Quantcast
Apple Thread - Page 138 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 138 of 156 FirstFirst ... 128 137 138 139 148 ... LastLast
Results 2,741 to 2,760 of 3115

Thread: Apple Thread

  1. #2741
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Grimace
    Posts
    6,654
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Costco has airpods pro instore and online currently for $269 for those that want to throw the dice....Applecare is only $30 from costco though so good deal overall.

  2. #2742
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Blackfalds aka north RD, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    1,084
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Thinking of getting an Apple Watch. Would I miss anything by not going with the LTE enabled models? Not sure if I really need the LTE capability.
    I'm just a regular Joe, with a regular job
    I'm your average white suburbanite slob

  3. #2743
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    My Ride
    2019 F-150
    Posts
    1,271
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 16hypen3sp View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Thinking of getting an Apple Watch. Would I miss anything by not going with the LTE enabled models? Not sure if I really need the LTE capability.
    If your phone is always with you there no need
    E .∑ ` ' / ∑. F
    Your tears fuel me

  4. #2744
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,062
    Rep Power
    44

    Default

    Itís also not free if that matters to you. Going rate is $10/mo for the privilege of sharing your data, if your provider even allows it on your plan.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  5. #2745
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Blackfalds aka north RD, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    1,084
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    ^^ Thanks. Yah killramos, figured as such. Thanks for the heads up. SE or 3?
    I'm just a regular Joe, with a regular job
    I'm your average white suburbanite slob

  6. #2746
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    '18 Murano
    Posts
    525
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Does anyone have a reliably working Apple Carplay? Mine is a steaming pile. Mrs. Penguin's, not much better. Both are 2018 Nissan vehicles.
    Have tried a ton of different cables, still, flakey A.F. Same cables can charge, transfer data from phone to computer without issue.
    I cleaned the lighting connector on the phone under a microscope and cleaned the USB connector in the car. Even used deoxit. No help.
    Friggin annoying.

  7. #2747
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    My Ride
    2019 F-150
    Posts
    1,271
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Carplay is solid on my F150 haven’t had an issue. It was mostly good on my Cadillac and works good on my wife’s Toyota.

    I did have nightmares with CarPlay back when I had my iPhone 8 however. That phone never worked for shot with CarPlay.
    E .∑ ` ' / ∑. F
    Your tears fuel me

  8. #2748
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,062
    Rep Power
    44

    Default

    CarPlay works easily 98% in my Lexus and my GMC. ALSO great on my alpine head unit in my jeep.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  9. #2749
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Grimace
    Posts
    6,654
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 16hypen3sp View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    ^^ Thanks. Yah killramos, figured as such. Thanks for the heads up. SE or 3?
    I would say SE as it has a two year near processor and also larger display. Not sure if you could find anywhere that would be clearing out the series 5, when I looked the discounts were pretty terrible so I ended up with a nike series 6.


    My car play works great on vw or merc from trying so far. I'm just using amazonbasics cables

    Got my airpods pro and they are excellent. Now fully on the bandwagon. Only issue so far is how horrible notifications are on ios compared to android also music organization on apple music is way worse than spotify but saving so much money with all these trials.

  10. #2750
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    FB6
    Posts
    714
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Penguin View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Does anyone have a reliably working Apple Carplay?
    Yea, I use it everyday with my iPhone 7 and our 2020 Honda Fit. I couldnít get it to work reliably even with nicer aftermarket cables, had to resort back to the original Apple cable and I would say it works 99% of the time.

  11. #2751
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,091
    Rep Power
    48

    Default

    Carplay has been flawless for me. I’ve used it on tons of cars back when I was traveling and renting.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  12. #2752
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,062
    Rep Power
    44

    Default

    Anther boon for CarPlay, Apples new gen maps are FINALLY in Canada.

    Dunno if they are up to par with google maps yet, but if they are that’s a big plus with the deeper iOS integrations maps has.

    https://www.autoevolution.com/news/n...oo-151541.html

    Edit:

    While this article says it’s live, taking a look I’m not convinced.
    Last edited by killramos; 11-16-2020 at 08:34 AM.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  13. #2753
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cochrane, AB
    Posts
    1,873
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    It’s also not free if that matters to you. Going rate is $10/mo for the privilege of sharing your data, if your provider even allows it on your plan.
    I only pay $5 to add it to a shared data plan. I love the cellular apple watch. Especially in the gym. I can leave my phone in my locker and still remain connected if need be. Also nice if i forget my phone in the car when i run into a store/the mall ect.

    Really, is it necessary? No. But i love the features for the small price.

  14. #2754
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,062
    Rep Power
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spike98 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I only pay $5 to add it to a shared data plan. I love the cellular apple watch. Especially in the gym. I can leave my phone in my locker and still remain connected if need be. Also nice if i forget my phone in the car when i run into a store/the mall ect.

    Really, is it necessary? No. But i love the features for the small price.
    Gyms don’t have Wifi?

    I’m sure anything is available cheaper on promo’s, but for the big 3 going rate to go from a regular plan to one that allows extra devices. $10/mo

    Telus example
    https://www.telus.com/en/mobility/co...e=ge-mobilenav

    If you are on a super gravy promo plan currently, probably not as cheap to switch to a connected plan as you might think without waiting for another promo, if existing customers are even eligible.
    Last edited by killramos; 11-16-2020 at 09:26 AM.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  15. #2755
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    10,195
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Penguin View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Does anyone have a reliably working Apple Carplay? Mine is a steaming pile. Mrs. Penguin's, not much better. Both are 2018 Nissan vehicles.
    Have tried a ton of different cables, still, flakey A.F. Same cables can charge, transfer data from phone to computer without issue.
    I cleaned the lighting connector on the phone under a microscope and cleaned the USB connector in the car. Even used deoxit. No help.
    Friggin annoying.
    Might be a Nissan thing. We had a rental Sentra back in September and CarPlay was a nightmare to get working. Cable was an Anker Powerline II. Worked OK in a Toyota and Suzuki rentals other than being laggy and locking us out of multi tasking.

  16. #2756
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    '18 Murano
    Posts
    525
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kavy View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Carplay is solid on my F150 haven’t had an issue. It was mostly good on my Cadillac and works good on my wife’s Toyota.

    I did have nightmares with CarPlay back when I had my iPhone 8 however. That phone never worked for shot with CarPlay.
    Hmm I have an 8Plus...

  17. #2757
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Grimace
    Posts
    6,654
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Anther boon for CarPlay, Apples new gen maps are FINALLY in Canada.

    Dunno if they are up to par with google maps yet, but if they are that’s a big plus with the deeper iOS integrations maps has.

    https://www.autoevolution.com/news/n...oo-151541.html

    Edit:

    While this article says it’s live, taking a look I’m not convinced.
    I don't believe I have seen it yet on mine, sounds like it is a staged rollout. I do wish waze worked with the dashboard view as it is my favorite routing.

    Trying to use apple maps a bit instead of google but why yelp, I'm not downloading that.

  18. #2758
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    '18 Murano
    Posts
    525
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schocker View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I don't believe I have seen it yet on mine, sounds like it is a staged rollout. I do wish waze worked with the dashboard view as it is my favorite routing.
    Waze has worked for quite a while now.

  19. #2759
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,091
    Rep Power
    48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Penguin View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Waze has worked for quite a while now.
    This. I’ve been using google maps in dashboard view for a while now.

    It’s funny, I’ve relied on carplay so much that I feel like my next car is going to be based on carplay experience. Mercedes was widescreen carplay but no touchscreen, and the new Mercedes are touchscreen but got rid of widescreen. BMWs have widescreen touchscreen and it’s glorious.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  20. #2760
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cochrane, AB
    Posts
    1,873
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Gyms don’t have Wifi?

    I’m sure anything is available cheaper on promo’s, but for the big 3 going rate to go from a regular plan to one that allows extra devices. $10/mo

    Telus example
    https://www.telus.com/en/mobility/co...e=ge-mobilenav

    If you are on a super gravy promo plan currently, probably not as cheap to switch to a connected plan as you might think without waiting for another promo, if existing customers are even eligible.
    Lots of gyms have wifi, my current gym has a ToC portal. Tough to do on a watch. Plus no wifi biking or jogging. Of course i can take my phone, but that isn't the point. Like i said, its totally overkill but entirely worth it for the $5 i spend adding it to my shared data plan. Which you would find is very common if you call in and talk to a CSR.

Page 138 of 156 FirstFirst ... 128 137 138 139 148 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FS- Kensington travel plug adaptor, Apple keyboard/mouse, Apple Powerbook plug

    By RawB8figure in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 7
    Latest Threads: 12-12-2007, 10:58 PM
  2. FS: Latest 15 inch Apple Powerbook, w/Apple Care 2gigs of ram - $1400

    By overjoyed in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 03-03-2007, 02:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •