts
    2,377
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    ^that's too much work haha.

    thinking back, I dont recall ever processing iphone photos on a PC or Lightroom, just IOS apps or imovie so us moving all our camera photos to iCloud makes sense.

    might just upgrade our old ipad or MBA with M chip so that I can process it on a bigger screen, assuming I can use VSCO or Darkroom IOS app on BigSur

    iCloud also detected some duplicates while uploading from a pc to iCloud browser, so will save me some time cleaning them up later on
    Last edited by taemo; 12-13-2020 at 11:47 AM.

  3. #2963
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    calgary / alberta
    My Ride
    VW R32 Turbo
    Posts
    665
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Went to Chinook Centre, to do an AppleCare+ swap to my screen broken, iPad Pro.... and of course they didn't have any of my exact iPad Pro 11", in inventory. The fella there said, here just go to apple.ca and do an Express Device Replacement.

    https://support.apple.com/en-ca/ipad...ss-replacement ---> click on "Start an express service" and it'll just take you back to the service loop.

    Idiots, they removed it. So after calling in, and being on hold, got it sorted.
    Originally posted by sputnik
    Cell providers are the next Blockbuster video stores.

  4. #2964
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Literally Nothing
    Posts
    6,030
    Rep Power
    44

    Default

    I’ve been trying to find an 8th gen iPad for my dad to watch movies on while travelling for weeks (looking for a 128gb that isn’t rose gold).

    What a pain in the ass, finally found on at Best Buy online this morning. Hopefully arrives before Christmas.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  5. #2965
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Grimace
    Posts
    6,648
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Apple fitness is out today with the update to ios/watchos/tvos. Just waiting for my apple watch trial to appear so I can try it out.

  6. #2966
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,084
    Rep Power
    48

    Default

    Zoom optimized for Apple Silicon came out today. Decided to steal my kid's MBA M1 to do a long zoom call.

    After 2 hours, I lost 9% battery hour 1, 7% battery hour 2, with an estimated remaining run time of 8:30. I don't have the patience to go through another 8+ hours, but safe to say the MBA, not even the MBP can do 10 hrs of zoom on battery without any issues.

    CPU wise, zoom ate up 50% CPU of 1 core, had my usual stuff running, total CPU usage hovered at 8% user, 4% system, 88% idle for the whole 2 hours.

    Yea, this shit is cray.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  7. #2967
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Edmonton/Calgary
    My Ride
    Benzo
    Posts
    4,493
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    So annoyed right now. My 3 year old MacBook Pro with retina and touch ID bar just died. Used it perfectly fine without issues yesterday morning and it wouldn't boot or turn on in the evening. Even after being plugged in all night. Took it to Apple and apparently some major part is fucked and it's $850 to repair it.

    Even worse is the fact that my data will be lost if I go ahead with the repair and I hadn't backed it up at all in quite some time. My mistake for thinking Mac's are robust after my last MacBook Pro lasted me 10 years.

    Going to try and find independent shops to see if my data can be recovered before I decide to do go ahead with any repairs. Also based on cost contemplating just getting a new one and interesting to see the prices have gone up yet again to $1699 for the cheapest ones.

    Fuckin Apple.

  8. #2968
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Not Aspen
    My Ride
    ferd furkus rs
    Posts
    3,572
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    I’ve got a 2019 13” quad core mbp with 256gb ssd I’d let go for $1000

  9. #2969
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,084
    Rep Power
    48

    Default

    Just buy a base MacBook Air from the education store. $1169 I think. It’ll run circles around your MacBook Pro. I’ve been sharing the Air with my kids and it makes my pre M1 pro feel like it’s 5x slower.

    And when you do, just sync everything to the cloud and save everything you want in the cloud in documents. Literally sign in, reinstall apps, and you’re good to go. I stopped backing up our Macs last year transitioning everyone to the cloud.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  10. #2970
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Edmonton/Calgary
    My Ride
    Benzo
    Posts
    4,493
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eglove View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I’ve got a 2019 13” quad core mbp with 256gb ssd I’d let go for $1000
    Thanks I will think about it but I am most likely leaning towards just purchasing a new one.

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Just buy a base MacBook Air from the education store. $1169 I think. It’ll run circles around your MacBook Pro. I’ve been sharing the Air with my kids and it makes my pre M1 pro feel like it’s 5x slower.

    And when you do, just sync everything to the cloud and save everything you want in the cloud in documents. Literally sign in, reinstall apps, and you’re good to go. I stopped backing up our Macs last year transitioning everyone to the cloud.
    Exacrtly what I was thinking but since I need one pronto I can't seem to see any stock of the Air with 256GB available any time soon. The 512GB is available but that's 1649 and MBP is 1699, so I am thinking why not just get the MBP.

    Also, how can I buy from Education store? Don't I need to be in university or at least known someone who is?

  11. #2971
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,084
    Rep Power
    48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shakalaka View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Exacrtly what I was thinking but since I need one pronto I can't seem to see any stock of the Air with 256GB available any time soon. The 512GB is available but that's 1649 and MBP is 1699, so I am thinking why not just get the MBP.

    Also, how can I buy from Education store? Don't I need to be in university or at least known someone who is?
    Depends if you like the touch bar. Anyways I’m store stock replenishes every day or 2. Just check mid day make sure it’s in stock before ordering.

    There’s no ID checks for edu store. Buy from the site, choose in store pickup (make sure in stock first) and just pick it up curbside or whatever.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  12. #2972
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Edmonton/Calgary
    My Ride
    Benzo
    Posts
    4,493
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Depends if you like the touch bar. Anyways I’m store stock replenishes every day or 2. Just check mid day make sure it’s in stock before ordering.

    There’s no ID checks for edu store. Buy from the site, choose in store pickup (make sure in stock first) and just pick it up curbside or whatever.
    Great. Will check tomorrow. Was about to purchase and schedule a pickup for a MBP but would prefer Air tbh. Never used the touch bar in my old on either. Hopefully by tomorrow afternoon they will have something. As for education pricing just figured the wife's new job technically puts her under the 'employee of a K12 public or private institution' so I'd be good to buy it anyway.

  13. #2973
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Literally Nothing
    Posts
    6,030
    Rep Power
    44

    Default

    Pro tip. You can create a Siri shortcut to check stock at every store in the province. Saves some clicking.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  14. #2974
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    '18 Murano
    Posts
    525
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Penguin View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Hmm I have an 8Plus...
    Can confirm, seems to be an 8Plus issue.
    Upgraded to a 12Pro, Carplay is 100% better.

  15. #2975
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Canuckistan
    My Ride
    Exploded.
    Posts
    7,085
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Is there a way to disable notifications for the MS Office apps on the weekend or off work hours? I tried the Downtime function on my iPhone but I have to add all the apps on the allow list and for some reason I can’t add Safari on it. Is there a block list to just add work apps?


    Quote Originally Posted by Buster View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    The benefit of masks is not known at this time. But we do know it is some non-trivial amount more than zero.

    We also know that the cost of mask use is, essentially, zero.

    So the cost:benefit of mask use is approaching infinity. I'll take that every time. And every time I see someone without a mask, I think they are stupid.

  16. #2976
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cochrane, AB
    Posts
    1,872
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Im finalizing my transition from Android to Apple with replacing my Chromecast Audio's. Going to go with an Raspberry Pi, DAC, and a purpose built version of linux. Will act as a receiver for airplay to plug into already existing amplified "dumb" 2.1 setups i had around the house. Should cost me about $60 per. Ill post an update once the parts arrive and i get into it.

  17. #2977
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    FB6
    Posts
    714
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spike98 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Im finalizing my transition from Android to Apple with replacing my Chromecast Audio's. Going to go with an Raspberry Pi, DAC, and a purpose built version of linux. Will act as a receiver for airplay to plug into already existing amplified "dumb" 2.1 setups i had around the house. Should cost me about $60 per. Ill post an update once the parts arrive and i get into it.
    Looking forward to your update on this, I currently have Airport expresses set up to do that but if they die I'll need a replacement.

  18. #2978
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    GLC43
    Posts
    8,507
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spike98 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Im finalizing my transition from Android to Apple with replacing my Chromecast Audio's. Going to go with an Raspberry Pi, DAC, and a purpose built version of linux. Will act as a receiver for airplay to plug into already existing amplified "dumb" 2.1 setups i had around the house. Should cost me about $60 per. Ill post an update once the parts arrive and i get into it.
    Will google apps still support chromecast under iOS? Pondering this switch as well on the next iPhone release.

  19. #2979
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cochrane, AB
    Posts
    1,872
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Xtrema View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Will google apps still support chromecast under iOS? Pondering this switch as well on the next iPhone release.
    I am not sure if they plan on changing it but I know i can still cast from apps in iOS to chromecast. Audio apps like spotify work well also. My issue is Apple Music. It will not cast to anything but airplay and i am done with Spotify and making the switch which is why i want a airplay "reciever".

  20. #2980
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Blackfalds aka north RD, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    1,083
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    How come I can't pay using my watch or phone at the gas pumps at Petro-Canada? I tried with the watch first. Dbl clicked the side button and brought my CC up, held it to the reader but the watch gave me an error and the pump went all wacky. Had them reset the pump and I tried it again with my phone but same thing happened.
    I'm just a regular Joe, with a regular job
    I'm your average white suburbanite slob

Page 149 of 156 FirstFirst ... 139 148 149 150 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FS- Kensington travel plug adaptor, Apple keyboard/mouse, Apple Powerbook plug

    By RawB8figure in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 7
    Latest Threads: 12-12-2007, 10:58 PM
  2. FS: Latest 15 inch Apple Powerbook, w/Apple Care 2gigs of ram - $1400

    By overjoyed in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 03-03-2007, 02:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •