Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Asus n66u thread.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    378
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Asus n66u thread.

    Since many people have this router. I thought i would ask

    which dd-wrt firmware do you guys recommend?

    last time I had dd-wrt 2.4/5ghz wi-fi was really crippled.. that was 2012-2015
    westnet speedtest ping me


  2. #2
    Thaco's Avatar
    Thaco is offline sucks off little boys (ya, don't fuck with rage2 bitch!!!)
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Rage2
    Posts
    3,313
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    i have the ac66u, running advanced tomato 3.4-138 just installed this FW, was running an old version of tomato on it for about a year, it was perfectly reliable, i only upgraded because my 14 year old needs time/access restrictions and that didnt work on the old FW but works fine now.
    User title molested by Rage2.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    My Ride
    2013 Ram 1500 / 2016 Cadillac ATS
    Posts
    1,208
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    I use the most current 380.65.4 and haven't had a single issue. Asus Merlin FYI

    Used to use tomato but back when i tried it wasn't as simple as downloading and flashing so i moved away from it. Has that changed?
    Last edited by Kavy; 04-29-2017 at 11:23 PM.
    E . ` ' / . F
    Your tears fuel me

  4. #4
    Thaco's Avatar
    Thaco is offline sucks off little boys (ya, don't fuck with rage2 bitch!!!)
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Rage2
    Posts
    3,313
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Originally posted by Kavy
    I use the most current 380.65.4 and haven't had a single issue. Asus Merlin FYI

    Used to use tomato but back when i tried it wasn't as simple as downloading and flashing so i moved away from it. Has that changed?
    yeah its that easy now
    User title molested by Rage2.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    My Ride
    2013 Ram 1500 / 2016 Cadillac ATS
    Posts
    1,208
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    ^
    I just checked it out and noticed It still requires the use of the firmware restoration utility. I like the ease of downloading and flashing like asus merlin gives, If i run into issues i will give it a try but for now my lazy ass will use the 2 minute method of merlin lol.

    We are a family of all MacBooks and I don't have a single laptop with a lan port.
    E . ` ' / . F
    Your tears fuel me

  6. #6
    Thaco's Avatar
    Thaco is offline sucks off little boys (ya, don't fuck with rage2 bitch!!!)
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Rage2
    Posts
    3,313
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    been a long time since i did the original firmware but i am pretty sure i just uploaded it to the firmware upgrade page like any other upgrade.
    User title molested by Rage2.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    One from Affalterbach and Dearborn
    Posts
    8,731
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    So I am running 380.65_4 of Merlin.

    I noticed a slow down in my downloads where I am only seeing 140 down and 165 up. This is compared to my sig.

    When I connect to the TELUS router, I get my sig speeds. Monitoring the cpu, etc I don't see it overheating at all or being over taxed.

    Any ideas?

    I had QOS running at one point (don't remember turning it on) and when I switched it off, that gave me better stability and more speed.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    My Ride
    2013 Ram 1500 / 2016 Cadillac ATS
    Posts
    1,208
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Originally posted by benyl
    So I am running 380.65_4 of Merlin.

    I noticed a slow down in my downloads where I am only seeing 140 down and 165 up. This is compared to my sig.

    When I connect to the TELUS router, I get my sig speeds. Monitoring the cpu, etc I don't see it overheating at all or being over taxed.

    Any ideas?

    I had QOS running at one point (don't remember turning it on) and when I switched it off, that gave me better stability and more speed.
    Thought I would give this a shot since I'm running the same firmware as you.

    I was able to get 177 down and 16 up with shaw using my MacBook on my main floor with the router in the utility room a floor below me. I am not seeing a slow down so it could be telus to asus related.

    E . ` ' / . F
    Your tears fuel me

Similar Threads

  1. FS: ASUS RT-N66U Wireless N Router

    By imranm in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 12-01-2014, 08:24 AM
  2. Asus RT-N66U double 450mbps N wireless router.

    By WRXer in forum Consumer Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 07-14-2014, 11:52 AM
  3. Replies: 85
    Latest Threads: 02-06-2013, 02:10 PM
  4. FS: MINT 32gb Asus Eeepad Transformer w/Asus Case

    By topher91 in forum Consumer Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 12-01-2011, 09:54 AM
  5. Replies: 77
    Latest Threads: 09-23-2004, 11:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •