Quantcast
Recommend a NAS box that won't break the bank - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Recommend a NAS box that won't break the bank

Default Recommend a NAS box that won't break the bank

Hey guys, this is a follow up to me thread about HDDs yesterday. I have been running a DNS-323 NAS since 2011. It works fine for what I need (simple home file serving) so I've had no need to upgrade it. However, in removing the HDDs, I pulled too hard on one of the rear drive eject levers and broke it. This is in addition to the button on the front plastic cover which is broken as well.

The unit still works fine, but I'm wondering if I should take this opportunity to upgrade now. Can anyone point towards small NAS boxes that are reliable and cheap? I've got 1TB that aren't full, going to increase to 2TB now so I just need something small and cheap. If not, I'll just stick with the DNS-323 as it works well.

Thanks!!!

My Ride
    Natural Gas.

Interested in similar usage scenarios too. Subscribed
    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    You realize you are talking to the guy who made his own furniture out of salad bowls right?

I have a Synology 211j that has served me well. It uses very little electricity (15 watts total) and I can torrent off of it. You can run all sorts of services off of them.

My Ride
    2011 Ralliart SB

These guys are pretty cheap. But are you looking for the NAS to just hold some storage? Or run some services like couch potato, transmission, etc?

I'm not looking to run services, I just access files on the NAS from laptop, tablets, tv sticks, etc.

My Ride
    Grimace