Quantcast
my engine keeps flooding - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: my engine keeps flooding

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    403
    My Ride
    project empty wallet... Kouki Monster
    Posts
    1,038
    Rep Power
    18

    Default my engine keeps flooding

    my engine keeps flooding and i have no idea why... i do know that the rx7 is prone to flooding but i happens every other time i start it up, it should happen that often, am i doing something wrong or is there something wrong with the engine?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Lifted 4.0L H.O.
    Posts
    611
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Pm BBmac his first gen had problems with flooding. Although it was carbureated he might have a good idea as he owned a second gen also. I've heard of people using a switch that will stop the fuel pump from working when turning the ignition or something.
    I've also heard of people replacing a transistor in the ECU that goes bad.

    Try
    http://www.teamfc3s.org/info/articles/idle.html

    Or
    http://www.rx7club.com

    for additional info

    good luck man
    Rev high, ride low.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    calgary
    Posts
    119
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    U need a flood switch. In the mean time if you cant get it started get someone under the hood pull the fuel injector fuse and U turn it over when it starts plug the switch in immediatly and will stay running. U need 2 people for this1 to plug the fuse in well you start it . thats basicly what a flood switch will do its hooked up 2 your injector fuse. I hope Im making sense. But thats the only cure. But it works

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    My Ride
    FC3S T2
    Posts
    22
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Yea man, a fuel cutoff switch is the way to go (also prevents theft.. lol) But im gonna get one soon, I was told by someone (probably) that you can get the bought and installed for 60$

    If thats true one will be in my car by next week!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    calgary
    Posts
    119
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Thats about right 60 bucks give or take. Or if you wanna install yourself all you need is a toggle switch and some wire simple as that.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    4cyl turbo diesel with a max speed of 10.9kmh
    Posts
    1,584
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Yes 60 bux but why not go do it yourself for less than 10?


    CONCRETE PATIO SPECIAL, PM ME FOR DETAILS!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    403
    My Ride
    project empty wallet... Kouki Monster
    Posts
    1,038
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    i do have a flood switch it works fine but every other time i start the car it floods, then ill use the flood switch, drive, turn off the car, do whatever come back start it up and it'll flood again and ill have to use the swutch again...

    what i wanna do is find a way to prevent so much flooding!

Similar Threads

  1. Amp keeps blowing fuses

    By BAMbunch in forum In Car Entertainment / Electronics
    Replies: 17
    Latest Threads: 05-20-2003, 04:37 PM
  2. Boost keeps going up

    By gpomp in forum Mechanical
    Replies: 22
    Latest Threads: 05-20-2003, 05:10 AM
  3. Car keeps chugging....

    By tommy1223 in forum Mechanical
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 04-11-2003, 01:30 PM
  4. van keeps stalling

    By redline_13000 in forum Mechanical
    Replies: 8
    Latest Threads: 03-16-2003, 01:50 AM
  5. Flooding

    By coolmody in forum Suggestion/Comment Box/Forum Related Stuff
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 05-16-2002, 10:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •