Quantcast
Make up air unit with a 600CFM range hood - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Make up air unit with a 600CFM range hood

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    135
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Make up air unit with a 600CFM range hood

    Anyone know if I need a make up air unit with a 600CFM range hood? House is being built with two furnaces and necessary fresh air intake for that but not sure how to figure out if I need more air.....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    90 DB1, 03 RL1, 07 YK1
    Posts
    2,594
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    With 600cfm you’ll at least need to interlock it with one furnace. It’s also recommended but not necessary/code to add a preheater to the intake air of the furnace that is interlocked. If and whenever you run the hood fan when it’s freezing (-30) cold outside you’re going to be drawing in cold air for the furnace’s burners to combust with. The cold air and heat from the burners will cause excess condensation which over time will cause the burners to fail. Under normal circumstances this isn’t an issue but with a hood fan it makes everything work more often causing things to fail quicker.

    Calgary is so much like an iphone: iCalgary - There's a bylaw for that.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    135
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Thanks!

    Can an interlock be wired after the fact or should i get them to do it while the house is being built?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    90 DB1, 03 RL1, 07 YK1
    Posts
    2,594
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    That’s a good question. I’m not sure what kind of actual wiring is required but I imagine it can be done afterwards since the key to the interlock i believe is a current sensing relay which can be wired near the electrical panel. Don’t quote me on that part As I’m not an electrician. It’s probably best to do it during the build anyways. Since you’re talking furnace controls etc it’s better to let someone else mess with it. If something goes wrong they’re on the hook for it not to mention the furnace is not something you’d want to mess up on.

    Calgary is so much like an iphone: iCalgary - There's a bylaw for that.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    135
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Makes sense. I already told them its a 600 CFM fan and it's on the appliances order spec sheet. They said they weren't concerned as it's apparently pretty common nowadays to have higher CFM fans. The home does come with a HRV/ERV system as well so it's possible there is enough intake from that.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    403
    My Ride
    EP3, S2K & TLX
    Posts
    5,868
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    We had to sign a waiver for our 600cfm hood fan stating that we would run the furnace fan and/or open a window if we run on max speed (ie: 600cfm) for any extended period of time.

    600cfm can and will put your house into slight negative pressure.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    90 DB1, 03 RL1, 07 YK1
    Posts
    2,594
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    The make up air system has more to do with the furnace combustion part of the intake for the heat exchanger. HRV/ERV etc has more to do with the actual “breathable” air circulation. The two cross over at the heat exchanger in the furnace. Similar concept as air passing through your car’s heater core. The two should never mix hence why you don’t want the furnace’s burners/heat exchanger to crack/rust/fail.

    Calgary is so much like an iphone: iCalgary - There's a bylaw for that.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    FB6
    Posts
    682
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 88CRX View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    We had to sign a waiver for our 600cfm hood fan stating that we would run the furnace fan and/or open a window if we run on max speed (ie: 600cfm) for any extended period of time.

    600cfm can and will put your house into slight negative pressure.
    We did as well in our current build. The make up air system was quoted at $3,500 so we declined it and signed a waiver.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    49
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Morrison charged us $207 to interlock the furnace with the hood fan.

    It's a requirement of the building code to do this when the hood fan is between 300-600 CFM. Greater than 600 CFM, requires make up air. You shouldn't have to worry about it though, the builder needs to figure out what needs to be done to pass HVAC inspections based the selections you make for your range hood. If not, they'll be given this deficiency to correct when the city does the inspection.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    61
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Cedarglen interlocked free of charge. The run the cable to the fan as a standard thing.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    -.-- -.-- -.-.
    Posts
    1,275
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    My hood fan is over 600 CFM. How do I tell that a make up air unit has been installed?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    90 DB1, 03 RL1, 07 YK1
    Posts
    2,594
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    ^^Sort if depends on when the house was built. At one time it was code so you’d have a preheater unit on the intake air for the furnace. That’s one way to tell. Since the switch over to direct vent furnaces they’ve been more relaxed on the make up air system requirements. Now the main way (or another way for that matter) to tell is if your furnace comes on when you turn on the hood fan (the interlock). Don’t ask me what physical features to look for as I have no idea what an interlock relay looks like.

    Calgary is so much like an iphone: iCalgary - There's a bylaw for that.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    YYC and YVR
    My Ride
    GGL15, R53, JCE10, VZN170, BB6
    Posts
    2,862
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Great info here.

    Hood fan died, going to upgrade to one of those asian ones so i can stink up my neighborhood. Any ideas on who or where I can go to to have the range hood interlocked with the furnace? I assume I won't need a make up air unit as I don't intend on going higher than 680 (specs on the one I am looking at states max cfm to be 680) but we'll never be running both fans at the same time or at least not at max at the same time. I'm fine with a 600 cfm unit too.

    I know there's no interlocking right now between the furnace and the range hood as the furnace doesn't start up when the range hood is on.

    TIA.
    Quote Originally Posted by Disoblige View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Arash reminds me of Mar but I can't tell which one is more stupid.
    Quote Originally Posted by JRSC00LUDE View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Yeah well I wonder how they get the soft flowing caramel inside the Caramilk bar but you don't see me making a god damn thread about it. Slap your wife Baygirl, straighten him out.

Similar Threads

  1. FS: edelbrock 600cfm carb, and intake

    By thedave in forum Automotive Parts [Mechanical Parts]
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 03-17-2008, 09:13 PM
  2. FS: edelbrock 600cfm carb, and intake

    By thedave in forum Automotive Parts
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 03-11-2008, 09:07 PM
  3. FS: edelbrock 600cfm carb #1406

    By thedave in forum Automotive Parts
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 03-11-2008, 09:01 PM
  4. FS: Holley 600cfm Carb. $50

    By dieselpower91 in forum Automotive Parts
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 05-01-2007, 06:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •