Quantcast
TELUS fibre (FTTH) - Page 18 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 18 of 19 FirstFirst ... 8 17 18 19 LastLast
Results 341 to 360 of 365

Thread: TELUS fibre (FTTH)

  1. #341
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    N/A
    My Ride
    is a fancied up Bow tie.
    Posts
    3,000
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    What's your wired ping at? I'm assuming that the ping numbers you're providing are over wifi.

  2. #342
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    10,168
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    On WiFi my ping is 1ms and jitter is 1ms as reported by Speedtest.net. Wired the ping drops to zero usually.

  3. #343
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Blackfalds aka north RD, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    1,022
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Yes, these tests were done over Wifi.

    I just ran two wired tests. One on speedtest.net and the other on fusion connect.

    No change on the ping or jitter. 6 ping and 1 jitter. 776 down and 400 up.

    ping is much, much worse on fusion - 49.

    Edit: I got the ping to 5 by selecting 'single' connection but my download and upload speed fell off a cliff.
    Last edited by 16hypen3sp; 07-30-2020 at 02:37 PM.
    96 Ram 1500-Sold
    03 RSX-S-Sold
    03 350Z-Sold
    07 CBR 600RR-Sold
    11 Honda Fury-Sold
    14 CBR 1000RR-Sold
    14 Ram 1500-Current
    14 Optima LX-Sold
    15 Victory Highball-Current
    15 Genesis 3.8 Ultimate-Current
    18 Husky 701SM-Current

  4. #344
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    240
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 16hypen3sp View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Yes, these tests were done over Wifi.

    I just ran two wired tests. One on speedtest.net and the other on fusion connect.

    No change on the ping or jitter. 6 ping and 1 jitter. 776 down and 400 up.

    ping is much, much worse on fusion - 49.

    Edit: I got the ping to 5 by selecting 'single' connection but my download and upload speed fell off a cliff.

    Are you using Telus's router or your own?

    My laptop is connected with 2 switches between my router and I still get 2ms... not that it matters!
    Originally posted by Xtrema
    ZenOps is like everyone's crazy uncle.
    Originally posted by DayGlow
    How do you respond to stupid?
    Originally posted by rage2
    Jesus fucking christ Rob Anders, learn to read your own links.
    Originally posted by Seth1968
    Zenops: Ok, but remember my dick is made of nickle.

  5. #345
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Blackfalds aka north RD, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    1,022
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ipeefreely View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Are you using Telus's router or your own?

    My laptop is connected with 2 switches between my router and I still get 2ms... not that it matters!
    Telus modem/router combo. The white cylindrical looking model.
    96 Ram 1500-Sold
    03 RSX-S-Sold
    03 350Z-Sold
    07 CBR 600RR-Sold
    11 Honda Fury-Sold
    14 CBR 1000RR-Sold
    14 Ram 1500-Current
    14 Optima LX-Sold
    15 Victory Highball-Current
    15 Genesis 3.8 Ultimate-Current
    18 Husky 701SM-Current

  6. #346
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,836
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    As a Shaw customer, I've never seen a ping under 7sec.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  7. #347
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    21,608
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LilDrunkenSmurf View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    As a Shaw customer, I've never seen a ping under 7sec.
    I have.

    Screen Shot 2020-07-31 at 8.53.21 AM.png
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  8. #348
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,836
    Rep Power
    14

    Default



    I'm still on shaw 600..
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  9. #349
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    5,309
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Man. That upload is like a rounding error or something.

    What decade is it again?
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  10. #350
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Blackfalds aka north RD, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    1,022
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Running some more tests over wifi this morning.

    Ping = 6 / Down = 530 / Up = 350 / Distance = ~100 miles / Location and Server = Calgary TELUS Mobility.

    Ping = 10 / Down = 244 / Up = 301 / Distance = ~50 miles / Location and Server = Olds O-NET

    Ping = 10 / Down = 312 / Up = 287 / Distance = ~100 miles / Location and Server = Edmonton TELUS

    Ping = 13 / Down = 386 / Up = 231 / Distance = ~100 miles / Location and Server = Edmonton Switch Inc.


    Too bad there wasn't a server in Red Deer I could test with.
    96 Ram 1500-Sold
    03 RSX-S-Sold
    03 350Z-Sold
    07 CBR 600RR-Sold
    11 Honda Fury-Sold
    14 CBR 1000RR-Sold
    14 Ram 1500-Current
    14 Optima LX-Sold
    15 Victory Highball-Current
    15 Genesis 3.8 Ultimate-Current
    18 Husky 701SM-Current

  11. #351
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    21,608
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Man. That upload is like a rounding error or something.

    What decade is it again?
    The fuck can I do about that?

    Screen Shot 2020-07-31 at 9.25.45 AM.jpg

    Looks like Telus upgraded my area. I can get the new "Fastest" 50 option! It was 35 a couple months ago.

    It's funny, the gigabit thing is really just bragging rights. Same goes for upload. I never broke 10mbps upload at all, until my kids started a Youtube channel and holy shit is it painful now.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  12. #352
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    '10 CTS
    Posts
    504
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Does anyone know if/when Shaw will be upgrading their infrastructure (DOCSIS 4 maybe?) to facilitate faster upload?
    I don't need 600 up but 25 is a bit limiting.

  13. #353
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    5,309
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    The fuck can I do about that?

    Screen Shot 2020-07-31 at 9.25.45 AM.jpg

    Looks like Telus upgraded my area. I can get the new "Fastest" 50 option! It was 35 a couple months ago.

    It's funny, the gigabit thing is really just bragging rights. Same goes for upload. I never broke 10mbps upload at all, until my kids started a Youtube channel and holy shit is it painful now.
    You could move? Haha.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  14. #354
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,836
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    You could move? Haha.
    Aspen is full. I'm in Hawkwood, same issue/area as Rage2.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  15. #355
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    GLA
    Posts
    2,123
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Man. That upload is like a rounding error or something.

    What decade is it again?
    My Plex userbase keeps expanding.... I can't wait for fibre uploads

  16. #356
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Ford F150
    Posts
    3,364
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    Telus just left my house and it’s 750mbs average dl and 800mbs average ul

    Should I be calling and bitch

  17. #357
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    5,309
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sorath View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Telus just left my house and it’s 750mbs average dl and 800mbs average ul

    Should I be calling and bitch
    Make sure you upgrade your entire network to 10G first just in case.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  18. #358
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Ford F150
    Posts
    3,364
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    its enough for me but kinda lame to be paying for it and not getting advertised speeds. i am on hold now to try and bridge my mesh router. unless someone knows a quicker way lol

  19. #359
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Wildflower Ranch
    My Ride
    TrackCock
    Posts
    1,925
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    And get twice the cancer?
    ASPEN POTHOLES ARE OUT TO GET YOU

  20. #360
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Fiesta ST
    Posts
    946
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sorath View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    its enough for me but kinda lame to be paying for it and not getting advertised speeds. i am on hold now to try and bridge my mesh router. unless someone knows a quicker way lol
    https://forum.telus.com/t5/Home/Brid...ter/ta-p/52181
    Nolan

Page 18 of 19 FirstFirst ... 8 17 18 19 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. TELUS Fibre Optic

    By 16hypen3sp in forum Home and Garden
    Replies: 46
    Latest Threads: 08-11-2014, 07:48 PM
  2. Shaw Fibre-to-the-Home (FTTH) Trial

    By ipeefreely in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 110
    Latest Threads: 08-31-2013, 05:41 PM
  3. What should be paying telus for fibre (at existing location)

    By thetransporter in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 14
    Latest Threads: 10-10-2012, 03:29 PM
  4. Telus or Shaw FTTH Fiber to Home Connector?

    By eblend in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Latest Threads: 03-01-2011, 12:05 PM
  5. TELUS will be providing new homes with FTTH

    By ipeefreely in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Latest Threads: 03-14-2010, 05:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •