Quantcast
Current Telus Modem hardware - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Current Telus Modem hardware

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Flying the friendly skies
    My Ride
    100% SAVAGE
    Posts
    6,201
    Rep Power
    27

    Default Current Telus Modem hardware

    Hey guys, this may be a simple question, just want to know what the current telus modem hardware is. This new office is running the Actiontec T1200h. No idea what internet plan we are on, but wifi sure sucks!
    Double-meat sub dreams.
    Public Mobile referral code: 88M4Y9
    Smiles for free: https://forums.beyond.ca/threads/411...something-nice

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    553
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    LOL, how many users? That consumer grade shit falls apart pretty quickly.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Flying the friendly skies
    My Ride
    100% SAVAGE
    Posts
    6,201
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Actually, I see from a post about my home internet that in June of last year they were sending out the Actiontec T3200M router. So that answers one question, it's not the "current" crappy telus router.

    And it's a two person office. I think we are moving buildings within a year and they aren't going to want to spend any money on hardware for this location. Don't need "good", just "good enough".
    Double-meat sub dreams.
    Public Mobile referral code: 88M4Y9
    Smiles for free: https://forums.beyond.ca/threads/411...something-nice

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    553
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Should be fine once you get the better router.

    In the meantime, check that router's antennas are both straight up on all axes. Also as high up as you can place it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    CLK 55 / 2g Eclipse / EP3
    Posts
    3,960
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    If youre company is deadset against having 'normal' wifi, there are optimizing tools within the Telus shitboxes (decrease strenght, change channel, etc.)

    Also, similar to an enema, a reboot (flush) seems to help as well. 3x a week. Keep it regular!

    Just bizarre how some companies operate. Wifi/network is the backbone of most businesses these days.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2013 Q5
    Posts
    1,685
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ExtraSlow View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Hey guys, this may be a simple question, just want to know what the current telus modem hardware is. This new office is running the Actiontec T1200h. No idea what internet plan we are on, but wifi sure sucks!
    that is a very old model. I had it once and i remember the wifi performance was horrible.

    If you don't want to spend money on a dedicated wifi router, see if Telus will replace it for one of their newer boxes for free.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    193
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sabad66 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    that is a very old model. I had it once and i remember the wifi performance was horrible.

    If you don't want to spend money on a dedicated wifi router, see if Telus will replace it for one of their newer boxes for free.
    Just got mine replaced. T3200M with internal antennas.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    South of Calgary
    My Ride
    is broken
    Posts
    748
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Why bother with the internal wifi? Get a ubiquiti.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    CLK 55 / 2g Eclipse / EP3
    Posts
    3,960
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jacky4566 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Why bother with the internal wifi? Get a ubiquiti.
    If they ever get their setup wizards to work anything like the main stream stuff (eg. ASUS) - its game over for the rest. Their shit is that good IMO.

    The learning curve is quite steep but once you get into it, its very adaptable.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2013 Q5
    Posts
    1,685
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jacky4566 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Why bother with the internal wifi? Get a ubiquiti.
    .
    Quote Originally Posted by ExtraSlow View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    And it's a two person office. I think we are moving buildings within a year and they aren't going to want to spend any money on hardware for this location. Don't need "good", just "good enough".

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    '16 F150 Lariat, SW20 MR2
    Posts
    1,629
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by revelations View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Also, similar to an enema, a reboot (flush) seems to help as well. 3x a week. Keep it regular!
    I now know so much about you I didn't want to know.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Flying the friendly skies
    My Ride
    100% SAVAGE
    Posts
    6,201
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    In case anyone wanted an update, I dug into this more, and while it's not satisfying, there is a "reason". It's an old building and something is fuxxored with the building wiring and they are unable to provide this location with anything better than a 10mbps plan. So, in terms of speed, that answers my question, I'm getting about what you'd expect on this level of service. Good thing I don't have many large files to transfer! My "normal" work use is files under 10mb anyway, mostly documents and small spreadsheets.

    Sucks if I want to stream music and download files at the same time, but whatever, that's not a business issue.

    So summary, internet sucks, but that's not really a wifi problem.
    Double-meat sub dreams.
    Public Mobile referral code: 88M4Y9
    Smiles for free: https://forums.beyond.ca/threads/411...something-nice

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    CLK 55 / 2g Eclipse / EP3
    Posts
    3,960
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ExtraSlow View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    In case anyone wanted an update, I dug into this more, and while it's not satisfying, there is a "reason". It's an old building and something is fuxxored with the building wiring and they are unable to provide this location with anything better than a 10mbps plan. So, in terms of speed, that answers my question, I'm getting about what you'd expect on this level of service. Good thing I don't have many large files to transfer! My "normal" work use is files under 10mb anyway, mostly documents and small spreadsheets.

    Sucks if I want to stream music and download files at the same time, but whatever, that's not a business issue.

    So summary, internet sucks, but that's not really a wifi problem.
    If the business is serious about internet (sounds like they arent) 10mb for 5-10 workers is pitiful.

    For the same price per month (business internet costs) you can get a Rogers LTE rocket hub and burn through 50GB of data a month for about 200$.

    All this at 60-100mbs speeds.

    We had this exact situation with a new location for a client (shit Telus internet in an older industrial location, no cable) and Telus wanted 12,000$ to put in Fiber and 1100$ a month for 1Gbs.

    We said no thanks and that we were going to go with the Rogers rocket hub setup (we used 2) instead. After a month of this Telus, on their own (without asking or telling us) suddenly pulled in Fiber and asked if we wanted to go with their internet?
    Last edited by revelations; 08-23-2019 at 10:06 AM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Flying the friendly skies
    My Ride
    100% SAVAGE
    Posts
    6,201
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by revelations View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    If the business is serious about internet (sounds like they arent) 10mb for 5-10 workers is pitiful.
    I don't disagree, and the fact that this office is 2 or fewer people hardly even matters. Funny enough, my Public mobile cellphone throttles to 3G speeds is basically the same speed for downloads, and significantly faster for uploads.
    Last edited by ExtraSlow; 08-23-2019 at 11:47 AM.
    Double-meat sub dreams.
    Public Mobile referral code: 88M4Y9
    Smiles for free: https://forums.beyond.ca/threads/411...something-nice

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Flying the friendly skies
    My Ride
    100% SAVAGE
    Posts
    6,201
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ExtraSlow View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I think we are moving buildings within a year and they aren't going to want to spend any money on hardware for this location.
    Got confirmation we are leaving this office before Halloween.
    Double-meat sub dreams.
    Public Mobile referral code: 88M4Y9
    Smiles for free: https://forums.beyond.ca/threads/411...something-nice

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    N/A
    My Ride
    100% Bow tie
    Posts
    2,629
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ExtraSlow View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Got confirmation we are leaving this office before Halloween.
    Top floor of Brookfield?
    Moran supreme

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Flying the friendly skies
    My Ride
    100% SAVAGE
    Posts
    6,201
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by speedog View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Top floor of Brookfield?
    Not now and not after the move either. Will be within five blocks of Brookfield though.
    Double-meat sub dreams.
    Public Mobile referral code: 88M4Y9
    Smiles for free: https://forums.beyond.ca/threads/411...something-nice

Similar Threads

  1. FS: Shaw modem/Telus ADSL/WIFI Modem/D-Link Wireless G USB adaptor

    By bennyhanna in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 07-24-2007, 08:38 AM
  2. fs: Telus MOdem and Wire router/modem

    By brownskind in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 5
    Latest Threads: 09-13-2006, 06:33 PM
  3. FS: Telus ASDL modem

    By ricosuave in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 18
    Latest Threads: 12-08-2004, 09:35 PM
  4. FS: Telus High Speed ASDL Modem Internal

    By Mckenzie in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 08-24-2004, 09:59 AM
  5. Telus Modem Free?

    By Dope Dealer in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Latest Threads: 12-07-2003, 09:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •