Quantcast
TELUS fibre (FTTH) - Page 4 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 3 4
Results 61 to 70 of 70

Thread: TELUS fibre (FTTH)

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Stampede Central
    My Ride
    is easy to spot
    Posts
    1,716
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Kind of on topic, I think there were 2 guys that came to my door to sell this yesterday.

    I answered the door halfway through texting. They were very polite. Introduced themselves, showed me their badge, and saw me holding my phone. One guy asked me if I was busy and on a phone call, when I said yes, he politely told me he'd leave me alone and to have a great day.

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    rs4, ram, 675f3
    Posts
    1,161
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Well I thought my new house had fibre apparently I'm wrong. It's in lake chaparral on the west side of the community, how do I find out how soon it will be getting upgraded. Wife talked to telus and they said it's in the works. But didn't mention a time line.

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    387
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    some people say port 80 is open , is it true ?
    westnet speedtest ping me


  4. #64
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Sentra
    Posts
    1,471
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Originally posted by thetransporter
    some people say port 80 is open , is it true ?
    No. Why would they open that?

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    CGY
    Posts
    2,543
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    I'm getting the same upload speed now on the 100mb plan.

    XBL: Inocent Killa
    PSN: WarMachine_V2

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    387
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    its really throttled within telus network

    both homes have 150, speedtest does 170/up down

    i do a file transfer - tried different protocols the most it will do is 50mb average 30 .
    i start a second file transfer at the same time, global throughput is reduced..

    using gigabit NIC at both sites no wi-fi
    westnet speedtest ping me


  7. #67
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    231
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    What sort of deals are people getting from the door to door Telus guys?

    FTTH was finally available in my neighborhood last July after it was install 10 months or so earlier... I renewed my 2 year deal with Shaw in last June so I haven't been in a big rush to switch. They keep sending me things in the mail/email but the pricing isn't that great.


    2 Telus guys came to my door this afternoon to tell me about the "significant upgrades" that Telus made to my neighborhood.

    They offered Internet 150, basic tv 3 pack + 1 and phone for $125 -> $40 savings for 2 years and buying out my Shaw contract for $480 (I haven't checked if that's right).

    I asked about gigabit and after telling me I didn't need it ( ) it's about $195.

    They wanted me to switch right then and they didn't know when they be back for "one time deals". The one guy gave me his number in case I changed my mind.
    Originally posted by Xtrema
    ZenOps is like everyone's crazy uncle.
    Originally posted by DayGlow
    How do you respond to stupid?
    Originally posted by rage2
    Jesus fucking christ Rob Anders, learn to read your own links.
    Originally posted by Seth1968
    Zenops: Ok, but remember my dick is made of nickle.

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Calgarian Living in Edmonton
    My Ride
    93 240sx SE, 17 Q50S
    Posts
    6,120
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    They're doing installs in my area right now and I'm hesistant to give them authorization to do the installs. Looks like they drill a hole in my driveway and tunnel under it towards my house. My driveway is already pretty cracked up so I dont want them to do further damage.


    Those who got installs done, did they do a proper job landscaping and etc after fact?
    Originally posted by GTS Jeff
    You know those bored stay at home moms who's entire lives revolve around driving their kids to soccer, various cleaning accessories, and worrying about neighbourhood rapists? The kind of people that watch the View and go "uh huh..." Those unfulfilled people who try to fill the void in their empty lives by writing whiny letters to the editor complaining about shit that no one really cares about?

    Well imagine if instead of writing that letter to the editor, she just posts on a car forum for car enthusiasts. That's Kritafo.

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    TDi
    Posts
    1,342
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    I’m getting 750/750 for $80 on a 2 year installed next Monday.

    Not sure if my contact is willing to offer you the same, but it’s worth a shot. PM me for his information.
    GO FLAMES GO!

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    231
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dj_rice View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    They're doing installs in my area right now and I'm hesistant to give them authorization to do the installs. Looks like they drill a hole in my driveway and tunnel under it towards my house. My driveway is already pretty cracked up so I dont want them to do further damage.


    Those who got installs done, did they do a proper job landscaping and etc after fact?
    I wouldn’t want to be the only house in the neighbourhood without fiber!

    I live in an older area. It was an aerial install, so I don’t know much about their underground installations.

    I saw on the news a few years ago that got many complains about all the uncovered holes they were leaving in front of peoples homes but hopefully they’ve cleaned up their act after that!


    Quote Originally Posted by 403ep3 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I’m getting 750/750 for $80 on a 2 year installed next Monday.

    Not sure if my contact is willing to offer you the same, but it’s worth a shot. PM me for his information.
    Cool! Ya, that's the price range I was hoping for!
    Originally posted by Xtrema
    ZenOps is like everyone's crazy uncle.
    Originally posted by DayGlow
    How do you respond to stupid?
    Originally posted by rage2
    Jesus fucking christ Rob Anders, learn to read your own links.
    Originally posted by Seth1968
    Zenops: Ok, but remember my dick is made of nickle.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 3 4

Similar Threads

  1. TELUS Fibre Optic

    By 16hypen3sp in forum Home and Garden
    Replies: 46
    Latest Threads: 08-11-2014, 07:48 PM
  2. Shaw Fibre-to-the-Home (FTTH) Trial

    By ipeefreely in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 110
    Latest Threads: 08-31-2013, 05:41 PM
  3. What should be paying telus for fibre (at existing location)

    By thetransporter in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 14
    Latest Threads: 10-10-2012, 03:29 PM
  4. Telus or Shaw FTTH Fiber to Home Connector?

    By eblend in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Latest Threads: 03-01-2011, 12:05 PM
  5. TELUS will be providing new homes with FTTH

    By ipeefreely in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Latest Threads: 03-14-2010, 05:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •