Quantcast
Recommend me a 3D Drafting Laptop - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Recommend me a 3D Drafting Laptop

My Ride
    4Runner

Cool Recommend me a 3D Drafting Laptop

Hey guys!

So long story short, I have been working in a small town for the last 5 years, 4 hours North of Calgary, I come back every weekend or so. I didn't think I would stay at this company for this long, I was just a new grad that was desperate for experience as a drafter at an O&G company. Besides the 1st year here, job security has been very good and I managed to move up and take on more positions/responsibilities while increasing my pay substantially. The past few days, I have had to self-isolate and work from home since I did not feel well for that one day. Being primarily a Calgary resident it never came across my mind that the company I work for would consider a 2 week rotation between here and Calgary where I can work from home.

I know nothing about building computers and all the hardware that comes with it. I am looking for a laptop that can power 3D CAD software without a problem, I currently work with Advanced Steel, Plant 3D, Faro 3D Scan, Navisworks and Revit. I currently use a desktop at the office and it seems to need some upgrades since it's starting to have a hard time keeping up especially when its a larger model/files. It would be nice to use this laptop here and away in Calgary. I usually have lots of other software open like Bluebeam, Excel etc, that would slow down the PC, so future proofed laptop would be great.

Laptop budget <$2000.00, would be nice if it has USB-C and not a Mac. Will not be used for gaming or video editing (although gaming would be nice). Size & weight is not a problem, but lighter the better since I would most likely take this when I am traveling. What would you guys recommend?

My Ride
    Ioniq 5

Dell XPS 15 comes to mind.

9th Generation Intel® Core™ i7-9750H (12 MB Cache, 6 Core, up to 4.50 GHz)