Quantcast
TELUS fibre (FTTH) - Page 19 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 19 of 20 FirstFirst ... 9 18 19 20 LastLast
Results 361 to 380 of 382

Thread: TELUS fibre (FTTH)

  1. #361
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Mazda 3
    Posts
    801
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sorath View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Telus just left my house and it’s 750mbs average dl and 800mbs average ul

    Should I be calling and bitch
    This is the exact reason I went back to 750.
    I upgraded to gigabit for a few days but consistently saw the speeds you have there.
    With 750 I consistently average 780d/u.
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  2. #362
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    2020 Subaru Forester Sport
    Posts
    2,638
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 16hypen3sp View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Too bad there wasn't a server in Red Deer I could test with.
    Well shit, you didn't tell us you were buttfuck middle of nowhere, I just assumed Calgary. Probably has to traverse a shaw backbone to reach a test server haha

  3. #363
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Blackfalds aka north RD, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    1,087
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eblend View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Well shit, you didn't tell us you were buttfuck middle of nowhere, I just assumed Calgary. Probably has to traverse a shaw backbone to reach a test server haha
    Yah I'm leaning towards it being a distance issue or something.
    I'm just a regular Joe, with a regular job
    I'm your average white suburbanite slob

  4. #364
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,135
    Rep Power
    48

    Default

    Was helping my neighbor improve his network performance, turns out he got DSL from Telus for almost nothing. Dual DSL to get 50 package, which actually tops out at 60mbps!

    UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_73f6.jpg

    Screen Shot 2020-08-02 at 6.50.53 PM.png
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  5. #365
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Blackfalds aka north RD, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    1,087
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Those two thunderstorms that came thru here really fucked something up. I'm only getting 40Mb down and 80Mb up now. Did all the resets already.

    Edit: Seems to be back working again.
    Last edited by 16hypen3sp; 08-04-2020 at 12:05 AM.
    I'm just a regular Joe, with a regular job
    I'm your average white suburbanite slob

  6. #366
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    GLA
    Posts
    2,566
    Rep Power
    44

    Default

    I'm not sure if it was addressed somewhere here. But if I have the fibre running straight to my SPF prot on my router (no ONT or modem), can they hook up the phone lines through legacy twisted pair?

  7. #367
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,237
    Rep Power
    46

    Default

    I thought Telus ran their home phones off of LTE these days haha. Is twisted pair even still active?
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  8. #368
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Airdrie
    My Ride
    '05 Cororra, '16 Rex, '21 F-150
    Posts
    238
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I thought Telus ran their home phones off of LTE these days haha. Is twisted pair even still active?
    Doesn't answer Buster's question, but when I last had Telus Home Phone a little bit over a year ago, there was a port on the ONT that was dedicated for phone.

  9. #369
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    248
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Buster View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I'm not sure if it was addressed somewhere here. But if I have the fibre running straight to my SPF prot on my router (no ONT or modem), can they hook up the phone lines through legacy twisted pair?
    You can ask but I think they rather do a full fiber install. I'm sure at some point they're going to start to remove all of the old hardware where they've push out fiber to.

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I thought Telus ran their home phones off of LTE these days haha. Is twisted pair even still active?
    You can get a Telus Wireless Home Phone. It's from the mobility side so you need a cell with them first. I tried to get that but with my EPP mobile account it was twice as much as the phone line in a bundle (can't get a discount if you have EPP account). --- This might not be true looking at the webpage now. Things might have changed since I asked back in May. ---

    Quote Originally Posted by cyra1ax View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Doesn't answer Buster's question, but when I last had Telus Home Phone a little bit over a year ago, there was a port on the ONT that was dedicated for phone.
    That's how ours is setup (there's 2 pots ports).
    Originally posted by Xtrema
    ZenOps is like everyone's crazy uncle.
    Originally posted by DayGlow
    How do you respond to stupid?
    Originally posted by rage2
    Jesus fucking christ Rob Anders, learn to read your own links.
    Originally posted by Seth1968
    Zenops: Ok, but remember my dick is made of nickle.

  10. #370
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    GLA
    Posts
    2,566
    Rep Power
    44

    Default

    I want to skip the ont

  11. #371
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    248
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Buster View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I want to skip the ont
    Go for the Wireless Home Phone then.

    Use a SPF+ since speeds are only going to get faster and Telus has 1.5/1 now to match Shaw's 1.5/100.
    Originally posted by Xtrema
    ZenOps is like everyone's crazy uncle.
    Originally posted by DayGlow
    How do you respond to stupid?
    Originally posted by rage2
    Jesus fucking christ Rob Anders, learn to read your own links.
    Originally posted by Seth1968
    Zenops: Ok, but remember my dick is made of nickle.

  12. #372
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Blackfalds aka north RD, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    1,087
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Used 100% of my home internet plan's included data. (1024GB) Cycle resets in 7 days.

    First time for everything. I believe Series X and downloading those games is the biggest factor.
    I'm just a regular Joe, with a regular job
    I'm your average white suburbanite slob

  13. #373
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    Blue Dabadee
    Posts
    6,237
    Rep Power
    46

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 16hypen3sp View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Used 100% of my home internet plan's included data. (1024GB) Cycle resets in 7 days.

    First time for everything. I believe Series X and downloading those games is the biggest factor.
    You don’t have unlimited?

    I mean the overage fees aren’t that high.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  14. #374
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    CGY
    Posts
    2,595
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Yeah, I used 2TB in November lol, I'm assuming due to new consoles. I have unlimited though.

    I also got the new wifi6 modem/router from Telus. I was having some random buffering issues for the first time in 4 years. I think the old one was starting to go.
    XBL: Inocent Killa
    PSN: WarMachine_V2

  15. #375
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    GLA
    Posts
    2,566
    Rep Power
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ipeefreely View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Go for the Wireless Home Phone then.

    Use a SPF+ since speeds are only going to get faster and Telus has 1.5/1 now to match Shaw's 1.5/100.
    My router has spf+ but my switch is spf.

  16. #376
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Blackfalds aka north RD, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    1,087
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    You don’t have unlimited?

    I mean the overage fees aren’t that high.
    I used to have the unlimited 150 plan promo (had to resign for two years to get it) but I switched to the 750 plan and lost the unlimited promo. Usage history indicates we use around 450 - 700GB of data per month so I didn't bother with the $15 extra charge to get unlimited internet. Yah the overage fees aren't that bad. I don't think the data cap will be a problem going forward so I'm just going to leave it where things sit and see what next month brings.
    I'm just a regular Joe, with a regular job
    I'm your average white suburbanite slob

  17. #377
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,135
    Rep Power
    48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by beecue View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Yeah, I used 2TB in November lol, I'm assuming due to new consoles.
    Those are rookie numbers.

    Screen Shot 2020-12-01 at 12.31.08 PM.png
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  18. #378
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Duplex
    My Ride
    Ignore List
    Posts
    8,840
    Rep Power
    50

    Default

    Hah my house uses under 300 gb most months, and highest in last 12 months is 330 gb.
    Silly people focus on the math.

  19. #379
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    10,296
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    Gaming services like Stadia can eat ~16 GB/hr/stream, Netflix 4K is around 7 GB/hr/stream, YouTube 4K is around 10-20+ GB/hr/stream depending on bitrate, game updates/downloads can easily be 150-200 GB, automated photo/video backups can be hundreds of GB or more, etc. I don't know what my exact usage is but I'm sure it's way over 1TB/mo.

  20. #380
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    GLA
    Posts
    2,566
    Rep Power
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    that is a lot of gay porn there, sir.

Page 19 of 20 FirstFirst ... 9 18 19 20 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. TELUS Fibre Optic

    By 16hypen3sp in forum Home and Garden
    Replies: 46
    Latest Threads: 08-11-2014, 07:48 PM
  2. Shaw Fibre-to-the-Home (FTTH) Trial

    By ipeefreely in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 110
    Latest Threads: 08-31-2013, 05:41 PM
  3. What should be paying telus for fibre (at existing location)

    By thetransporter in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 14
    Latest Threads: 10-10-2012, 03:29 PM
  4. Telus or Shaw FTTH Fiber to Home Connector?

    By eblend in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Latest Threads: 03-01-2011, 12:05 PM
  5. TELUS will be providing new homes with FTTH

    By ipeefreely in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Latest Threads: 03-14-2010, 05:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •