Quantcast
Shaw Fibre+ Gig - Page 2 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 21 to 31 of 31

Thread: Shaw Fibre+ Gig

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,836
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ExtraSlow View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    First step to getting a good deal from shaw is to verify that you can get Telus FTTH at your address. if yes, then you have bargaining power.
    If I had Telus FTTH at my address, I would only be calling shaw to cancel.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    403
    My Ride
    Bunch of Honda's
    Posts
    6,086
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LilDrunkenSmurf View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    So has anyone managed to get a decent deal out of shaw lately, or is it still "pay what's on the sign"? My 600 2-year plan is almost up.
    We recently re-signed with Shaw. $150/month for 600 with 5 TV packs and HBO/Crave. I think if we drop HBO it would be $130/month. Also includes the main box plus 2 mini box rentals.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,836
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 88CRX View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    We recently re-signed with Shaw. $150/month for 600 with 5 TV packs and HBO/Crave. I think if we drop HBO it would be $130/month. Also includes the main box plus 2 mini box rentals.
    Good to know. I'm an "internet only" customer. $85/month for Shaw 600.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    520
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    There are some newer areas of the city with true shaw fibre to the home.

    Fibre inside direct to the Shaw fibe modem, no coax invloved at all.
    Their is a Inside the home "Node" that does split the fibre into coax for their TV boxes if you use them, but it spits fibre out to the shaw fibre modem.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Elbonia
    My Ride
    Jeep of Theseus
    Posts
    6,442
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LilDrunkenSmurf View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    So has anyone managed to get a decent deal out of shaw lately, or is it still "pay what's on the sign"? My 600 2-year plan is almost up.
    In the middle of this right now. Regular reps only offer what's on the site, Loyalty won't even talk to me because I'm on an expiring contract. I was told to call a different number for dealing with people that were on existing plans (1-888-481-1081) but it doesn't open until noon Pacific time for some reason.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2018 Allroad, 2019 Velar
    Posts
    1,241
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Tried calling and using their chat, but the reps are awful thus far. I want something month to month, as Telus Fibre should be available to me this summer, early fall. They were offering me packages with less speed and fewer channels but more than what I'm currently paying, after my 2 year contract expired...

    Might have to suck it up and pay the extra 50-80 bucks a month for 2-3 months, and then switch to Telus.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    N/A
    My Ride
    is a fancied up Bow tie.
    Posts
    2,971
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alterac View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    There are some newer areas of the city with true shaw fibre to the home.

    Fibre inside direct to the Shaw fibe modem, no coax invloved at all.
    Their is a Inside the home "Node" that does split the fibre into coax for their TV boxes if you use them, but it spits fibre out to the shaw fibre modem.
    Sounds like some Sage Hill builds may have Shaw FTTH.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    2020 Subaru Forester Sport
    Posts
    2,585
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by speedog View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    And what of TELUS in new communities - are they even doing copper entrances anymore or is it strictly fiber or is it a mix? I'll have to start paying more attention I guess.
    My house in Evergreen (built 2006) had a combo fiber+ copper cable in one. My parents in Silverado (built 2009 I think) was pure fiber only, no copper, so I would presume it's pure fiber to most communities nowadays, plus of course Shaw coax for peasants.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,836
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BerserkerCatSplat View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    In the middle of this right now. Regular reps only offer what's on the site, Loyalty won't even talk to me because I'm on an expiring contract. I was told to call a different number for dealing with people that were on existing plans (1-888-481-1081) but it doesn't open until noon Pacific time for some reason.
    Please keep me updated if you don't mind!
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Elbonia
    My Ride
    Jeep of Theseus
    Posts
    6,442
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LilDrunkenSmurf View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Please keep me updated if you don't mind!
    No problem, they offered me $85/mo for Internet 300 or $90/mo for Internet 600, hardware included. Hope that helps!

  11. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    06 S2000
    Posts
    4,836
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Well I called the regular number, and was told they only have the deals on the site. I'm not sure if it's worth calling that number, or just biting the bullet and upgrading to the "Fibre"+ Gig.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavyfuel View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's why I just say I have a 4" dick and lift weights to make up for it.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Shaw Fibre-to-the-Home (FTTH) Trial

    By ipeefreely in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 110
    Latest Threads: 08-31-2013, 05:41 PM
  2. FS: Month old iPhone 4 16 Gig + messed up iPhone 3g 8 Gig

    By snerl in forum Cellular Products
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 10-04-2010, 10:28 PM
  3. LF: 120 Gig or 160 Gig Ipod

    By ddmmak in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 05-15-2009, 08:05 PM
  4. Fs: Shaw Digital Box & Shaw Modem

    By crewchaud in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 10-11-2007, 12:01 PM
  5. Looking for IPOD shuffle 1 gig or Ipod mini 4-6 gig

    By jrcactus in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 08-03-2005, 11:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •