Quantcast
TELUS fibre (FTTH) - Page 9 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 9 of 19 FirstFirst ... 8 9 10 ... LastLast
Results 161 to 180 of 365

Thread: TELUS fibre (FTTH)

  1. #161
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    N/A
    My Ride
    is a fancied up Bow tie.
    Posts
    2,983
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Mine is optic all the way to the ONT which on a shelf on a wall about 10 feet from the entrance point into our home. The TELUS tech probably would've pulled the fiber to any point in that furnace/utility room.

  2. #162
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    GLA
    Posts
    2,104
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by speedog View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Mine is optic all the way to the ONT which on a shelf on a wall about 10 feet from the entrance point into our home. The TELUS tech probably would've pulled the fiber to any point in that furnace/utility room.
    nice! Thanks. Is it an open run? My basement is finished, although there is room above the ceiling to run cable/conduit and you can see above the finished ceilings from the mechanical room. How much effort do the Telus guys put into fishing cable inside your house?

  3. #163
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Okotoks North
    Posts
    3,828
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Buster View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I'm not sold on Optik yet. We haven't had TV in 5 years, and I don't miss it with a good plex server and Sonarr. I do use my dad's login for TSN and Sportsnet, so that helps.

    As for fibre: the point of entry into my house for all of the utilities is not my main utility room, which is in the middle of my basement floorplan, not along an exterior wall. When the fibre comes to your house, is there a termination that they then route internally with a separate cable to where your equipment is?
    My fibre line was really long, there was a big wound up spool where it came in the house the installer could've installed the ONT anywhere in my basement, but terminated it just long enough to run directly into the ONT. Assuming this is standard practice to run a long line once it enters the premise, you should be able to install the ONT in your rack in the middle of the basement.
    ---

  4. #164
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    5,227
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    I’ve got maybe 6 extra feet of spool. I would also like to relocate my ONT elsewhere.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  5. #165
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    N/A
    My Ride
    is a fancied up Bow tie.
    Posts
    2,983
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Buster View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    nice! Thanks. Is it an open run? My basement is finished, although there is room above the ceiling to run cable/conduit and you can see above the finished ceilings from the mechanical room. How much effort do the Telus guys put into fishing cable inside your house?
    The fiber entrance into our home and where the ONT are is an open utility room. Easy peasy for the TELUS guy.

  6. #166
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    86
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I got them to terminate the fibre exactly where I wanted it in my utility room, but wasn't exactly a hard install for them. Got the SFP based ONT, immediately took it out of the Actiontec (which is now shelved) and plugged it into a Chelsio dual SFP+ card in my router. Works no problem in the Chelsio card but the PON SFP didn't work in an Intel SFP+ card so your mileage may vary with the UDM since not all SFP/SFP+ ports will support it.

    I use Shaw for TV so don't have any experience setting up the IGMP side of things for Optik TV.

  7. #167
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    GLA
    Posts
    2,104
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    I wonder what the limits of their interest in fishing through a finished basement is.

  8. #168
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Duplex city
    My Ride
    No longer Savage. :(
    Posts
    7,642
    Rep Power
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Buster View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I wonder what the limits of their interest in fishing through a finished basement is.
    Not sure, but they fished mine from my detached garage into my basement through whatever conduit was there, and the guy sweated that plenty. He swore there were extra corners.
    Make the world a radder place, grow a mullet.
    Public Mobile is the best, just like Phil Collins haggard face.

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Rural_Juror
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    no one gives maritimers shit for culturally appropriating donairs.

  9. #169
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Not Aspen
    My Ride
    Two from Freemont
    Posts
    9,205
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    There’s about 30ft of fibre from the side of the house to this spot in my utility room. Then I was left with what looks to be another 20-25ft.

    6B648E5F-53AB-4CD8-BBE9-DCF9489E0EC2.jpg
    My Tesla referral link: https://ts.la/moon14483

  10. #170
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    N/A
    My Ride
    is a fancied up Bow tie.
    Posts
    2,983
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by benyl View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    There’s about 30ft of fibre from the side of the house to this spot in my utility room. Then I was left with what looks to be another 20-25ft.

    6B648E5F-53AB-4CD8-BBE9-DCF9489E0EC2.jpg
    The more loops you have, the faster it gets.

  11. #171
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Duplex city
    My Ride
    No longer Savage. :(
    Posts
    7,642
    Rep Power
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by speedog View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    The more loops you have, the faster it gets.
    It's like a cyclotron
    Make the world a radder place, grow a mullet.
    Public Mobile is the best, just like Phil Collins haggard face.

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Rural_Juror
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    no one gives maritimers shit for culturally appropriating donairs.

  12. #172
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    GLA
    Posts
    2,104
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    So they seem to be doing all of the digging for conduit, which I assume is the orange piping? Do they do that through the whole community before laying the actual fiber, or are they doing both at once? I'm trying to figure out the order of operations here, so I know what kind of timing to expect for installation.

    IMG_20200508_105250.jpgIMG_20200508_204638.jpg

    I also have this box on the side of the house for telco, which I've never used (AGT..haha).

    Do they generally run the fiber back up through that existing box, or put a new one on?

    IMG_20200510_145116.jpg

  13. #173
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    5,227
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    I think it’s funny that you have made the connection that those guys are Telus.

    You just be hurtin for some gigabit!
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  14. #174
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    GLA
    Posts
    2,104
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I think it’s funny that you have made the connection that those guys are Telus.

    You just be hurtin for some gigabit!
    I'm not sure waht you mean?

  15. #175
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    5,227
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Just that if I saw those trucks in my neighborhood they wouldn’t immediately be screening “Telus FTTH” to me. Haha
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  16. #176
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    GLA
    Posts
    2,104
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Just that if I saw those trucks in my neighborhood they wouldn’t immediately be screening “Telus FTTH” to me. Haha
    Except all of the equipment has giant "Telus Fibre" stickers on them, and there are big sandwich board signs coming into the community with the same, ha

  17. #177
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    5,227
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Buster View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Except all of the equipment has giant "Telus Fibre" stickers on them, and there are big sandwich board signs coming into the community with the same, ha
    Ahhhh, that wasn’t apparent from the picture. Here I pictured you creeping every construction project in the hood to see if it’s your new internet backhauls
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  18. #178
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2006 Nissan Titan
    Posts
    151
    Rep Power
    0

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by Buster View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    So they seem to be doing all of the digging for conduit, which I assume is the orange piping? Do they do that through the whole community before laying the actual fiber, or are they doing both at once? I'm trying to figure out the order of operations here, so I know what kind of timing to expect for installation.

    IMG_20200508_105250.jpgIMG_20200508_204638.jpg

    I also have this box on the side of the house for telco, which I've never used (AGT..haha).

    Do they generally run the fiber back up through that existing box, or put a new one on?

    IMG_20200510_145116.jpg
    Not sure how this will work exactly, but they will probably be pulling in the fiber after each area is pulled. It will take some time to splice everything after the duct/wire is pulled a couple/few months yet I imagine. Not sure how they deal with getting it directly to a house. I doubt the duct at your house runs all the way to the telus pedestal.

  19. #179
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    GLA
    Posts
    2,104
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Ahhhh, that wasn’t apparent from the picture. Here I pictured you creeping every construction project in the hood to see if it’s your new internet backhauls
    I'm not above that.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by arcticcat522 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Not sure how this will work exactly, but they will probably be pulling in the fiber after each area is pulled. It will take some time to splice everything after the duct/wire is pulled a couple/few months yet I imagine. Not sure how they deal with getting it directly to a house. I doubt the duct at your house runs all the way to the telus pedestal.
    I've got the Telus/AGT box on my lawn.

  20. #180
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    169
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Buster View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Okay, so it sounds like I can connect the Nokia GPON SFP directly into my new UDM Pro, bypassing the ONT and the telus hardware. I can then setup the UDM Pro for multicasting to get the Optik side of things running. I think (???) I can then just plug the Optik PVR into the routers switch (or maybe my main switch) and run ethernet to each of the TV locations to have optik working.

    Question is if I need to use the wireless TV boxes I'm not sure how I would use them? I think Telus supplies you with an AP if you ask, so I guess I would just have another wife floating through the house that is used exclusively by the Telus optik boxes?
    Where did you track down a UDM Pro? My order has been on backorder for two months now

Page 9 of 19 FirstFirst ... 8 9 10 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. TELUS Fibre Optic

    By 16hypen3sp in forum Home and Garden
    Replies: 46
    Latest Threads: 08-11-2014, 07:48 PM
  2. Shaw Fibre-to-the-Home (FTTH) Trial

    By ipeefreely in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 110
    Latest Threads: 08-31-2013, 05:41 PM
  3. What should be paying telus for fibre (at existing location)

    By thetransporter in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 14
    Latest Threads: 10-10-2012, 03:29 PM
  4. Telus or Shaw FTTH Fiber to Home Connector?

    By eblend in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Latest Threads: 03-01-2011, 12:05 PM
  5. TELUS will be providing new homes with FTTH

    By ipeefreely in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Latest Threads: 03-14-2010, 05:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •