Quantcast
Shaw Wide Open Internet 300 is out now! - Page 11 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 11 of 11 FirstFirst ... 10 11
Results 201 to 219 of 219

Thread: Shaw Wide Open Internet 300 is out now!

  1. #201
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    My Ride
    '17 F150 FX4 sport, '10 VW GTI 5d
    Posts
    871
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kavy View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I streamed Netflix from Shaw open on the weekend. That is disappointing if it has been closed down.
    Sounds like its only affected at the location I'm at, there were people on other Open spots that had no trouble. I'll test a 3rd day tonight when I get there, but yesterday it was still no bueno without the VPN
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  2. #202
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    231
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    So I talked to a Shaw billing rep with a very thick accent and he couldn't really give me answer why I wasn't getting the full modem discount but since "I was a nice guy" he would take $5 off ("all he could do").

    I asked about the second IP address, yet again no explanation why one was $14.xx carried over from last month's transition and $9.xx for September but he said it was actually $4.81!

    I asked to why my bill was completely different from what the rep told me he said he had no access to what the other rep did. I asked to talk with retentions or a manager and he said they wouldn't be able to help me??? In July the guy in retentions said he was able to get me 300 internet for $84.50 but with the $20 modem discount it works out to $82.50.

    I thanked him for his time and said I'd pop into one of the Shaw locations to figure out my bill!


    Oh ya, Telus fiber is available in my area now too (although the website isn't up to date)... guess I should have waited! FML
    Originally posted by Xtrema
    ZenOps is like everyone's crazy uncle.
    Originally posted by DayGlow
    How do you respond to stupid?
    Originally posted by rage2
    Jesus fucking christ Rob Anders, learn to read your own links.
    Originally posted by Seth1968
    Zenops: Ok, but remember my dick is made of nickle.

  3. #203
    Thaco's Avatar
    Thaco is offline sucks off little boys (ya, don't fuck with rage2 bitch!!!)
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Rage2
    Posts
    3,508
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    i installed yesterday, i am still only hitting 150/20 on speedtest.... gonna have to do some more testing and probably have to call and get them to fix it.
    Last edited by Thaco; 08-17-2018 at 08:47 PM.
    User title molested by Rage2.

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    It's not the size that matters, it's the taste it leaves in your mouth.

  4. #204
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    231
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Popped into Shaw on Saturday, turns out some how they added a third IPv4 address ($4.81, you still get 2 free).

    She refunded the $9.95.

    No idea why my bill was so fucked up but she said to come back if my bill is still messed up next month!
    Originally posted by Xtrema
    ZenOps is like everyone's crazy uncle.
    Originally posted by DayGlow
    How do you respond to stupid?
    Originally posted by rage2
    Jesus fucking christ Rob Anders, learn to read your own links.
    Originally posted by Seth1968
    Zenops: Ok, but remember my dick is made of nickle.

  5. #205
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Moo Town
    My Ride
    (0^oo^0)~
    Posts
    470
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Had Internet 300 for about a week so far, I don't do alot of gaming so the speed increase is unnoticeable. Some weird problems have been popping up though. When I load multiple tabs it seems like it's overloading and I lose my connection.

    The tech said that this router has some sort of "band sweeping" function where it chooses whichever band is fastest but I had to log into the router to set it so that I can see both my 2.4g and 5g connections. I have some devices that can only access the 2.4g band so it gets confused.

  6. #206
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Civic Hatch ST
    Posts
    9,148
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rx7boi View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Had Internet 300 for about a week so far, I don't do alot of gaming so the speed increase is unnoticeable. Some weird problems have been popping up though. When I load multiple tabs it seems like it's overloading and I lose my connection.

    The tech said that this router has some sort of "band sweeping" function where it chooses whichever band is fastest but I had to log into the router to set it so that I can see both my 2.4g and 5g connections. I have some devices that can only access the 2.4g band so it gets confused.
    The tabs thing sounds more like a computer issue than an internet speed issue, but that is just my initial impression. Opening a bunch of tabs isn't even a blip on the radar for 300Mbps.

    I don't think the new Shaw router is nearly as good as they say it is. Bridge it, buy a real router, and I suspect any connection related issues will disappear provided the service coming to your house is solid. It looks cool and is the heaviest router I've ever seen, so I'll give them that haha.

    It's a single data point, but we did a bunch of testing at my parents place when they got their Internet 300 installed, and their $100 Costco router was better than the new Shaw unit in our testing for speed/range, etc.

  7. #207
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Technically the NE
    My Ride
    C63S
    Posts
    3,550
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Just had Telus door to door guy try and convince me that Telus 75 was equivalent to Shaw 150. He also said every telus channel is 4k...

    Kept shitting on Shaw's copper network despite the reason they max out at 75 for my place is Telus doesn't actually have fibre to my home

    Door to door sales should be illegal...
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  8. #208
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    231
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Just had Telus door to door guy try and convince me that Telus 75 was equivalent to Shaw 150. He also said every telus channel is 4k...

    Kept shitting on Shaw's copper network despite the reason they max out at 75 for my place is Telus doesn't actually have fibre to my home

    Door to door sales should be illegal...
    Should start calling Service Alberta on these guys... get them banded from door to door sales too!

    One of the only things the NDP did right....
    Originally posted by Xtrema
    ZenOps is like everyone's crazy uncle.
    Originally posted by DayGlow
    How do you respond to stupid?
    Originally posted by rage2
    Jesus fucking christ Rob Anders, learn to read your own links.
    Originally posted by Seth1968
    Zenops: Ok, but remember my dick is made of nickle.

  9. #209
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    Ricer SUV, Lexus Coupe in Mid Life Crisis Orange
    Posts
    20,340
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    380D20A9-E239-4CA0-8F98-105385908725.png

    Bought a new HDD for the XB1X. Decided to redownload every game. Interesting that it at times downloads at 350mbps.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  10. #210
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Red Deer, Alberta
    My Ride
    1995 WRX STi
    Posts
    1,473
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    380D20A9-E239-4CA0-8F98-105385908725.png

    Bought a new HDD for the XB1X. Decided to redownload every game. Interesting that it at times downloads at 350mbps.
    Jesus, yea, I guess it makes sense now who the 300 plans are for :p

    Was just searching for.VPN's and stumbled across this thread from 2011 :nuts:

    https://forums.beyond.ca/threads/331...?highlight=Vpn
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  11. #211
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Euro Accord Brah
    Posts
    6,401
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Anyone else have the fan on the XB6 modem just stay on constantly? Thing is so damn noisy and is on my desk currently is louder than my desktop itself. I will just try to get mine swapped out.

  12. #212
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Civic Hatch ST
    Posts
    9,148
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    380D20A9-E239-4CA0-8F98-105385908725.png

    Bought a new HDD for the XB1X. Decided to redownload every game. Interesting that it at times downloads at 350mbps.
    I've seen spikes to 43-44MB/s on newsgroups which is around 350Mbps. 330Mbps is what is does all day long though, for me at least.


    Quote Originally Posted by schocker View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Anyone else have the fan on the XB6 modem just stay on constantly? Thing is so damn noisy and is on my desk currently is louder than my desktop itself. I will just try to get mine swapped out.
    Mine has been on the few times I've checked, but I can only hear it if I stick my head under my desk or hold my ear up to it. If it's super loud though something is probably wrong.

  13. #213
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Euro Accord Brah
    Posts
    6,401
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mitsu3000gt View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I've seen spikes to 43-44MB/s on newsgroups which is around 350Mbps. 330Mbps is what is does all day long though, for me at least.
    Mine has been on the few times I've checked, but I can only hear it if I stick my head under my desk or hold my ear up to it. If it's super loud though something is probably wrong.
    It isn't loud overall, just in comparison I suppose to the rest of the room. The fan has been on for about 48 hours straight now, and when I powercycle, upon coming back completely, it starts again. Never had issues like this before, maybe a firmware update or something was pushed. Mainly annoying as my desk is in my bedroom.

  14. #214
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Civic Hatch ST
    Posts
    9,148
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schocker View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    It isn't loud overall, just in comparison I suppose to the rest of the room. The fan has been on for about 48 hours straight now, and when I powercycle, upon coming back completely, it starts again. Never had issues like this before, maybe a firmware update or something was pushed. Mainly annoying as my desk is in my bedroom.

    If the room was dead quiet I could probably hear it, but it depends on the environment you're in I guess. When I am at my computer 90% of the time I have sound of some kind. Even if the furnace is running though, I can't hear the fan - probably helps that it's under my desk and not on it. In your bedroom yeah I could see that being annoying, since presumably it would be as quiet as possible while you're trying to sleep.

  15. #215
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    N/A
    My Ride
    100% Bow tie
    Posts
    2,383
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mitsu3000gt View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    If the room was dead quiet I could probably hear it, but it depends on the environment you're in I guess. When I am at my computer 90% of the time I have sound of some kind. Even if the furnace is running though, I can't hear the fan - probably helps that it's under my desk and not on it. In your bedroom yeah I could see that being annoying, since presumably it would be as quiet as possible while you're trying to sleep.
    Just get some tinnitus going, there's a lot you won't hear.
    Moran supreme

  16. #216
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Euro Accord Brah
    Posts
    6,401
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mitsu3000gt View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    If the room was dead quiet I could probably hear it, but it depends on the environment you're in I guess. When I am at my computer 90% of the time I have sound of some kind. Even if the furnace is running though, I can't hear the fan - probably helps that it's under my desk and not on it. In your bedroom yeah I could see that being annoying, since presumably it would be as quiet as possible while you're trying to sleep.
    Yup, thats why I keep my nas off too haha. Getting my wiring done finally real soon, but shaw is coming tomorrow to swap out the modem. Still happening tonight with it being the fan on whatever percent and then ramping up every once and a while. Pretty sure it was originally silent with minimal fan.

  17. #217
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    430
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Yeah, I hate fan noise and spinning hard drive noise too. I spent the extra $10 and got the upgrade to magnetically levitated fans for the computer too. Quality of life thing.

    I mean seriously, if its within earshot - you don't want to be bombarded with extra noise for however many extra years or decades you may have it sitting beside you. If its tucked away in a basement, no biggie.
    AI will destroy jobs faster than anything in history.

  18. #218
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Euro Accord Brah
    Posts
    6,401
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ZenOps View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Yeah, I hate fan noise and spinning hard drive noise too. I spent the extra $10 and got the upgrade to magnetically levitated fans for the computer too. Quality of life thing.

    I mean seriously, if its within earshot - you don't want to be bombarded with extra noise for however many extra years or decades you may have it sitting beside you. If its tucked away in a basement, no biggie.
    Yup, my desktop is watercooled with only the corsair maglev fans and only ssds. Very quiet. New shaw modem seems to be the same as the last, still quite loud even without ramping the fan up. I guess I will suck it up until I can move it to the basement.

  19. #219
    Thaco's Avatar
    Thaco is offline sucks off little boys (ya, don't fuck with rage2 bitch!!!)
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Rage2
    Posts
    3,508
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thaco View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    i installed yesterday, i am still only hitting 150/20 on speedtest.... gonna have to do some more testing and probably have to call and get them to fix it.
    Mine's still shitty, but i really don't want to deal with a service call... ugh

    tempsnip.png
    User title molested by Rage2.

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    It's not the size that matters, it's the taste it leaves in your mouth.

Page 11 of 11 FirstFirst ... 10 11

Similar Threads

  1. Shaw Wide Open Internet 150 launch.

    By ZenOps in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 622
    Latest Threads: 07-02-2018, 08:40 PM
  2. any SHAW internet experts here? HORRIBLE SHAW INTERNET

    By thetransporter in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 13
    Latest Threads: 10-23-2009, 12:18 PM
  3. Shaw internet usage? ALSO: SHAW bumps download speed.

    By old&slow in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 211
    Latest Threads: 03-30-2009, 06:46 PM
  4. Shaw Internet or Telus Internet?!?!

    By phubu in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 61
    Latest Threads: 06-15-2008, 06:54 PM
  5. WTB: Shaw HD cablebox or PVR and Shaw internet Modem

    By Hanzo in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 04-07-2008, 07:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •