Quantcast
Construction Industry: Transitioning from Field to Office - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: Construction Industry: Transitioning from Field to Office

Default Construction Industry: Transitioning from Field to Office

Hey guys, I know a bunch of you work in this field so I am looking for some suggestions.

I currently work as a Foreman in the construction industry, I have 6+ years field experience in this industry starting at labourer essentially and working up to Foreman. I would like to transition into a project management career and I feel like starting at project coordinator is a perfect transition from Foreman as a I have basic experience bidding, estimating, scheduling etc so I would have a good understanding of the position but would be able to learn a lot and it would be a challenge. I also have completed a Bachelor Degree in Management.

The problem that I am finding is that almost all job posting for Project Coordinator are looking for a technical diploma/degree in Architecture/Engineering which I do not have.

I am looking for suggestions on how to get past this hurdle as it feels like not having a technical diploma is getting my resume filtered out before it can be seriously reviewed. Would getting a Project Management Certificate from UofC/Sait/MRU to combine with my Bachelor Degree be worth it at this point? Looking for any suggestions

My Ride
    changes every year

Have you talked to your CM or PM?

My Ride
    Natural Gas.

Moving up should be easier within your own company than getting an external job if you don't have the exact qualifications they are looking for. Assuming your reputation is good within the company management that is.
    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    You realize you are talking to the guy who made his own furniture out of salad bowls right?

My Ride
    V8s