Quantcast
Anybody with Teksavvy - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Anybody with Teksavvy

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Cowtown
    My Ride
    370Z duhh
    Posts
    94
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Anybody with Teksavvy

    My dad got his Shaw line installed on the 13th and the internet is still not working. I've called them almost every day and they are basically saying Shaw hasn't provisioned the modem yet?

    Is this normal or is Teksavvy just a fucking shit company?

    My dad got the $35 a month cable internet plus the cheap modem, are they putting him on the lowest priority?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    CLK 55 / 2g Eclipse / EP3
    Posts
    3,924
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    No, TS works with Shaw - Shaw can fuck them around all day long with crap like this. Same thing happens on the Telus side too.

    I have dual WAN running through TS and its been just fine for me (live in an older area).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Cowtown
    My Ride
    370Z duhh
    Posts
    94
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by revelations View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    No, TS works with Shaw - Shaw can fuck them around all day long with crap like this. Same thing happens on the Telus side too.

    I have dual WAN running through TS and its been just fine for me (live in an older area).
    How long did it take you to get provisioned?

    I told my dad, the savings will be worth it once it's up and running because I've read online that things go smoothly after that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    '10 CTS
    Posts
    427
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I tried to get my Mom on Teksavvy, they insisted they couldn't provide it for her address, even though there's Shaw TV throughout.
    Wound up with Lightspeed, so far they've been good.
    Shaw definitely doesn't give them the highest priority, but both the install, and the move a month later, were up and running a day before they said it would be provisioned.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    CLK 55 / 2g Eclipse / EP3
    Posts
    3,924
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 370Z View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    How long did it take you to get provisioned?

    I told my dad, the savings will be worth it once it's up and running because I've read online that things go smoothly after that.
    It was about a week I think - we had over lapping ISPs for that time.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    2016 MB C450
    Posts
    8,117
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 370Z View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    My dad got his Shaw line installed on the 13th and the internet is still not working. I've called them almost every day and they are basically saying Shaw hasn't provisioned the modem yet?

    Is this normal or is Teksavvy just a fucking shit company?

    My dad got the $35 a month cable internet plus the cheap modem, are they putting him on the lowest priority?
    The trick is get Shaw on a contract/new customer/promo discount for 1/2 years and before the contract ends, get TS to set up their modem. Once Techsavvy is set up, cancel Shaw.

    That way, you get Shaw install tech to make sure signal and service is good and when you switch, you can just install Techsavy's modem on that line and move on.

    Shaw has pretty aggressive back to school promo right now and they can always match 3rd party prices, you just need to do their stupid dance.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    18
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    It took me over 2 weeks to get Teksavvy up and running. I think part of the problem was with Shaw but some of the problem was definitely with Teksavvy. They were not returning my calls. Part of the problem was my install was handled by one person and the work was not being handed off to whomever was on call. So when the one person was not at work, my calls were not being handled.

    I do not recommend them but they do have good pricing.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    G35
    Posts
    189
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Should have went with can com.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Fiesta ST
    Posts
    770
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Just noticed lightspeed dropped their 300meg plan to 49$, pretty crazy. Wonder if teksavvy will follow suit
    Nolan

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pallet Town
    Posts
    467
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Fourth year with Teksavvy for me. Yes, their initial install sucked, but all is forgiven for nearly uninterrupted service since.
    Fly me to the moon.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    CLK 55 / 2g Eclipse / EP3
    Posts
    3,924
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ZenOps View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Fourth year with Teksavvy for me. Yes, their initial install sucked, but all is forgiven for nearly uninterrupted service since.
    You cant really blame TS when Telus or Shaw infrastructure goes down - they are affected just the same.

Similar Threads

  1. TekSavvy internet? cheaper alternative?

    By trliniar in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 38
    Latest Threads: 05-09-2016, 04:53 PM
  2. Dry DSL TekSavvy?

    By ipeefreely in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 14
    Latest Threads: 12-16-2008, 06:14 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Latest Threads: 12-15-2008, 03:21 PM
  4. Anybody know anybody who can fix ps3?

    By 3g4u in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 12
    Latest Threads: 11-13-2008, 01:53 PM
  5. Anybody have a 89 corrola auto trans for sale?

    By legendboy in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 06-02-2002, 10:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •