Quantcast
Router died on me this morning. Need opions for a new one. (preferrably ASAP) - Page 3 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst ... 2 3
Results 41 to 48 of 48

Thread: Router died on me this morning. Need opions for a new one. (preferrably ASAP)

  1. #41
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    S.E. (not the drrty south)
    My Ride
    Blandness
    Posts
    7,053
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    Now I'm not sure weather it's my router, or modem that's the problem. Sometimes hard resetting the router fixes my internet, and sometimes resetting my modem does, and sometimes I have to do both.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    IAH bar and UA6295
    My Ride
    100% SAVAGE
    Posts
    6,247
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    It seems like every setup does well with periodic resets. We have to do ours every couple weeks.
    Double-meat sub dreams.
    Public Mobile referral code: 88M4Y9
    Smiles for free: https://forums.beyond.ca/threads/411...something-nice

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Stampede Central
    My Ride
    is pretty sharp lookin'
    Posts
    1,784
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jwslam View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    hmm I have had a Netgear AC1900 for over 5 years now with no issues.
    Based on what you wrote it, it must've lasted that long because I lucked out and mounted it on the wall right in front of a vent in my house.
    K I must have jinxed this. I'm dropping connection around once/day now. FML.

    Considering the new nest wifi since I was looking at buying new g-home speakers anyways.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Civic Hatch ST
    Posts
    9,700
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jwslam View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    K I must have jinxed this. I'm dropping connection around once/day now. FML.

    Considering the new nest wifi since I was looking at buying new g-home speakers anyways.
    Careful with the mesh systems if you have smart home things, Wyze cams, etc. that rely on the "always on" 2.4Ghz band - many of them cannot simultaneously broadcast 2.4 and 5 Ghz, only have one SSID, and have issues with "smart" things. The router tries to decide for you if you should be on the 2.4 or 5 Ghz band. It's one area where a 'traditional' router makes things a lot easier, but obviously that doesn't help you if you're trying to increase coverage.

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    20,975
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mitsu3000gt View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Careful with the mesh systems if you have smart home things, Wyze cams, etc. that rely on the "always on" 2.4Ghz band - many of them cannot simultaneously broadcast 2.4 and 5 Ghz, only have one SSID, and have issues with "smart" things. The router tries to decide for you if you should be on the 2.4 or 5 Ghz band. It's one area where a 'traditional' router makes things a lot easier, but obviously that doesn't help you if you're trying to increase coverage.
    This is very wrong. 2 things, only a few mesh systems can't separate SSIDs, Google WiFi and Eero are the big offenders. They use band steering, and band steering isn't stupid, 2.4 only devices will NOT ever get steered into 5ghz. If a device has never probed 5ghz because it's not there, it won't steer it. Period. This means that your dual band devices that aren't close enough to the AP and has shitty 5ghz communications will also not get steered. There's also a minimum signal strengh before it steers. That case should not happen. For anything else, you can easily setup 2.4 and 5 specific as well as mixed band SSIDs.

    Sort of on the topic, the original Nest cameras (indoor and outdoor) has a bug in the network stack, where regardless of what wifi you use, it disconnects and isn't smart enough to restart itself. It keeps the IP address, but it just stops sending any data to the network. The only way to get it to come back up is to wait 3 hours, reboot the camera (yea not happening) or disconnecting the client offline at the network level before the camera reconnects and restarts. I suspect this is at a hardware level because it has not been fixed in any firmware update. Ring Hello and the new $400 camera doesn't suffer from this problem. Not sure if the new revision indoor camera suffers from this either. I love my Nest cams but this is the biggest problem with it. Happens a couple times a month.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2017 Civic Hatch ST
    Posts
    9,700
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    This is very wrong. 2 things, only a few mesh systems can't separate SSIDs, Google WiFi and Eero are the big offenders. They use band steering, and band steering isn't stupid, 2.4 only devices will NOT ever get steered into 5ghz. If a device has never probed 5ghz because it's not there, it won't steer it. Period. This means that your dual band devices that aren't close enough to the AP and has shitty 5ghz communications will also not get steered. There's also a minimum signal strengh before it steers. That case should not happen. For anything else, you can easily setup 2.4 and 5 specific as well as mixed band SSIDs.

    Sort of on the topic, the original Nest cameras (indoor and outdoor) has a bug in the network stack, where regardless of what wifi you use, it disconnects and isn't smart enough to restart itself. It keeps the IP address, but it just stops sending any data to the network. The only way to get it to come back up is to wait 3 hours, reboot the camera (yea not happening) or disconnecting the client offline at the network level before the camera reconnects and restarts. I suspect this is at a hardware level because it has not been fixed in any firmware update. Ring Hello and the new $400 camera doesn't suffer from this problem. Not sure if the new revision indoor camera suffers from this either. I love my Nest cams but this is the biggest problem with it. Happens a couple times a month.
    Yup, that's why I replied to his comment about Google/Nest Wifi - it has lots of documented issues with smart home items because of the way Google handles the bands. I don't understand what was "very wrong" about that in the context of Google WiFi. Google and Eero are some of the most popular mesh systems that I am aware of anyway.
    Last edited by Mitsu3000gt; 10-17-2019 at 01:43 PM.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pallet Town
    Posts
    488
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    If you want to bend the law a little bit, many routers and recievers have the ability to do channel 12 and 13 on b/g. You are pretty much guaranteed to not have interference with neighbors on it.
    FATCA is coming for your loonies.

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    My Ride
    Douche canoe
    Posts
    1,248
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Sort of on the topic, the original Nest cameras (indoor and outdoor) has a bug in the network stack, where regardless of what wifi you use, it disconnects and isn't smart enough to restart itself. It keeps the IP address, but it just stops sending any data to the network. The only way to get it to come back up is to wait 3 hours, reboot the camera (yea not happening) or disconnecting the client offline at the network level before the camera reconnects and restarts. I suspect this is at a hardware level because it has not been fixed in any firmware update. Ring Hello and the new $400 camera doesn't suffer from this problem. Not sure if the new revision indoor camera suffers from this either. I love my Nest cams but this is the biggest problem with it. Happens a couple times a month.
    I had this happen to me once with a nest cam. Support was unable to fix it then after being powered off for a few hours I turned it on and it started up. Good to know why it did so seeing your explanation.

    I did have a lot of issues with previous wifi system due to airtime fairness (asus) as smart devices hate that feature but since changing to the Velop I haven’t had any issues.
    E . ` ' / . F
    Your tears fuel me

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst ... 2 3

Similar Threads

  1. Ryan Dunn (jackass) died in car crash this morning

    By 240SX92 in forum Entertainment
    Replies: 39
    Latest Threads: 06-25-2011, 02:10 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 03-25-2010, 07:48 PM
  3. Easy Junior and Senior Opions?

    By hafizzy in forum Campus Chat
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 06-22-2009, 05:05 PM
  4. LF: Nokia 6590 Faceplate - preferrably black.

    By RAPIDPULSE in forum Cellular Products
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 11-24-2004, 03:53 PM
  5. WTB: Integra headrests(preferrably type r headrests)

    By redx2nv in forum Automotive Parts
    Replies: 5
    Latest Threads: 04-14-2003, 05:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •