Quantcast
Anyone know anything about Compustar remote start? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Anyone know anything about Compustar remote start?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    ATS, XC90
    Posts
    493
    Rep Power
    17

    Default Anyone know anything about Compustar remote start?

    So the winter beater that I bought came with a dead Compustar remote. Previous owner never used it, didn't know anything about it.

    I put a new battery in the remote and bingo, it works. Connects to the car, unlocks the doors, great. It looks like it also has the remote start functionality, but somehow it's been disabled. When I try the remote start I can hear some clicks and whirring under the hood, but nothing. It tries 3 times and then gives an error on the fob.

    Anyone have any familiarity with these and knows what it could be? Seems like something is just disconnected somewhere - maybe it was draining the battery or who knows, but I'd like to see if I can figure out whether something's broken or whether it was disconnected for a reason. Just to know what's going on. Remote is a 2-way like the image below.

    9000-1.jpg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Nothingburger Hill
    My Ride
    Oil boom
    Posts
    11,114
    Rep Power
    100

    Default

    If you can't diagnose yourself a short consult at autotech will answer everything. That dude is very efficient.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    Posts
    2,326
    Rep Power
    37

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ExtraSlow View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    If you can't diagnose yourself a short consult at autotech will answer everything. That dude is very efficient.
    Agreed... Talk to Joe at Autotech. He knows Compustar inside and out and is always super helpful to anybody.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    372
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    3rd vote for Joe. Wouldn't let anyone else touch a remote start but him

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    ATS, XC90
    Posts
    493
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Thanks all, seems pretty unanimous, I'll give him a shout.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    My Ride
    '16 F150 Lariat, SW20 MR2, '21 Explorer ST
    Posts
    1,867
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    One thing to check is make sure it isn't in Valet mode. I remember that being a thing a long time ago. Also make sure your E-brake is on. I know that was a requirement for manual trans, but not sure about auto.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    V8s
    Posts
    3,563
    Rep Power
    48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ShermanEF9 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    One thing to check is make sure it isn't in Valet mode. I remember that being a thing a long time ago. Also make sure your E-brake is on. I know that was a requirement for manual trans, but not sure about auto.
    Shouldn't be requirement for auto. At least on our car w/ a Compustar installed by autotech, park brake doesn't need to be on.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    My Ride
    '16 F150 Lariat, SW20 MR2, '21 Explorer ST
    Posts
    1,867
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cjblair View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Shouldn't be requirement for auto. At least on our car w/ a Compustar installed by autotech, park brake doesn't need to be on.
    Ah ok. I never owned an auto with an aftermarket remote start so I wasn't sure.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    ATS, XC90
    Posts
    493
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ShermanEF9 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    One thing to check is make sure it isn't in Valet mode. I remember that being a thing a long time ago. Also make sure your E-brake is on. I know that was a requirement for manual trans, but not sure about auto.
    I'll try it again with and without the brake on, just in case.

    Never thought about valet mode, that's an intriguing possibility, although I'd think it would do something other than attempt 3 times and then give an error if that's the case. I'm going to look into that feature more though.

Similar Threads

  1. FS: Compustar 2W8000FMR (3000) and spare compustar remote

    By Tripz in forum Automotive Parts [Engine Electronics]
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 02-07-2011, 12:42 AM
  2. WTB: Compustar/Arctic Start 2-way remote

    By CK4500 in forum Automotive Parts [Audio/Video/Radar Systems]
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 05-21-2007, 07:58 PM
  3. Fs: Compustar Car Alarm Remote Start 2-way Cm3000

    By Dayclone in forum Automotive Parts [Audio/Video/Radar Systems]
    Replies: 10
    Latest Threads: 11-11-2006, 11:50 AM
  4. WTB: Compustar 2WFM-AS (alarm with remote start) * FOUND ONE*

    By Donmega in forum Automotive Parts [Audio/Video/Radar Systems]
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 07-19-2006, 10:26 PM
  5. Fs Compustar 2w900fm-as Car Alarm Remote Start 2-way

    By mixerup in forum Automotive Parts [Audio/Video/Radar Systems]
    Replies: 19
    Latest Threads: 10-27-2005, 08:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •