Quantcast
Nexus card processing time. - Page 5 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 4 5
Results 81 to 97 of 97

Thread: Nexus card processing time.

  1. #81
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    IAH bar and UA6295
    My Ride
    100% SAVAGE
    Posts
    6,244
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    Reason I want mine is the faster security line. The customs lines don't seem bad.
    Double-meat sub dreams.
    Public Mobile referral code: 88M4Y9
    Smiles for free: https://forums.beyond.ca/threads/411...something-nice

  2. #82
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Technically the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    4,222
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ExtraSlow View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Reason I want mine is the faster security line. The customs lines don't seem bad.
    Valid in the US, the TSA PreCheck is definitely nice to have.

    Canada however, I’ve never experienced the nexus security line to be open in YYC. Regardless of how busy it is. The whole program seems great in theory but it’s a mess in practice.

    Unless it gets way better I doubt I bother renewing, it was many more hours of up front hassle than it ever saved me.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  3. #83
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    IAH bar and UA6295
    My Ride
    100% SAVAGE
    Posts
    6,244
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    I stare at the empty TSApre line in OKC for like 25 minutes far too often.
    Double-meat sub dreams.
    Public Mobile referral code: 88M4Y9
    Smiles for free: https://forums.beyond.ca/threads/411...something-nice

  4. #84
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Technically the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    4,222
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Should be disclosed that Nexus does not guarantee you precheck, it still sometimes makes you go the other way. It’s all done in a black box by the computer.

    They also often spit out precheck for normal people too. People just don’t often look at their boarding passes.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  5. #85
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    20,975
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Valid in the US, the TSA PreCheck is definitely nice to have.

    Canada however, I’ve never experienced the nexus security line to be open in YYC. Regardless of how busy it is. The whole program seems great in theory but it’s a mess in practice.

    Unless it gets way better I doubt I bother renewing, it was many more hours of up front hassle than it ever saved me.
    YVR, Nexus is always faster. Fucking Chinese people dunno WTF they're doing on the machines holding up the normal line.

    YYC, roughly the same, but nice not having to talk to anyone at all with Nexus. YYC is the same because the non Nexus line is that good. I'm typically off the plane first, so I zip through and out the door and into a sedan before the plebs even make it to the machines.

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Should be disclosed that Nexus does not guarantee you precheck, it still sometimes makes you go the other way. It’s all done in a black box by the computer.

    They also often spit out precheck for normal people too. People just don’t often look at their boarding passes.
    I've never had this. You have to fill in your nexus ID at the time of booking the tickets to get access to pre-check, or call airline to get the info in there prior to check-in. Guaranteed every single time.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  6. #86
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    IAH bar and UA6295
    My Ride
    100% SAVAGE
    Posts
    6,244
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    Nexus plus business class is a winning combo.
    Double-meat sub dreams.
    Public Mobile referral code: 88M4Y9
    Smiles for free: https://forums.beyond.ca/threads/411...something-nice

  7. #87
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Unemployment Line
    My Ride
    Sierra, RDX
    Posts
    2,671
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by phreezee View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I thought I'd be a keener and applied for my renewal in June and it still hasn't been approved. Expires in January, so I guess I'll check in the new year.
    Sure you filled everything out right and paid? I just did mine last month and had my approval and new card in just over two weeks.
    See Crank. See Crank Walk. Walk Crank Walk.

  8. #88
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Okotoks North
    Posts
    3,821
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I've never had this. You have to fill in your nexus ID at the time of booking the tickets to get access to pre-check, or call airline to get the info in there prior to check-in. Guaranteed every single time.
    It's not guaranteed, even with nexus you can get the dreaded SSSS on your boarding pass.
    ---

  9. #89
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    20,975
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenny View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    It's not guaranteed, even with nexus you can get the dreaded SSSS on your boarding pass.
    Oh right, serves you right for lying at the border 20 years ago.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  10. #90
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Fiesta ST
    Posts
    793
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Valid in the US, the TSA PreCheck is definitely nice to have.

    Canada however, I’ve never experienced the nexus security line to be open in YYC. Regardless of how busy it is. The whole program seems great in theory but it’s a mess in practice.

    Unless it gets way better I doubt I bother renewing, it was many more hours of up front hassle than it ever saved me.
    Does the international terminal even have a Nexus line? When it opened they didn't and blamed it on their high speed baggage scanners not being able to differentiate between the two or some shit.

    I've rarely if ever used the Nexus line. Even domestic the lines at YYC are super short and kinda pointless.

    That being said anytime I go to Chicago it pays for itself in one trip. Sometimes their security line is 2+ hours at peak times. Fuck that.
    Nolan

  11. #91
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    20,975
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pheoxs View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Does the international terminal even have a Nexus line? When it opened they didn't and blamed it on their high speed baggage scanners not being able to differentiate between the two or some shit.

    I've rarely if ever used the Nexus line. Even domestic the lines at YYC are super short and kinda pointless.

    That being said anytime I go to Chicago it pays for itself in one trip. Sometimes their security line is 2+ hours at peak times. Fuck that.
    International and US International arrivals feed into the same Customs point with Nexus scanners. No baggage scanning there.

    International departure has no customs, you enter no different than domestic. Customs is handled at the destination.

    International US departure has their pre-clearance zone, with Nexus machines.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  12. #92
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    My Ride
    2015 CLS63 AMG S-Model Coupe
    Posts
    680
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    For those of you mentioning Nexus line closures... You know we are allowed to use cabin/crew security if Nexus lines are closed right?

    FYI, I've never done it, I didn't even know where the cabin/crew security line was at YYC until my last visit and noticed some weird doors half-opened randomly in the hall with a sign "Cabin/Crew Security".
    Sig was pwned by Moderator!

  13. #93
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Fiesta ST
    Posts
    793
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    International and US International arrivals feed into the same Customs point with Nexus scanners. No baggage scanning there.

    International departure has no customs, you enter no different than domestic. Customs is handled at the destination.

    International US departure has their pre-clearance zone, with Nexus machines.
    Ahh, I meant international departures but through the security lines. I remember having nexus machines for the customs part but the actual xray scanners and such I was always in the pleb lineup.

    All I really care about is the xray/baggage check line going faster so I can go to the bar sooner
    Nolan

  14. #94
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Protege 5 Turbo / Ecoboost FX4
    Posts
    1,125
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zhariak View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    For those of you mentioning Nexus line closures... You know we are allowed to use cabin/crew security if Nexus lines are closed right?

    FYI, I've never done it, I didn't even know where the cabin/crew security line was at YYC until my last visit and noticed some weird doors half-opened randomly in the hall with a sign "Cabin/Crew Security".
    I think you're referring to the crew security bypass, which you can NOT use unless you are uniformed flight crew. If you're talking about the lineup in customs which is for foreign aircrew and handicapped people, I'm not positive that you can but maybe they'll let you if you try?

  15. #95
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Technically the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    4,222
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zhariak View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    For those of you mentioning Nexus line closures... You know we are allowed to use cabin/crew security if Nexus lines are closed right?

    FYI, I've never done it, I didn't even know where the cabin/crew security line was at YYC until my last visit and noticed some weird doors half-opened randomly in the hall with a sign "Cabin/Crew Security".
    This is not a thing. Maybe they let you use it because nexus is a joke.But it’s nowhere near an obligation with Nexus.

    #morenexusfakenews
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  16. #96
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    My Ride
    2015 CLS63 AMG S-Model Coupe
    Posts
    680
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    This is not a thing. Maybe they let you use it because nexus is a joke.But it’s nowhere near an obligation with Nexus.

    #morenexusfakenews
    Quote Originally Posted by Maxx Mazda View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I think you're referring to the crew security bypass, which you can NOT use unless you are uniformed flight crew. If you're talking about the lineup in customs which is for foreign aircrew and handicapped people, I'm not positive that you can but maybe they'll let you if you try?

    I'm gonna see if I can find the document. I'll report back in a bit.

    Apologies in advance if that wasn't true.

    EDIT/ADDITION: Ok, so my near photographic memory isn't as sharp as I thought it was... This is actually what I read:

    If the NEXUS kiosk is closed, NEXUS members must use the special services counter or crew counter, or they can opt to use a passport for regular processing at a Primary Inspection Kiosk.
    Source: https://www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/prog/nexus/rec-eng.html

    So yea, we're hooped if the nexus line is closed, lol.
    Last edited by Zhariak; 11-08-2019 at 06:15 PM.
    Sig was pwned by Moderator!

  17. #97
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Technically the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    4,222
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    I would be very intereted to see it.

    Last time I went though nexus the people manning it had no clue what was what going on. Mid day. No excuses.

    I got yelled at for literally following instructions when the machines weren’t working. It was great.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 4 5

Similar Threads

  1. New Nexus Devices (Nexus 4, Nexus 7, Nexus 10)

    By ajooo in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 1356
    Latest Threads: 12-02-2013, 05:13 PM
  2. best software for post processing noob

    By ExtraSlow in forum Photographer's Corner
    Replies: 6
    Latest Threads: 10-14-2008, 07:37 PM
  3. Post processing tips

    By rage2 in forum Photographer's Corner
    Replies: 13
    Latest Threads: 06-19-2006, 04:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •