Quantcast
Unusual Experience with a dealership - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 7 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 123

Thread: Unusual Experience with a dealership

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Born in Stuttgart
    Posts
    307
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Unusual Experience with a dealership

    Just wanted to post an experience I had recently at a dealership located near Northland mall (dont want to name them as I am not sure if what they did was normal).

    Went in ready to buy a new SUV for the wife.

    When it came to the numbers they low balled me on the trade in (expected so not the issue)

    They had a MSRP that differed from the manufacturers' website.

    They refused to give me a breakdown of the sales price and only provided a sheet that had a bi-weekly payment at the longest term, they even netted my trade in the payment, so I couldn't tell the actual cost of the fees they were actually charging (shady but still not the issue). As a CPA this one pissed me off and I whipped out the calculator on my phone and recalculated everything expected and determined they were overcharging me somehow. At that point they only provided me with verbal breakdown.

    However, what got me is they added a mandatory package to the sales cost for $3K that included a block heater/floor mats/locking wheel nuts and a bunch of no cost to the dealership items, like free rockchip fixes, "VIP Service" and free oil changes, price match guarantee on winter or all-season tires (note stating that the price match does not apply to costco) etc. what got me is I was unable to decline the package as they said all new vehicles came with this "Alberta Value" package. My understanding this is not allowed under the AMVIC All in pricing rules.

    When I recalculated everything they included it was $5K.

    At this point I left the dealership saying I would need to do some more research and get back to them.


    They emailed me to follow up the next day when I outlined my concerns and said I was only interested if they removed all the fake fees and packages however I didn't receive a response. Only an email from the "Sales Director" who get my name wrong and you could clearly tell it was automated asking if I was still interested in the car after dealing with his wonderful product specialist.

    The next day I went to a different dealership and bought the vehicle for 2k under the MSRP (that matched the manufacturers' website) and didn't pay any of the 5K fees/packages the other dealership was trying to charge me and all that crap was included for free. They provided a proper quote with breakdowns and final prices clearly shown and didn't try to screw around and took delivery on the car the next day.


    Anyone else experienced something like this or did I just get unlucky visiting a sketchy dealership? I go through cars quickly so have purchased 7 new cars in the last 10 years (for my wife and I not just me, I am not as bad as some posters on here) and have never experienced anything like this with the lack of transparency and mandatory packages after the fact.


    Update: They responded to my google review saying they dont have a mandatory package....

    They tried to add a mandatory $3K package on top of the cost of the vehicle which is against AMVIC all in pricing regulations and would not give me a breakdown of the final cost of the car by only giving me payments on the longest term etc. I went to another Kia dealership and bought the vehicle the day after when they didn't answer my email or my response from their so-called sales director.. I would avoid this one unless you like shady high pressure sales tactics. In response to the managers' response to my review it was in fact included as a mandatory package "titled the Alberta Value Package" which I have photo evidence as well of it being added to the deal and have included the printout they gave me as proof for this review.

    Response from the owner 5 hours ago
    Thank you for your review. We do not have "mandatory" packages. We only charge for equipment or options that come with the vehicle. As per Kia Canada we itemise everything in our paperwork. Including but not limited to accessories (block heater, starters, mats etc), freight, taxes and fees. We'd like to hear more about your experience if you're open to speaking to us. Every review is an opportunity for us to improve our business. Please contact our GM, at 403-247-2411. Thank you and have a great day.
    Last edited by austic; 05-13-2020 at 03:50 PM. Reason: Update with their response to review

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Moo Town
    My Ride
    (0^oo^0)~
    Posts
    674
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    I don't think that's out of the ordinary at all. Some dealerships lie through their teeth and pretend it never happened even when stuff like this is captured on video

    Glad you just moved on and went to another dealership instead.

    Maybe with COVID, they are hurting more than usual and feel the need for more underhanded tactics, but that's giving them an easy out.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Duplex city
    My Ride
    No longer Savage. :(
    Posts
    7,707
    Rep Power
    41

    Default

    Not unusual, although most dealerships attempt to hide it better than these clowns. Feel free to name and shame.
    Make the world a radder place, grow a mullet.
    Public Mobile is the best, just like Phil Collins haggard face.

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Rural_Juror
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    no one gives maritimers shit for culturally appropriating donairs.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    5,296
    Rep Power
    28

    Default

    I just want to be able to buy a car online like Tesla.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    CTS-V, DMax, P71
    Posts
    6,327
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Not unusual especially for that dealership group.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Silverado
    Posts
    2,580
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    create a google review and warn people to stay away. I would report it to AMVIC as well, not that that means anything
    Quote Originally Posted by Gestalt View Post
    Im the one with a learning disability....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    the titty bar...
    My Ride
    starts with a screwdriver...
    Posts
    1,325
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Always shop around and never give in to sales pressure. The dealers have their markup over cost and the battle is between you and them to see who is going to leave more on the table.

    Go with your gut and if it doesnt feel right, it probably isnt. Always be weary of sales people or business office staff that skip over fees/items/add ons when explaining the bill. Their job is to be clear and concise. That has been lost by a lot of sales people as they just strive to get to the bottom line as fast as possible and get you to sign.
    I MAKE BALLER CARS MORE BALLER.....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    S4
    Posts
    2,628
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    +1 for name and shame. Why would there be any aversion to posting who it was?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Born in Stuttgart
    Posts
    307
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by civic_stylez View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Always shop around and never give in to sales pressure. The dealers have their markup over cost and the battle is between you and them to see who is going to leave more on the table.

    Go with your gut and if it doesnt feel right, it probably isnt. Always be weary of sales people or business office staff that skip over fees/items/add ons when explaining the bill. Their job is to be clear and concise. That has been lost by a lot of sales people as they just strive to get to the bottom line as fast as possible and get you to sign.
    Oh I never give into the high pressure sales but If i wasnt there my wife would have for sure. She was sitting with me and had no idea why we were leaving. I only went there as she wanted the espresso interior that they had in stock. I was just surprised how bad it was lying and not giving me a proper break down. You should see the sheet they presented me for the deal when I told them I wanted to know the final price with detailed breakdown they just wrote on it in pen. I am tempted to post it as there is no grounds for confidentiality but legal issues from a scumbag dealership would be a waste of my time.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Not Aspen
    My Ride
    ferd furkus rs
    Posts
    3,559
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    Definitely Northland Kia, lol

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Silverado
    Posts
    2,580
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Looked at google Northland Kia is the only nearby dealer.
    Quote Originally Posted by Gestalt View Post
    Im the one with a learning disability....

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Stampede Central
    My Ride
    is pretty sharp lookin'
    Posts
    1,968
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    For sure would name and shame the bad dealer
    Then name for fame the good dealer

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Parked in Baygirl's garage.
    My Ride
    2019 F150 Lariat 3.5L BOOST!
    Posts
    4,288
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cjblair View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    +1 for name and shame. Why would there be any aversion to posting who it was?
    There is only 3 dealerships there, and assuming some information known about the OP, I would come to the conclusion that it was Northland Volkswagen. I tried dealing with them a long time ago, and iirc, the experience was similar. Mind you this was like 15 years ago.
    Boosted life tip #329
    Girlfriends cost money
    Turbos cost money
    Both make whining noises
    Make the smart choice.

    Originally posted by Mibz
    Always a fucking awful experience seeing spikers. Extra awful when he laps me.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Duplex city
    My Ride
    No longer Savage. :(
    Posts
    7,707
    Rep Power
    41

    Default

    There should be a standard name and shame for ANY dealer that uses the 4-square sheet or who tries to negotiate payments on a buyer who has asked for "total price".
    Make the world a radder place, grow a mullet.
    Public Mobile is the best, just like Phil Collins haggard face.

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Rural_Juror
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    no one gives maritimers shit for culturally appropriating donairs.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Aspen Ne
    Posts
    36
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Window etch, floor mats, vip programs are pretty normal for some dealerships. It must work because they still keep pushing those “mandatory” fees.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Born in Stuttgart
    Posts
    307
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Here are the documents I referenced. Ended up buying from Eastside the day after
    Attached Images Attached Images

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Duplex city
    My Ride
    No longer Savage. :(
    Posts
    7,707
    Rep Power
    41

    Default

    haha, the 4 square sheet.
    Make the world a radder place, grow a mullet.
    Public Mobile is the best, just like Phil Collins haggard face.

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Rural_Juror
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    no one gives maritimers shit for culturally appropriating donairs.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    304
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spikerS View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    There is only 3 dealerships there, and assuming some information known about the OP, I would come to the conclusion that it was Northland Volkswagen. I tried dealing with them a long time ago, and iirc, the experience was similar. Mind you this was like 15 years ago.
    I bought from them recently and just told them what I wanted as an out the door price and they made it happen, fully transparent. I'd recommend them.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Online
    My Ride
    Budget Baller
    Posts
    10,291
    Rep Power
    30

    Default

    This is why we have trust issues.
    max_boost is a name known to all
    Quote Originally Posted by max_boost View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Or the max boost portfolio lol xqq/hmmj/arkk/xgro/strathmore/Chinese food lol
    Quote Originally Posted by The_Rural_Juror View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    This is diversification in a nut shell. Equity, Fixed Income, Tech, Stoner, Real Estate, and Steady Income.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Bicycle
    Posts
    1,603
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    It is always good to follow up with the GM of Northland Kia and let them know that you purchased the same vehicle in a different dealer.

    A Google review will be good as well.

Page 1 of 7 1 2 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Calgary Auto Selection dealership experience?

    By mr_pink in forum General Car/Bike Talk
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 02-02-2009, 12:59 AM
  2. Dealership employment experience

    By kikfilms in forum General Car/Bike Talk
    Replies: 6
    Latest Threads: 01-14-2008, 12:08 AM
  3. Mazda Dealership experience

    By Xtrema in forum General Car/Bike Talk
    Replies: 36
    Latest Threads: 01-27-2007, 11:48 AM
  4. A not so great dealership experience (Long)...

    By ehos in forum General Car/Bike Talk
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 02-17-2004, 06:17 PM
  5. Bad Experience At Dealership

    By rsxxxcutie in forum General Car/Bike Talk
    Replies: 36
    Latest Threads: 08-12-2002, 11:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •