Quantcast
So, should I chip my Q5? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 50

Thread: So, should I chip my Q5?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    6,804
    Rep Power
    21

    Default So, should I chip my Q5?

    ...
    Last edited by Sugarphreak; 08-18-2019 at 12:15 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Flying the friendly skies
    My Ride
    100% SAVAGE
    Posts
    6,201
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Can you also lift it, straight pipe it, put on mud tires and install chrome trucker girl mud flaps? That's the only way I can condone this.
    Double-meat sub dreams.
    Public Mobile referral code: 88M4Y9
    Smiles for free: https://forums.beyond.ca/threads/411...something-nice

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Victoria Park
    My Ride
    '16 FoRS, '09 UZN215, '90 Z32, '15 Grom
    Posts
    3,411
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    2014 Q5 has the 3rd gen EA888? I wasn't sure.

    But yeah, Stage 1 APR and done. Hopefully you get something around 260+ at the crank.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    My Ride
    A vehicle or two
    Posts
    4,211
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    I don't think it is odd at all. Audi engines and APR work very well together at an extremely good price.

    Why NOT chip it for more power? I would have done it inside the first 6 months.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary, AB.
    My Ride
    210000 km oldie
    Posts
    1,089
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    https://www.getunitronic.com/products

    Another option. May be go to an Audi forum and see what other owners can suggest between these options.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    e91 touring
    Posts
    1,218
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    go see Colin @ Calgary Autoworks, they Tune in house for Audi/Vw
    http://www.calgaryautoworks.com
    Originally posted by Mibz
    The criteria for being a Beyond Baller is simply knowing you are one.
    @toddgordo on IG

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Technically the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    4,190
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    If you have any intention of selling the vehicle in the short term I wouldn’t bother.

    I personally wouldn’t touch a chipped Audi on the used market.

    Just my $0.02
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cochrane, AB
    Posts
    1,812
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kloubek View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I don't think it is odd at all. Audi engines and APR work very well together at an extremely good price.

    Why NOT chip it for more power? I would have done it inside the first 6 months.
    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    If you have any intention of selling the vehicle in the short term I wouldn’t bother.

    I personally wouldn’t touch a chipped Audi on the used market.

    Just my $0.02
    This is why. And warranty. You loose 100% of the powertrain warranty as soon as its hooked up to the diagnostic computer.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Edmonton/Calgary
    My Ride
    AM - V
    Posts
    4,123
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Audi is such stickler with their warranty, they wouldn't even let us put an aftermarket car starter and didn't offer one themselves. Anyway, if you've owned it 5 years, warranty is long gone I am guessing? If so, go for it by all means.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    S2K
    Posts
    2,217
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spike98 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    This is why. And warranty. You loose 100% of the powertrain warranty as soon as its hooked up to the diagnostic computer.


    Unless you plan to drive it into the ground, and pay for all maintenance from here on out... my vote is no chip.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    My Ride
    A vehicle or two
    Posts
    4,211
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spike98 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    This is why. And warranty. You loose 100% of the powertrain warranty as soon as its hooked up to the diagnostic computer.
    He says he has had it for 5 years. I thought Audi warranty was 4 years.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cochrane, AB
    Posts
    1,812
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    "Nearly 5 years"

    Also lots of people get extended warranty these days. Some even get the extended then still chip it immediately.

    The resale hit is real as well which definitely applied in this case.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    6,804
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    ...
    Last edited by Sugarphreak; 08-18-2019 at 12:14 PM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Protege 5 Turbo / Ecoboost FX4
    Posts
    1,125
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    I’m not too familiar with Audi, if you flash back to stock and remove the tuner, would they be able to tell that it was ever chipped in the first place?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    N/A
    My Ride
    100% Bow tie
    Posts
    2,629
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ExtraSlow View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Can you also lift it, straight pipe it, put on mud tires and install chrome trucker girl mud flaps? That's the only way I can condone this.
    Balls. You forgot a pair of big balls.
    Moran supreme

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    6,804
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    ...
    Last edited by Sugarphreak; 08-18-2019 at 12:14 PM.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    17 Tacoma trd OR
    Posts
    454
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    If it’s the same engine code and model architecture as a 15 Golf you can also consider the neuspeed chip. Completely plug n play. I risked it on my brand new GTI for 2 years, no issues whatsoever and power gains as advertised.
    Originally posted by ExtraSlow
    Also, if he donkey kicks, you donkey punch!

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cochrane, AB
    Posts
    1,812
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sugarphreak View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    ^^ I've got no plans to extend the warranty on it, if it ever breaks I will take it somewhere other than the dealer to get it fixed anyway



    Yeah this is sort of my idea. While it had warranty on it, I might as well play by the rules. But if it breaks now, I am stuck with the bill anyway.



    I've only put 50K on it so far, so I kind of feel like if I am going to get my value out of it I should try and drive it into the ground at least for a little while.



    I was planning on selling it when I get near 100K.... but now that I am putting less than 3000K on it a year I am never going to get there.

    Whenever I do sell, I would remove the chip and sell that separately, it sure as hell isn't going to be advertised as a "chipped" Audi, haha.
    You can't "remove" it and resell it. Its a software flash.

    Quote Originally Posted by Maxx Mazda View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I’m not too familiar with Audi, if you flash back to stock and remove the tuner, would they be able to tell that it was ever chipped in the first place?
    Yes, there is a flash counter. Any dealer would be able to easily tell.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    6,804
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    ....
    Last edited by Sugarphreak; 08-18-2019 at 12:14 PM.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cochrane, AB
    Posts
    1,812
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    You can restore the ecu back to factory yes, but you cannot resell the install. Also as mentioned, your flash counter will be flagged permanently. Im not saying don't do it, im just saying know what you are up against before you do.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Should I keep my Mercedes C-230 2002 or should I sell it?

    By Merc in forum General Car/Bike Talk
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 08-13-2007, 11:58 PM
  2. Tony Blair - Should I Stay or Should I Go

    By D'z Nutz in forum Misc. Gallery
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 04-07-2007, 12:17 PM
  3. Who should REALISTICALLY should pay to rebuild Lebanon?

    By l8braker in forum Society / Law / Current Events / Politics
    Replies: 13
    Latest Threads: 08-22-2006, 08:36 AM
  4. Replies: 39
    Latest Threads: 12-12-2002, 09:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •