Quantcast
Business liability insurance - discussion - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: Business liability insurance - discussion

My Ride
    Natural Gas.

Default Business liability insurance - discussion

Many of you know that I've started a business. I've recently landed a small contract with a large multi-national company, and their vendor setup process is very thorough. like a zip file of 14 attachments. Gross.

Anyway, what's come up is that I don't have any liability insurance and I may need some. I've been getting some conflicting information about they type of insurance I need. Given that my business is engaged in only training in an office environment, it's not what I'd consider "risky".

The confusion comes from the fact that I am a professional engineer, registered with APEGA. Some companies want to quote me professional liability as well as general liability, which is intended to cover the "quality" of my work as I understand it. This increases the cost significantly. Others seem to think that since I'm involved in the business of training, and not "engaged in the practice of engineering" that normal commercial liability is fine.

What say you beyond.ca?

Also, if anyone has a good small business insurance broker that recommend, I'd like to talk to them.
    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    You realize you are talking to the guy who made his own furniture out of salad bowls right?

What type of training do you provide?

I would say its pretty likely you only need a CGL, but because you are an engineer, they are going for the upsale.

You really should only be looking at Pro Liab if you are going to be legally liable for financial damages that do not arise out of Bodily Injury or Property Damage

My Ride
    It has a shiny thingy on the front

Sounds like general Liability.

Go to State farm. Least amount of paperwork, $325-375.

PM for contact info.

My Ride