Quantcast
iPhone X will not connect to cell network. - Page 2 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 21 to 40 of 40

Thread: iPhone X will not connect to cell network.

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    Ricer SUV, Lexus Coupe in Mid Life Crisis Orange
    Posts
    19,665
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 16hypen3sp View Post
    Can SIM cards just kick the bucket like that? I have never had a problem with any SIM card before. Don't really know that much about them really.
    Yes they can. Had the dreaded invalid SIM error that pops up daily which luckily fixed with a reboot. Thought it was the phone but nope, failing SIM card.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    2g Eclipse / EP3
    Posts
    3,401
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 16hypen3sp View Post
    Can SIM cards just kick the bucket like that? I have never had a problem with any SIM card before. Don't really know that much about them really.
    Absolutely they can. I've had 2 the last 10 years shit bricks. Walk into store (or ebay) and problem solved.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Red Deer, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    767
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    ^ Interesting.

    Ok so, update: my phone has been running semi-stable since I did the full factory reset about 12 hours ago, save for a few brief moments of 'no internet connectivity'.

    I'm not going to screw around with it anymore until I get home in case I need to access proper support.
    96 Ram 1500-Sold
    03 RSX-S-Sold
    03 350Z-Sold
    07 CBR 600RR-Sold
    11 Honda Fury-Sold
    14 CBR 1000RR-Current
    14 Ram 1500-Current
    14 Optima LX-Sold
    15 Victory Highball-Current
    15 Genesis 3.8 Ultimate- Current

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    If you're getting 'number is not in service', it's a cellular network issue. Especially if the phone is showing signal.

    If you have AppleCare+ you can give them a call and they can express you a phone anywhere in Canada.. but probably won't fix your issue.

    Does the phone connect to WiFI without any issues?

    (I work for Apple)

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Red Deer, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    767
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StairQuesadilla View Post
    If you're getting 'number is not in service', it's a cellular network issue. Especially if the phone is showing signal.

    If you have AppleCare+ you can give them a call and they can express you a phone anywhere in Canada.. but probably won't fix your issue.

    Does the phone connect to WiFI without any issues?

    (I work for Apple)
    Yes. The phone connects to WiFi without issue. The problem I was having seems mostly resolved.

    Is there no way to restore from a back up over iCloud without doing a factory reset again? I want to restore my phone with all my apps and data from a previous back up of this phone. It's on iCloud but it looks like I have to factory reset again.

    The two factor authentication really causes me problems. It will try and send a code but I never receive it.
    96 Ram 1500-Sold
    03 RSX-S-Sold
    03 350Z-Sold
    07 CBR 600RR-Sold
    11 Honda Fury-Sold
    14 CBR 1000RR-Current
    14 Ram 1500-Current
    14 Optima LX-Sold
    15 Victory Highball-Current
    15 Genesis 3.8 Ultimate- Current

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    You'll have to factory reset it to use the iCloud backup. Should be pretty quick with the X though.

    But yeah honestly sounds like a carrier issue. I always get past the two factor by sending texts. Sometimes it doesn't go through, but the call will 99% of the time go through. The only times I've seen none of them come through is a carrier issue e.g. customer just ported over their number from another carrier.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Red Deer, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    767
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StairQuesadilla View Post
    You'll have to factory reset it to use the iCloud backup. Should be pretty quick with the X though.

    But yeah honestly sounds like a carrier issue. I always get past the two factor by sending texts. Sometimes it doesn't go through, but the call will 99% of the time go through. The only times I've seen none of them come through is a carrier issue e.g. customer just ported over their number from another carrier.
    Ok. When I get home I will do the factory reset again and try to restore from a back up.
    96 Ram 1500-Sold
    03 RSX-S-Sold
    03 350Z-Sold
    07 CBR 600RR-Sold
    11 Honda Fury-Sold
    14 CBR 1000RR-Current
    14 Ram 1500-Current
    14 Optima LX-Sold
    15 Victory Highball-Current
    15 Genesis 3.8 Ultimate- Current

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Edmonton
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by G-ZUS View Post
    what a pos seller, what did you end up doing with the phone?
    its probably one of the greasiest things that has ever happened to me and has put a sour taste in my mouth, not sure if I will ever buy a phone new or used again off kijiji. I sold it to a cell phone repair kiosk for parts so I could recoup some of my money.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    NE
    Posts
    385
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Sorry for off topic but do you guys know if Apple will replace my iPhone for creaking noises? The creaking is driving me crazy..

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    2g Eclipse / EP3
    Posts
    3,401
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NathanRed View Post
    its probably one of the greasiest things that has ever happened to me and has put a sour taste in my mouth, not sure if I will ever buy a phone new or used again off kijiji. I sold it to a cell phone repair kiosk for parts so I could recoup some of my money.
    So you got burned on a hot phone around the 700-800$ mark, couple of things to lessen the chances of a repeat:

    - did you meet at their house? (if they refuse, suggest a cop shop, if they then REALLY refuse - walk away)
    - was the ad up for a week at least?
    - was the ad very vague? (ie. seller didnt know much about it, eg. PHONE FOR SALE, BLACK COLOUR)
    - was the price too good to be true?

    I've been on kijiji for 10+ years, made hundreds of transactions and I've been burnt once on a 50$ e-reader, that I didnt test properly.
    Last edited by revelations; 01-16-2018 at 10:16 AM.

  11. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Red Deer, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    767
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Shits back again. No internet connection but I could make outgoing calls. Texting capability unknown at that time.

    I did a power off and back on. Can't get connection to network at all now. Constantly searching. Other Rogers users in the area are fine.

    This fucking thing. Looks like I'll have to do another factory reset tonight again.
    96 Ram 1500-Sold
    03 RSX-S-Sold
    03 350Z-Sold
    07 CBR 600RR-Sold
    11 Honda Fury-Sold
    14 CBR 1000RR-Current
    14 Ram 1500-Current
    14 Optima LX-Sold
    15 Victory Highball-Current
    15 Genesis 3.8 Ultimate- Current

  12. #32
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Red Deer, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    767
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Lol. I can't even do a factory reset without being connected to the internet. That's just great. I guess she's bricked until I can get to a WiFi spot.
    96 Ram 1500-Sold
    03 RSX-S-Sold
    03 350Z-Sold
    07 CBR 600RR-Sold
    11 Honda Fury-Sold
    14 CBR 1000RR-Current
    14 Ram 1500-Current
    14 Optima LX-Sold
    15 Victory Highball-Current
    15 Genesis 3.8 Ultimate- Current

  13. #33
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    G37X
    Posts
    789
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 16hypen3sp View Post
    Lol. I can't even do a factory reset without being connected to the internet. That's just great. I guess she's bricked until I can get to a WiFi spot.
    Are you able to get internet from the computer to the iPhone via USB? I know it's something you can do with android.

  14. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    Ricer SUV, Lexus Coupe in Mid Life Crisis Orange
    Posts
    19,665
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    If you want to reset without the internet, next time you restore or setup, make sure find my iPhone is turned off. It’s a protection to ensure someone stealing your phone can’t use it. If it’s disabled, it doesn’t need internet to reset.

    Curious, have you tried someone else’s SIM card to make sure that’s not it?
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  15. #35
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Red Deer, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    767
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by relyt92 View Post
    Are you able to get internet from the computer to the iPhone via USB? I know it's something you can do with android.
    I tried but doesn't seem to. It's alright tho. I will just wait until I'm back in camp in the morning.

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    If you want to reset without the internet, next time you restore or setup, make sure find my iPhone is turned off. It’s a protection to ensure someone stealing your phone can’t use it. If it’s disabled, it doesn’t need internet to reset.

    Curious, have you tried someone else’s SIM card to make sure that’s not it?
    I haven't tried it yet. It's on my to-do list. Haha.

    Thanks for the suggestions tho everyone. Appreciate it.
    96 Ram 1500-Sold
    03 RSX-S-Sold
    03 350Z-Sold
    07 CBR 600RR-Sold
    11 Honda Fury-Sold
    14 CBR 1000RR-Current
    14 Ram 1500-Current
    14 Optima LX-Sold
    15 Victory Highball-Current
    15 Genesis 3.8 Ultimate- Current

  16. #36
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Red Deer, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    767
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    FYI: This no service issue seems to be a pretty widespread problem affecting different iPhone models and different carriers.

    Just in case anyone starts having problems like me. I tried what I could from this thread below, but I still have no service.

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/8149534
    96 Ram 1500-Sold
    03 RSX-S-Sold
    03 350Z-Sold
    07 CBR 600RR-Sold
    11 Honda Fury-Sold
    14 CBR 1000RR-Current
    14 Ram 1500-Current
    14 Optima LX-Sold
    15 Victory Highball-Current
    15 Genesis 3.8 Ultimate- Current

  17. #37
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Civic Hatch ST
    Posts
    8,709
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Sounds like you've been through more than enough hassle. If it's the same as my "searching" issue, a different or new SIM won't do anything (tried both), it's a phone problem. I would start bugging Apple for a new phone and hope you have better luck than me.

  18. #38
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Red Deer, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    767
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mitsu3000gt View Post
    Sounds like you've been through more than enough hassle. If it's the same as my "searching" issue, a different or new SIM won't do anything (tried both), it's a phone problem. I would start bugging Apple for a new phone and hope you have better luck than me.
    I have a working phone again now as I did a full system reset and I managed to successfully restore to a backup I had. Went very smoothly this time. We’ll see how long it lasts.

    Anyone on Rogers care to share their “Carrier” version number? I’m on Rogers 30.1.
    96 Ram 1500-Sold
    03 RSX-S-Sold
    03 350Z-Sold
    07 CBR 600RR-Sold
    11 Honda Fury-Sold
    14 CBR 1000RR-Current
    14 Ram 1500-Current
    14 Optima LX-Sold
    15 Victory Highball-Current
    15 Genesis 3.8 Ultimate- Current

  19. #39
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Civic Hatch ST
    Posts
    8,709
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 16hypen3sp View Post
    I have a working phone again now as I did a full system reset and I managed to successfully restore to a backup I had. Went very smoothly this time. We’ll see how long it lasts.

    Anyone on Rogers care to share their “Carrier” version number? I’m on Rogers 30.1.
    That fixes mine for a few weeks, then it comes back - I hope it's more permanent for you! This one is Fido/Rogers as well.

  20. #40
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Red Deer, AB
    My Ride
    Bikes.Car.Truck
    Posts
    767
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Update:

    My phone has been working as good as it should be since I did the system reset on the 16th. I am at home now and I managed to get the phone to update the iOS software from 11.1.2 to 11.2.2 over WiFi. I tried this before but I was getting a 'no internet connection' prompt.

    It also installed the most recent carrier update - Rogers 31.0. Prior to this, I was on Rogers 30.1.

    I have had no issues since. Knock on wood.
    96 Ram 1500-Sold
    03 RSX-S-Sold
    03 350Z-Sold
    07 CBR 600RR-Sold
    11 Honda Fury-Sold
    14 CBR 1000RR-Current
    14 Ram 1500-Current
    14 Optima LX-Sold
    15 Victory Highball-Current
    15 Genesis 3.8 Ultimate- Current

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. FS: Sonos connect and Sonos Connect amp

    By smc in forum Consumer Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 06-28-2015, 08:18 PM
  2. FS: Pioneer Sirius Connect + Sirius Connect Kit

    By eglove in forum Automotive Parts [Audio/Video/Radar Systems]
    Replies: 7
    Latest Threads: 03-15-2012, 12:29 AM
  3. Picked up a used Blackberry, won't connect to the network.

    By rage2 in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Latest Threads: 11-23-2011, 06:31 PM
  4. Not able to connect to http

    By BananaFob in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 08-19-2007, 12:03 AM
  5. ahhh!! why cant i connect here from cell phone?

    By EstoMax in forum Suggestion/Comment Box/Forum Related Stuff
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 05-12-2003, 11:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •