Quantcast
Shaw Fibre+ Gig - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: Shaw Fibre+ Gig

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Camaro SS
    Posts
    384
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Shaw Fibre+ Gig

    Anyone else get emailed about upgrading to Fibre+? Is this new? Didn't know Shaw offered fibre at all, anyone here on it already?

    https://www.shaw.ca/internet/fibreplus
    Last edited by 2Legit2Quit; 06-19-2020 at 02:24 PM. Reason: added link

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    5,192
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 2Legit2Quit View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Anyone else get emailed about upgrading to Fibre+? Is this new? Didn't know Shaw offered fibre at all, anyone here on it already?

    https://www.shaw.ca/internet/fibreplus
    They don’t have fibre, hence this:

    https://mobilesyrup.com/2020/06/12/t...ing-fibre-ads/

    That being said it’s just their newest top tier service. Nothing new behind it though.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Camaro SS
    Posts
    384
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    oh so it's a branding scam haha, dumb. if it were actual fibre then I might be interested.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Fiesta ST
    Posts
    946
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Yeah just BS branding. Still cable into your home unfortunately.
    Nolan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    21,586
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    The business gigabit Fibre+ service launched too. Uploads to 125mbps if you need the upstream compared to 35mbps on the home service.

    https://business.shaw.ca/internet/businessinternet
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,836
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    The business gigabit Fibre+ service launched too. Uploads to 125mbps if you need the upstream compared to 35mbps on the home service.

    https://business.shaw.ca/internet/businessinternet
    The cost jump is insane compared to not only Telus, but their own Gig home service. I literally just received this email minutes after seeing the thread.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    rally pig
    Posts
    2,371
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    home consumer still limited to 20Mbps upload.. I know for most consumer it doesn't matter.
    I can barely saturate 300Mbps download but more upload speed would be nice.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    21,586
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by taemo View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    home consumer still limited to 20Mbps upload.. I know for most consumer it doesn't matter.
    I can barely saturate 300Mbps download but more upload speed would be nice.
    It's weird, even working fully in the cloud, my upstream at peak usage sits at around 12, 4mbps of that is from the 8 cameras in the house to the cloud.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Not the NE
    My Ride
    ‘Berta Special
    Posts
    5,192
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    It's weird, even working fully in the cloud, my upstream at peak usage sits at around 12, 4mbps of that is from the 8 cameras in the house to the cloud.
    My connection on Shaw was very very rarely the bottleneck I agree.

    Only reason I went with Telus is with their Black Friday deal it was wayyyyy cheaper.
    Originally posted by Thales of Miletus

    If you think I have been trying to present myself as intellectually superior, then you truly are a dimwit.
    Originally posted by Toma
    fact.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    '10 CTS
    Posts
    503
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    I got the email today. What a crock. Shaw DOES have fibre in some places, we have it at work, 400/400 but this offer of 1Gig down 25 meg up, is a joke.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    N/A
    My Ride
    is a fancied up Bow tie.
    Posts
    2,978
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Penguin View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I got the email today. What a crock. Shaw DOES have fibre in some places, we have it at work, 400/400 but this offer of 1Gig down 25 meg up, is a joke.
    I would expect that Shaw would have a fibre presence in many commercial sites but what about residential? Does Shaw have fibre entrances into any condo towers right into the individual suites? Are they doing fibre into SFH's in new communities or are they sticking with coax entrances? And what of TELUS in new communities - are they even doing copper entrances anymore or is it strictly fiber or is it a mix? I'll have to start paying more attention I guess.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    21,586
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by speedog View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I would expect that Shaw would have a fibre presence in many commercial sites but what about residential? Does Shaw have fibre entrances into any condo towers right into the individual suites? Are they doing fibre into SFH's in new communities or are they sticking with coax entrances? And what of TELUS in new communities - are they even doing copper entrances anymore or is it strictly fiber or is it a mix? I'll have to start paying more attention I guess.
    Shaw had fiberlink, which got bought out by group telecom, which got bought by Bell. We’re still connected on the original fiberlink now bell circuit at work. After they sold Shaw started big pipe to compete. That’s their fiber presence and is sold under Shaw enterprise. Their business offerings are purely through coax.

    The only “community” where Shaw has ftth is a few houses in discovery ridge. I believe the story is that to test ftth they chose a few execs there. It’s by no means available to the public. So it’s safe to say that Shaw has absolutely zero fiber presence for residential and business services.

    I’m told years ago by a pretty senior Shaw exec that once Shaw saw the advancements in docsis it made zero sense to pursue ftth.

    I wish I had some inside info on Telus. I just don’t know anyone senior there.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    My Ride
    2015 CLS63s AMG Coupe
    Posts
    681
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    To this day, out of all my customers I've only had one that qualified or had access to Shaw FTTP (Fiber to the Premise) Fiber for small business: Shaw FTTP (Fiber to the Premise) Business Install

    I think this was around 10 months after their purchase of Enmax's fiber network.

    -Industrial area off 52nd
    -Small biz coax speed plans (and pricing) on FTTP
    -Latency was non-existent
    Last edited by Zhariak; 06-20-2020 at 03:43 AM.
    Sig was pwned by Moderator!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    21,586
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zhariak View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    To this day, out of all my customers I've only had one that qualified or had access to Shaw FTTP (Fiber to the Premise) Fiber for small business: Shaw FTTP (Fiber to the Premise) Business Install

    I think this was around 10 months after their purchase of Enmax's fiber network.

    -Industrial area off 52nd
    -Small biz coax speed plans (and pricing) on FTTP
    -Latency was non-existent
    Unicorn! What’s hilarious is that it’s still technically coax delivered to the client lol.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    N/A
    My Ride
    is a fancied up Bow tie.
    Posts
    2,978
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zhariak View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    To this day, out of all my customers I've only had one that qualified or had access to Shaw FTTP (Fiber to the Premise) Fiber for small business: Shaw FTTP (Fiber to the Premise) Business Install

    I think this was around 10 months after their purchase of Enmax's fiber network.

    -Industrial area off 52nd
    -Small biz coax speed plans (and pricing) on FTTP
    -Latency was non-existent
    Enmax fiber, if my memory serves me correctly there was a certain mayor's wife who was involved in the company that build the fiber networkalong Enmax ROW's that Enmax later bought. Controversial arm's length association that benefited the mayor of that time.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    rally pig
    Posts
    2,371
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    It's weird, even working fully in the cloud, my upstream at peak usage sits at around 12, 4mbps of that is from the 8 cameras in the house to the cloud.
    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    My connection on Shaw was very very rarely the bottleneck I agree.

    Only reason I went with Telus is with their Black Friday deal it was wayyyyy cheaper.
    Yeah for general consumption like that, 15-20Mbps is sufficient.

    I remote into my home devices from office quite a bit, seed torrent, weekly backup to the cloud and use my home network as private VPN (handy when in the US or oversea and want to watch Shaw BlueCurve).
    Can get by with current upload speed but the more the merrier.

    Even our office with Shaw Business 300 and under 400 staff averages 20-40Mbps upload during business hours. It's the cloud backups that sucks all the bandwidth after hours.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    2 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    21,586
    Rep Power
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by taemo View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Yeah for general consumption like that, 15-20Mbps is sufficient.

    I remote into my home devices from office quite a bit, seed torrent, weekly backup to the cloud and use my home network as private VPN (handy when in the US or oversea and want to watch Shaw BlueCurve).
    Can get by with current upload speed but the more the merrier.

    Even our office with Shaw Business 300 and under 400 staff averages 20-40Mbps upload during business hours. It's the cloud backups that sucks all the bandwidth after hours.
    Forgot about cloud backups. Yea, my numbers include my QNAP continually synching to the cloud as well. I guess when I first initially ran the sync, that could've used more upstream as it took something like 4 months for 2 TB haha.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    My Ride
    2019 F-150
    Posts
    1,284
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    They switched me to this a couple weeks ago and everything seems fine minus IPV6 no longer working correctly since the change over. The settings I was running previously worked just fine with my unifi setup.
    E .· ` ' / ·. F
    Your tears fuel me

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,836
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    So has anyone managed to get a decent deal out of shaw lately, or is it still "pay what's on the sign"? My 600 2-year plan is almost up.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Duplex city
    My Ride
    No longer Savage. :(
    Posts
    7,629
    Rep Power
    40

    Default

    First step to getting a good deal from shaw is to verify that you can get Telus FTTH at your address. if yes, then you have bargaining power.
    Make the world a radder place, grow a mullet.
    Public Mobile is the best, just like Phil Collins haggard face.

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Rural_Juror
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    no one gives maritimers shit for culturally appropriating donairs.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Shaw Fibre-to-the-Home (FTTH) Trial

    By ipeefreely in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 110
    Latest Threads: 08-31-2013, 05:41 PM
  2. FS: Month old iPhone 4 16 Gig + messed up iPhone 3g 8 Gig

    By snerl in forum Cellular Products
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 10-04-2010, 10:28 PM
  3. LF: 120 Gig or 160 Gig Ipod

    By ddmmak in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 05-15-2009, 08:05 PM
  4. Fs: Shaw Digital Box & Shaw Modem

    By crewchaud in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 10-11-2007, 12:01 PM
  5. Looking for IPOD shuffle 1 gig or Ipod mini 4-6 gig

    By jrcactus in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 08-03-2005, 11:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •